? How long can you wait to give insulin? PMPS is now at 80 at +13 of his AM

Sepi

Member
I tried to update the spreadsheet. I'm not sure if this is a Libre Sensor issue or Gary is in some weird bouncy state. It appears that the glucose isn't dropping until +11 in the cycle. Then it goes too low for me to shoot.
(Note - Gary has ringworm and is in the middle of treating, so I cannot touch his ears to try the ReliOn monitor. I used his paw, but the machine retired 4 times and I had to stop. ) He has eaten his dinner, and he had a high carb snack when he went to 65 on the libre about 30 minutes ago.
So my question is, how late can I wait to give him his PM shot? Right now we are an hour later than this morning.
I realize if I go late then tomorrow would be adjusted as well. Or maybe I skip totally?
Let me try and get more numbers in spreadsheet for the past two days as well. You can see this pattern of high all day and then a drop at +11. Thanks
 
When following SLGS for dosing, you don't shoot below 90. How long ago was the DKA issue?
 
It was Nov 1. I'm testing him every day for ketones using the human Ketostix urine strips. He has been negative
So even if he goes back up high in say an hour, I wouldn't give him the shot then?
So he hasn't had any insulin since 645am (almost 14 hours ago) yet his glucose levels is staying at around 80. This after having had dinner and a small high carb spoon of wet food. How can that be?
 
If he’s high in an hour you could give insulin provided you can adjust the next dose to be no sooner than 11 1/2 hours from the shot. Has Gary eaten ? If so how much and was it lc? He’s earned a .25 reduction. Whenever he gets his insulin the dose is now 2.0.
 
So even if he goes back up high in say an hour, I wouldn't give him the shot then?

It's probably too late now, but for the future:

If he was high enough, yes you could shoot 2 hours late as long as you can adjust his shot schedule for the next few days until you could work back to your regular shot time.

Also, since he did drop below 90 again, his dose needs to be reduced to 2.0

I noticed on your spreadsheet, especially the last few days, that you were giving 2.5 in the morning, 2.25 at night. Lantus craves consistency so he should get the same dose both AM and PM. Lantus dosing isn't based on how high the Pre-shot numbers are. They are based on how low that dose takes him, so his new dose should be 2.0 units both AM and PM unless he drops below 90 again and then you'd reduce again to 1.75
 
It's probably too late now, but for the future:

If he was high enough, yes you could shoot 2 hours late as long as you can adjust his shot schedule for the next few days until you could work back to your regular shot time.

Also, since he did drop below 90 again, his dose needs to be reduced to 2.0

I noticed on your spreadsheet, especially the last few days, that you were giving 2.5 in the morning, 2.25 at night. Lantus craves consistency so he should get the same dose both AM and PM. Lantus dosing isn't based on how high the Pre-shot numbers are. They are based on how low that dose takes him, so his new dose should be 2.0 units both AM and PM unless he drops below 90 again and then you'd reduce again to 1.75
I just fixed that. It has been 2.25 , not 2.5.
So Gary ate his dinner almost 3 hrs ago. This Libre has him up to 220 now and raising.
So could I give him a little low carb food and shoot 2 units now? It would mean he was 3 hours later than normal. And I would adjust tomorrow.
 
I just fixed that. It has been 2.25 , not 2.5.
So Gary ate his dinner almost 3 hrs ago. This Libre has him up to 220 now and raising.
So could I give him a little low carb food and shoot 2 units now? It would mean he was 3 hour
Having him eat three hours later tomorrow morning might make him crazy! So I guess letting him go with no insulin tonight is the best course of action. The fact that his nadir is now happening at +11 makes the PM shot daunting.
Thank you all..
 
Back
Top