How high does the relion confirm read?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nimo's mom

Member Since 2013
I'm trying to switch from the alpha trak to the relion but I'm not sure if it will work for us right now. I got a hi reading on the relion but 746 on the alpha trak. Thanks !
 
I think the Relion reads high if the BG is over 600.
 
Once the glucose is over the renal threshold (about 240 mg/dL, depending on your reference source and the cat's renal health), the number doesn't matter. High is high and you work on getting it lower by adjusting the food, if not low carb, and the insulin as needed.

Also, the reference numbers for human vs pet-specific meters are a little different. Its like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. For example, freezing is 0 degrees Celsius and 32 degrees Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need the reference numbers.

And here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

< 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

= 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- the lowest level pre-shot for ProZinc, PZI, or other non-depot insulins.

> 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as mid-cycle data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mf/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
Thanks! I thought it might affect how quickly and by how much we raise the dose (fingers crossed it starts working), but yeah either way we are in the black. Thanks again.
 
You might want to try a lower carb food - m/d wet is 14% from carbs - however diabetic cats are recommended to stay under 10% ie fancy feast classic pates, friskies pates and wellness grain free. Some weruva flavours are good too but some are really high (paw licking chicken is 3% which is good)

Wendy
 
I agree about the food, I think the m/d caused the relapse :(
I did switch him to paw lickn ' chicken as soon as I realized his numbers were high again a few days ago. It's lower fat than evo so hopefully he won't have the weight problem again. Poor big guy can't get a break.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top