DaisyPaws
Member Since 2011
For the first few weeks that Daisy was on Lantus, her highs and lows were pretty extreme, and even more so when we cut the carbs in her diet.
When we tried to give her more calories through larger servings of wet food (Merrick, EVO, Tiki) she would overeat quickly and then vomit.
We discovered that what worked for her at that time was a small snack every 4 hours.
Timer feeders helped a LOT with this, and she has been eating half of a small can of the foods listed above for "breakfast" and "dinner", and a quarter of a small can of Weruva for "snacks" every four hours in between. On days when she is trending quite low, we add 4- 6 pieces of lower carb dry food to the snack, and she thinks she is in heaven!
She also gets a "Wild Cravings" treat when we check her sugar at times other than before she eats. They are a little more "carby" than the freeze dried shrimp we tried before, but she loves them so much that she will run and bat at her "kit" (pencil box with meter, etc.) as soon as we take the Cravings bag out of the cabinet. Now THAT is a treat!!!
Setting up the timer feeders is a bit of a hassle each morning and evening, but the result is no more low lows, meaning we can go to work each day and not worry about her so much!
These days, her numbers are staying much lower, with pre-shot numbers typically between 85 and 160. She never needs more than .5u twice a day and sometimes has an even lower dose or no shot at all when numbers are lower.
So, as we near the point where we might start thinking about going OTJ - not yet, but maybe soon! - do you think the frequent, small-meal feeding schedule is helping her or hurting her? At one time, when her lows were extreme and sudden, it was the only way we could feel OK about leaving her.
I'm wondering now if we should stick with what is more or less working, or try some changes?
When we tried to give her more calories through larger servings of wet food (Merrick, EVO, Tiki) she would overeat quickly and then vomit.
We discovered that what worked for her at that time was a small snack every 4 hours.
Timer feeders helped a LOT with this, and she has been eating half of a small can of the foods listed above for "breakfast" and "dinner", and a quarter of a small can of Weruva for "snacks" every four hours in between. On days when she is trending quite low, we add 4- 6 pieces of lower carb dry food to the snack, and she thinks she is in heaven!
She also gets a "Wild Cravings" treat when we check her sugar at times other than before she eats. They are a little more "carby" than the freeze dried shrimp we tried before, but she loves them so much that she will run and bat at her "kit" (pencil box with meter, etc.) as soon as we take the Cravings bag out of the cabinet. Now THAT is a treat!!!
Setting up the timer feeders is a bit of a hassle each morning and evening, but the result is no more low lows, meaning we can go to work each day and not worry about her so much!
These days, her numbers are staying much lower, with pre-shot numbers typically between 85 and 160. She never needs more than .5u twice a day and sometimes has an even lower dose or no shot at all when numbers are lower.
So, as we near the point where we might start thinking about going OTJ - not yet, but maybe soon! - do you think the frequent, small-meal feeding schedule is helping her or hurting her? At one time, when her lows were extreme and sudden, it was the only way we could feel OK about leaving her.
I'm wondering now if we should stick with what is more or less working, or try some changes?