? How much to dose with lower preshot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Misterbeesmom

Very Active Member
what a day, i had a meltdown this morning, and he went from 398 to at least 135 today. Couldnt dose him with pmps at 178.

I'll check him at +13. He was hungry and it had been a while so i did feed him. I'm sure bg will be up but by how much dunno. (I read the sticky after and whoops see i should not have fed)

If his preshot is in 200's, i wont want to give him a full dose. Not sure what do here. This situation is a first for us on this insulin. How much should i decrease the usual dose?

Thanks everyone for responding to my meltdown. I only now have started reading responses. I just could not deal with anything this morning. And look what happened after all that! So weird.

Update pmps +13 is 316. Guess i'll dose the usual
 
Last edited:
If he is rising, I guess try 3 units, but not unless you can monitor overnight. If not, I'd be more cautious - maybe 2.5? Yes, it's important not to feed while you are stalling. You want to shoot a true number, not one influenced by food. But because 178 isn't a long way from 200, reducing a little seems okay.
 
If he is rising, I guess try 3 units, but not unless you can monitor overnight. If not, I'd be more cautious - maybe 2.5? Yes, it's important not to feed while you are stalling. You want to shoot a true number, not one influenced by food. But because 178 isn't a long way from 200, reducing a little seems okay.
What a day. I cant seem to do anything right. He went up quickly into 300s so I dosed him the usual 3.4 and wont be getting much sleep.
 
You are not a mess, Jen. This sugar dance is scary and difficult to understand, at first. The more data, the more time you spend trying to figure a dose out, the more confident you feel. You'll get better at seeing patterns. But for now, we'll be glad to help.
 
Jen, I feel your pain! My little Hermione is making me (us!) crazy, but I just have to remind myself to pull up my patience pants and keep on. It's SO hard when we want our kitties to be better and they're not following the program.

You're doing great, and this is the most supportive, helpful community!

:bighug:
 
You're doing great Jen! This is a scary thing but you'll get more comfortable with it. We all have been where you are and know how you feel. The important thing is that you are trying and seeking out help and learning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top