Bobbie And Bubba
Very Active Member
Bubba's PMPS is 181. So, do I only give 1/2 the dose I gave this morning? I am not too sure how long below 180 is his "no shoot" number.
I just tested him again, after he ate and I had all ready given him 0.9 u which was 1/2 of his AM dose. He is 226 40 minutes later and after eating. I will test before I go to bed and once through the night to make sure him isn't going down. Lesson learned. Test again.......I am so impatient. Thanks for your response.First, get another test to make sure he is rising, Bobbie.
Good to know, I have been wondering if he has been on the insulin long enough to shoot at 180 the previous dose. So, tomorrow AM if he is high, say in the pinks, do I still have to hold the 0.9 dose for 3 cycles or can I bump up?That's what this dance is all about, Bobbie. Learning and using what you learn the next time. So next time, do the stall and retest. 181 is probably high enough for you to shoot (as you have lots of data to show he isn't plunging at 200s) as long as you are sure he is rising. If a second test gave you a 160, you'd either stall more or skip. You don't want to shoot a falling number because it means the previous shot is still working. At a 181, you might (next time) reduce by a smidge. Maybe pull up 1.8 and let out a drop.
It's probably time to start pushing the envelope and shooting a little lower pre shots, as long as you can monitor (and the rising thing). But I get that you were startled by a blue for pre shot. No worries, you'll get him back on track.
okay, thanksI'd go back to your 1.8 tomorrow am - unless he throws you some weird number lower than the high we expect.