How is this #?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sherrib

Member Since 2015
gave 4 units at 9

+6 254 ( 3:30 PM)

Don't have anymore numbers for today, I forgot my test strips at the pharmacy and only have 2 left. I had 4 but didn't get enough blood so 2 were wasted. Can't believe I forgot them :(

NEW NUMBERS BELOW
 
Last edited:
So to clarify, you don't know what the AMPS was? Just asking because the 254 doesn't tell us much without that. We don't know if Skittles dropped pretty far or if he surfed along flat. I will say 254 isn't a bad number...not as low as we want at mid cycle...but again, without that preshot number, we don't really know if it was a good drop or not.

I get the whole forgetting the strips thing! Yesterday, I searched my house and purse for a good 10 minutes looking for my keys...until I realized I had been holding them in my hand the entire time! :banghead:

Anyway you can pick some up tonight? Just so you have them in case you need to get more numbers, and also to help us figure out what's going on.
 
I just got home from getting them. Pretty cool since they cost me nothing! They went threw my insurance I guess. They have to order me keto strips , they will be there tomorrow . ( I have double insurance )

Right, no AMPS. Will get it tomorrow though

I once sent about 30 mins searching for one of my shoes..... The messing shoe was on my foot! For the record I was very tired and in a huge rush LOL
 
Last edited:
I have new numbers from his curve (so far today ) I cant put them in the spreadsheet, is it down right now?

AMPS- 533 ( 9:30 AM, took his food up at 6:30 AM) gave 4 units

+4 - 422 ( 1:30 PM but him was eating at 1;00 )

Keto check at 12:55 PM which was negative
 
Interesting. Hope you can get a number in that +5-7 range and see if he drops low or whether he stays in the 200s. The preshots are high. That can be too little insulin or a bounce. (When the body perceives a lower level than it is used to, it releases extra glucose, causing the number to bounce up, higher than normal.). More data should help you figure out which.

For reference, we consider a cat regulated if they are in the lower/mid 200s at preshot and double digits at nadir, but not below 45 which is nearer possible hypo ranges. That's the first thing to shoot for (pun intended)
 
+8 426

my vet told me to do every 4 hours?

times I have test 9:30, 1:30 and 5:30
right before the 1 & 5 he was eating. I left the room to get stuff at 5:20 came back and he was at his bowl eating
I cant believe his numbers today, supposed to start moving at 9-10 AM. supposed to take him to vet at 7;30 for his rabies vac....
couldnt get before becuase of his levels
 
All data is good data. But this cycle does confuse me. This is a flat high curve compared to other numbers you've gotten. I'd figure it's one cycle and move on. We are looking for trends and patterns over time, and sometimes a cycle just doesn't make much sense. I'd continue with your 4 units and see how he looks going forward.
 
Here's what puzzles me...
I know then was then, and now is now, but on 10/27, 3 units dropped the numbers by 400 points. And on 10/31, 3 units dropped it around 250 points.
Two weeks later, 4 units acts like "water".

I just want to make sure, but on the nights where the dose amount is blank, did you not give shots? I just want to be sure I am reading things right.
 
I've always given his shots ( have done 2 fur shots since he started )
Today is very odd, have never had numbers like this. I have been testing him the entire time. I just don't have them listed.
 
Ok, so he got 4u at PMPS last night? Do you know what his BG was then?
 
yes 4 units last night and 4 units this morning.

All the numbers from today's curve on in his SS. He gets 4 units at 9:30 PM. I tested him at 8:30 and it was 490. So I want to give him insulin now , 30 mins early
 
Any time you see "neg" on ketones it is a good thing!

I think shooting 30 minutes early is okay in this case. I hope he gives you some nicer numbers soon, too.
 
PMPS= 500 gave 4 units
so he just went from 490 at 8:30 PM to 500 at 9:30 PM ! what in the world.....
 
Just curious and maybe somebody has already asked you this. What was the dose that you started with? Was it 1u? What was the date that you started shooting? The reason why I am asking is that sometimes, people start with too high a dose which sometimes cause too high of numbers during a cycle rather than going too low.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top