How much of a drop is ok?

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Very Active Member
Last night at 11:00 Ruby was at 209 (a good number, right?) This was +4 from her shot and eating. (At the time of her shot she was 200.)
I think most of this was actually a fur shot, though. She's a shorthair but has such thick fur it can be hard to make sure I've got it in.

So last night at 11:00 she was at 209 and this morning at 5:00 (before eating) she was 384, which could be explained by the fur shot. She actually ate really well this morning.
Not quite the full amount of FF she's supposed to but very close. I gave her 1 unit of PZI and then 2 hours later she was down to 289.

Is this a good drop or too much, too fast?

I apologize for all of the questions. I'm having trouble with getting the spreadsheet to work on my computer, even though I have a full version of Excel.
I have been keeping a detailed book of notes.

Thanks
Amy
 
I would think that is ok, but if you could do another test in a hour or two?
Dont know how to tell you about the spreadsheet but others will advise, I am sure.
Do you have hypo kit - just in case of a low drop?
 
I had to leave for work, but my husband works at home. I'll have him keep a closer eye on her than normal.
I did also leave a tiny amount of food out for her. We've got the glucose spray the vet gave us as well.
 
Check your pms. I can help with the spreadsheet.

What dose? We generally ask newbies to be careful with preshots 200 or lower. Test again in 20 minutes without feeding to be sure the number is rising, and if it isn't rising by much, consider a reduced dose.
 
She gets 1 unit of PZI, twice a day. Anytime she's tested under 200 I haven't given her a shot.

This morning before the shot she was high...384. After she ate I gave her the 1 unit. Two hours after that she was at 289. I just don't know if a 100 point drop in 2 hours is worrisome, if her number was that high to begin with.

I'm working on putting together the spreadsheet now.
 
Once you get the spreadsheet up, it will easy to compare data. Then you can see if a drop is her usual pattern and how much of a drop is usual. It's all about the data!

Today, with her higher amps, the drop still leaves you in safe numbers, but as advised-good to get a test in.
 
I might be able to sneak home for lunch to test her again.

I've got the spreadsheet attached now (I think). Its kind of vague, I think. She's really good about being tested but I try to not harass her too much.
 

Attachments

Obviously you have done a great job filling it out. But with it on Excel, I think anyone who wants to look at it has to download it onto their computer and have Excel. With the Google doc we use on the forum, you can publish it to the web and attach to your signature and we can all see it, without downloading it and adding it to our computers.

If you want to use that format, give me a call.
 
Not quite. It isn't allowing us access.

When you are looking at the google document, choose Publish to the Web under File on the left. That url goes into your signature. (Be sure to highlight it and use the URL button on the line above that starts with B and has Quote and Code buttons in it) The url on the original document goes into your favorites - you can edit it and we can't access it.

One more time?
 
I'm not PZI user, so things may be different with that insulin as far as how the curve is "supposed" to look, but I'll echo what you'll hear a thousand times on this board: Every Cat Is Different, and they don't car what anything is "supposed" to do. Once you gather enough data on your cat so you know what's normal, it will be much easier to know what's okay and when you should worry. My cat has huge drops, and it used to freak me out. Like a drop of well over 100 by +2. One night he went from 283 at preshot to 115 in two hours. But from there, it slowed down to a nice 76 nadir. Now I know that they are normal for him and that they normally slow down before becoming a problem (I do lots of checks to be sure, but generally, he smooths out after the first two or three hours. He did go a little low the other night, but that was not normal for him on his current dose.) Having the data, for me, is key, and big drops are not a big deal any more, other than I know to monitor a little more closely. From your high AMPS, it looks like the drop will put you in much better territory today...but do try to get those tests as kitty nears nadir, just to be sure.
 
She seems to finally be settling into a canned food diet, so I'm hoping that helps. She'll still take a bite or two of dried DM, but that's it. There was a whole lot of trial and error before I found flavors she would just turn up her nose at or eat more than once.
 
Spreadsheet looks great!

If she is finally on all wet diet (get rid of those final crunchies asap - you can find somewhat crunchy lo carb snacks like Pure Bites) she may be coming down generally more than previously, so a little more monitoring for the next few cycles will be a great idea.
 
I actually just ran home and tested her again. At +8 from the shot she's at 251.

She loves the liver PureBites and the Thrill Ocean Whitefish. Silly cat won't eat another other fish but these marshmallowy nuggets of fish. Go figure.
 
What a wonderful mommabean you are...
I am sure it is not easy to 'run home to test', but arent you glad you know her numbers and what she is doing? I know I feel better ~ lol

Beans # would shoot up soo high from just a few kibbles that a few were not even in the pix. but I did get the evo dry at first for a crunchy treat until we found the petco bonito flakes and some purebites.... ooops, momma forgot to get those others from the store? ;-) - at least that is what I told her....

Now that I know she is ok, please take a glance at Beans spreadsheet and see what .50 & .25 can do....eeeeeks...very powerful stuff we are using here... Would have never ever thought she would go that low from .50 or .25.... I am sure she was on her way to remission, but boy oh boy, I am soooo glad I was testing and doing it as often as I could.

Hugs coming your way!!!
 
I'm lucky enough to only live about 15 minutes from my office and have bosses to tend to travel. I can't get out every day, but I will when I can.
I really wanted to get a decent picture of the past few days before I take her in tomorrow.

She's still loving the canned food, so far.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top