HOW IS HE DOING?

SO, MEL VIAL IS NOW 4 MONTHS PAST 1ST OPENING. I NOTICE CHANGES IN HIS Numbers. I am wondering if I shouldn't open a new vial?
have you experience? Also, he is not eating very much at all during the day. I am thinking he may need to go back to the specialist? I noticed a lump on his
backbone prior to his diagnosis. His vet doesn't want to do surgery because of his asthma. I guess the expensive specialist should have a look?
I gave him a smear of appetite stimulant this morning. He barely touched his breakfast. Hoping he rallies.
Thanks.
Merrie and Mel
 
It sounds like you need to have Mel seen by the vet. His lack of appetite is concerning. Have you been able to check for ketones?

The insulin may be fine and those higher numbers could be from skipped shots or some bouncing. It looks like BG may have dropped some on the nights of the 19th and 20th but they weren't caught with testing. As long as the insulin doesn't have any floaties in it and has been stored in the fridge, it may be just fine for another month or 2. I'd expect more consistently high numbers if the insulin were losing efficacy.
 
I will call the vet today. Thanks, I was thinking Keytones as well. No I have not tested but was just on the site you suggested. What I don't see on the Ketone site is what to do to correct it and what to
do if they are high?
Thanks.
 
If you check ketones with the urine ketostix, any reading over a trace warrants a vet visit. If ketones even at trace levels are present, then more frequent checking is needed along with getting more food and water into Mel. Good hydration helps to flush ketones out of the system and ample food intake ensures that Mel is getting the nutrition he needs and using it for energy instead of breaking down muscle for energy. It's also important that Mel get enough insulin so skipping insulin shots is not advised if ketones are present.
 
QUICK QUESTION, MEL HAD HIS METRONITOZOLE BENOATE PILL AND SOME PATE PRIOR TO TESTING PM HIS BG WAS 167. I FED HIM MORE AND A LITTLE HIGHER CARB FOOD AND HIS BG WENT DOWN TO 123.
IS IT POSSIBLE THE PILL INTERFERED WITH THE BG?
HE USUALLY GETS HIS PILL WITH HIS MEAL OR AFTER HIS MEAL.

HE IS EATING MORE OF THE PATE NOW, BUT IT IS STILL A CHALLENGE WITH HIM.
I WILL COME HOME FROM WORK AND THE PATE HASN'T BEEN TOUCHED. HE IS STARVING AND RAVENOUS AT THESE TIMES. I PUT THOSE FREEZE DRIED CHICKEN FLAKES IN THE PATE SOMETIMES.
HE SEEMS TO GOBBLE THE FLAKES AND THE ONLY PATE HE EATS IS ACCIDENTAL. HE WILL ONLY EAT THE PATE OUT OF MY HAND. PARM DOENT WORK, I MAY TRY TO FIND A TIKI CAT AT THE PET STORE. I DON'T WANT TO ORDER A WHOLE CASE AS IT WILL SIT AROUND FOREVER IF HE DECIDES AGAINST IT. SO IT IS STILL THE HIGHER CARB DM HE WILL EAT REGULARLY. I WOULD SO LOVE TO SEE HIM ON A LOWER CARB. THE DM ON OUR LIST IS 10 CARBS AND ACCORDING TO MY CALCULATIONS, IT IS MORE LIKE 13. I EVEN THOUGHT TO GIVE HIM A SMALL AMOUNT AM AND PM AND FILL IN WITH PATE, BUT HE REALLY EATS AROUND IT.
 
The BG falling after his meal is an indication Mel's pancreas is reacting to the carbs and producing insulin to deal with it which is all good news. I don't think the pill has anything to do with it.

I don't see any numbers for the January on the spreadsheet but from the end of December readings it looks like you could increase the dose to 1.25u to try to get those numbers down a little more. Mel is looking good but still has room for improvement. I'd also strongly encourage you to make it a habit to get at least one test every night. Many kitties go lower at night than they do during the day so grabbing a test before bed every night gives you some clues a to what he might be up to. It also gives you an opportunity to intervene should BG be dropping. If BG at bedtime is lower than BG at pre-shot, it's a good idea to set an alarm and retest a bit later to ensure Mel doesn't drop too low.
 
Help, I have created a January spreadsheet but th\e numbers and colors are wrong. Can someone Please help. How do I link the new spreadsheet to this application? I am confused. the new spreadsheet
is color coded differently. I want to get this straightened out before too much data needs to be re-entered.
 
Thanks. Contacted Chris for now. Hoping for some help. I saw a request to start a new spreadsheet and did but must have done something wrong.

a
Anyway, I did a large curve yesterday. I think you will see the new spread sheet now? I think the 1.25 is a bit too much for my Mel. I have been doing 1.25 since 1/1/20.
Thanks for your help.
Merrie and Mel
 
I've never used Prozinc. But I do know enough generally to tell you that BG of 67 at +2 shows that 1.25U is too much and your cat Mel has 'earned' a dose reduction. I agree with you that the 1.25 u is too much. Good to see you reduced that to 1 U for the PM cycle.

That 67 (and the 62 at +4) is too low, especially since you are using a pet meter and that early in the cycle.

Any remarks you can add over on the right hand column would be good to see. But don't do anything right now until you're SS gets fixed.
 
Please send me a private message so I can fix the SS. I will need editing rights. Also....because the SS you have is linked in your signature block for now, you don’t need to link it with every post.

To send me a PM, please click on “Marje and Gracie” to the left and “start a conversation”.
 
Mel is now protesting loudly when skin is pinched anywhere on his body to administer shot. I cannot continue like this. After 6months of flank shots he started growling then hissing and battling at needle time. His specialist suggested other sites. He will not tolerate or sit still for pinch and shot no matter how gentle I am. Specialist suggested a small dose of gabapentin . Not working . His vet said to stop. He is done being poked and pinched and examined. He is not nice, not the same sweet boy I have had since 2007. I think his vet is right. He is done, this is his limit. I feel I am loosing my boy. I am out of money and out of hope. I have changed timing and also changed and tried different places around my home to administer shot. Tried treats before during and after. Nothing works. Anyone had this challenge? Constructive suggestions are welcome. I am scared and sad. I want him to have a happy old age and this is not it. Sonogram showed much improvement in his stomach, intestines his and kidneys looked ok. One kidney a little smaller than before. Monday, blood work will be ready.
 
Doing a little brainstorming here, so please bear with me.

Is it the actual skin tenting process that Mel is objecting to?
Or being poked with the needle for the injection?

When you say pinch, how much of the skin are you using for that pinch? Are you getting some of the fat layer under the skin also?Is it more of a tenting action, or "rolling" a bit of skin over your finger?


Have you tried the clothespin technique on the scruff?
https://thebestcatpage.com/2016/06/06/christchurch-vet-nurse-keeps-cats-calm-using-clothespins/
Or there is a commercially available product called "clipnosis." Basically, it gently scruffs the cat, like a momma cat would do with a kitten.

Are you warming up the insulin in the syringe for a little bit after you withdraw the insulin from the vial? Even a bit of warming can help take out the sting.
Do you use 31g needles? Those can hurt less, barely noticeable when they pierce into the skin.

I have heard of cats that get a "stinging" type of reaction from using Lantus, but I've never heard that about Prozinc. I did find this on the Prozinc website. "Exposure to product may induce a local or systemic allergic reaction in sensitized individuals." Wondering if Mel has become too sensitized to the Prozinc, and is now having an allergic reaction to this insulin.

Some cats do better on Levimir, because there is not that "stinging" feeling from that insulin.

Hyperesthesia? Super sensitive to all touch? Skin rippling under your fingers when you pet him?
https://www.vet.cornell.edu/departm...n/feline-health-topics/hyperesthesia-syndrome
 
Maybe a thinner gauge needle would help? In between shots try just massaging the area where shoot so he’s used to his skin being moved without a shot. Try shooting while he’s eating. Try giving a special treat he only gets at shot time.
 
Was 3/1 the last dose you gave him? Can you still test his BGL? It would be really useful if you could get some BGL tests in without the insulin to see how he's doing. It might also be good if you could test his ketones.
 
Back
Top