How long after a meal do you wait to test?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lillie

Member Since 2017
I don't think I waited long enough after Leo ate to test him. It was barely 2 hours and his BG was 139 which is higher than he has been testing. He's been testing anywhere from 85 to 114 and has not had insulin for a week now. He doesn't have much room between his vein and the edge of his ear and I think I gave him an ear piercing tonight.
 
Are you asking about pre-testing or when do people usually take the first reading after meal + shot (in your case, no shot)?
 
When you would usually take a reading after a meal. Since he has not been on any insulin this week I've been testing him throughout the day to keep a check on his levels. I know food interferes with glucose levels so I wanted to know how long you would wait after a meal to get an accurate reading.
 
If he doesn't eat for 2 hours after his meal, then should be a non-influenced food reading. Part of the reason we don't feed 2 hours prior to pretesting :). I could be wrong but that's my thinking :D
 
I was curious because his reading was a little higher than it has been all week without insulin at 139 and I think I misjudged the time so I was just trying to figure out if it may have been food induced or not. I think I should have waited longer, or else kept better track of the time. I had to take him to ER tonight due to projectile vomiting every time he ate anything. I'm sure it is his IBD flaring but his specialist was not on emergency tonight and the ER was a mess with a new ER doctor. She thinks it might be the diabetes but I kept trying to tell her his BG this week has been ok and I just tested him before I took him to the hospital.
His specialist will be in tomorrow morning and knows exactly what's going on so I just hope they don't kill him over night while he's there. I'm kind of a mess right now with worry.
 
They kept him over night and I had to run down to the hospital at 5:00AM this morning to take his IBD food to him. They're not sure why he was vomiting so much. Of course his BG is running higher there due to stress because it has not been very high when I've tested him all week at home. Still not high enough for insulin though. I think the blood work they did showed glucose at 171. X-rays showed he was very backed up with food so they did an enema. Strange because his bowel movements have been very normal all week. Will see his specialist at the hospital today so I guess I will know more. He was given an antiemetic for vomiting and pepcid injection. Hope it is not pancreatitis which I know is very common with IBD and or diabetes. He has been throwing up massive hair balls for a couple days. Poor guy has been through a lot. Thanks so much for your concern. He also showed trace ketones but the ER dr. didn't seem too concerned about it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top