Bowie S. B. Otch
Member Since 2016
Bowie got switched to a lower dose (from 4 to 3 U) last weekend. This weekend, I did a BG curve and he had gone hypo (44) at 3 hours post injection. We spent the day trying to stuff him with high carb crunchies and managed to keeping him OK. The lowest he went was 39 , and we skipped the dose at night. He ate his dinner very late. I must say, thank goodness for an awesome friend/vet who called me back as soon as I texted her values and coached me through caring for him. She wants to lower his dose again to 2U. Once his numbers starting going up, she told me to skip his night time dose and start again in the morning with 2U, but only if his BG was above 250 and he eats.
This morning, he was at 289 first thing in the morning. We recently dumped the WD wet diet because he was refusing to eat in the morning unless we mixed in fancy feast. I fed him 2 cans of ff and it was a struggle to get him to eat half of that. I spent 2 hours trying to get him to eat. He seems really tired out and just wants to sleep. I have a friend who is diabetic and who says that a very bad hypo spell makes you feel like crud for days. I rechecked before going to work and he was at 313. I didn't dare inject him. My husband is back from work now and says he looks wiped out and just wants to sleep. I'm thinking he's just feeling crappy from what he went through yesterday.
This morning, he was at 289 first thing in the morning. We recently dumped the WD wet diet because he was refusing to eat in the morning unless we mixed in fancy feast. I fed him 2 cans of ff and it was a struggle to get him to eat half of that. I spent 2 hours trying to get him to eat. He seems really tired out and just wants to sleep. I have a friend who is diabetic and who says that a very bad hypo spell makes you feel like crud for days. I rechecked before going to work and he was at 313. I didn't dare inject him. My husband is back from work now and says he looks wiped out and just wants to sleep. I'm thinking he's just feeling crappy from what he went through yesterday.