How long do you wait to up dosage on Lantus?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy G.

Member Since 2018
Hi everyone...

My Chloe started 1 unit of Lantus about 2 weeks ago and her numbers were all over the place, but mostly high. The vet did a glucose curve all day and it was in the 300 range..this was about a week later after starting. He decided we should up to 2 units the next day.

She started getting higher numbers the next 3 days..I was concerned so I called the vet & he said she needs to see a specialist..but I really don’t want to do that to her yet..her numbers have come down the past 2 days and at the 6 hour mark was around 280. 400 at 12 hour mark.

Do you think we should stick it out with 2 units a bit longer? Her appt is on Wed to see internal specialist. Help please!!

She’s also on budesinoid.

Thanks!!
 
Hi. I don’t think you need a specialist. Please read the yellow sticky on Tight Regulation and Start Low Go Slow. They are the two protocols used here. You don’t need to make a choice right away but they explain how we adjust doses. We mostly go up and down in .25 increments rather than by whole unit. That way you don’t miss s good dose. Too much insulin can act like too little. Most cays are stressed at the vet and will test higher. There.

Lantus is dosed based upon how low it takes a cat, the nadir. It usually is between 4-7 hours after injection. Please set up a spreadsheet. The directions can be found here:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

We are data based and need to see numbers to give recommendations.

What kind of meter are you using? What are you feeding? Does Chloe have IBD or pancreatitis? I assume she must and that’s why budesonide. There are lots of cats on it and some but not all became diabetic from it.
 
Hi. I don’t think you need a specialist. Please read the yellow sticky on Tight Regulation and Start Low Go Slow. They are the two protocols used here. You don’t need to make a choice right away but they explain how we adjust doses. We mostly go up and down in .25 increments rather than by whole unit. That way you don’t miss s good dose. Too much insulin can act like too little. Most cays are stressed at the vet and will test higher. There.

Lantus is dosed based upon how low it takes a cat, the nadir. It usually is between 4-7 hours after injection. Please set up a spreadsheet. The directions can be found here:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

We are data based and need to see numbers to give recommendations.

What kind of meter are you using? What are you feeding? Does Chloe have IBD or pancreatitis? I assume she must and that’s why budesonide. There are lots of cats on it and some but not all became diabetic from it.

Thanks so much for your reply! I’m working on a spreadsheet. So, when you say we are looking at the nadir for Lantus, do you mean if that’s in good range then that’s the dose we are looking for? What range should we be looking for during the nadir? We have an Alpha Track Meter btw, and feeding Fancy Feast pate. I’m also wondering how much to feed her per day since she seems to be so hungry. Thanks a bunch!
 
The nadir is the lowest point in the cycle. Dosing is based upon how low a dose takes the cat. Normal BG for a cat is roughly 50-120. So you need to test before dosing to make sure they are at a safe bg to shoot. If a cat drops under 68 on a pet meter, the dose needs to be lowered. You don’t want to stay too long at a dose that is not bringing them into a good range. Most but not all cats that go into remission do so within the first few months or year. I had a feeling she has IBD. It would be helpful to add a signature with all pertinent information so you don’t get asked the same questions, lol. Have a look at mine.

Next step will be to start a spreadsheet. If you need help, holler and someone will help you. Then read the yellow stickies at the top of this forum. It explains the protocols used here and when to increase and decrease the dose. There’s a lot of information. I felt overwhelmed at first so take it as slow as you need and ask lots of questions. Fancy feast pate is a low carb food. Is that what you have been feeding or did you recently change? If you were feeding dry or high carb before that change alone should help bring down her bg.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top