How early?

Status
Not open for further replies.

raysofhope

Member Since 2012
Hi, if anyone is on can you please tell me how early vs.12 hrs I can give a shot? Angel was amps174 so I didn't give her a shot was going to wait. But by noon it was apparent her levels were up is I checked he and she was 377 I only gave her 1 u. She would usually get 1.2 for this level. I want to know can,I check her Bg give her a shot at 10:00pm or 11:00 pm ??? I usually give her shots at 9:00 pm.
Thanks. I haven't updated her ss as I've been very busy, but her numbers have been going down a bit. At last!
 
Depending on what kind of number you get, youcan dose at +10 or +11. I wouldn't shoot any earlier, and the closer you are to 12 hours between shots, the betet.
 
Thanks for the reply, that was my thought, should I dose at the number I get or a bit less?
Because it's a little early?
 
The best way to do it, if possible, is to retest in 20 minutes, without food. She probably would have been close enough to 200 to shoot and she wouldn't have gone so high. You can shoot anytime past +12 if rising and over 200. EXCEPT if it will mess up your schedule. as Lisa said, have to be able to shoot 12 hours after the off schedule shot.

I can't tell without a spreadsheet, but you might lower the dose that gave you the 174. If you get your ss updated, maybe we could do a sliding scale with a lower dose for lower numbers, higher dose for higher?
 
Hi Sue
You suggested a sliding scale last week.. And she has been doing better with it. I've been giving her 1.4 for the 400's 1.2 for the 300's and 1 in the higher 200's. Last night she was 377 and gave 1.2 then this morning 174. That's what messed me up, I was supposed to leave to go someplace and I didnt want to give her a shot and not be home, then the plans got changed, and I realized her levels were rising ,that's why I checked her, I was just hoping to not have to wait untill midnight to check her again ect I was hoping to get a wee bit closer and then tomorrow also , so I could get her closer to her reg, time frame.
 
Sorry, forgot that. So maybe a skinny 1.2 for mid 300s? She was close to 200 with the 174 - on another day, you could have shot that in a few more minutes. Next time!
 
One way to visualize ProZinc or PZI shots is as a strip of about 12 hours. (Adjust for what you know of your individual cat)

If you shoot early, the strips overlap. The nadir is somewhere between 5 to 7 hours after a shot. You want to be careful not to overlap full doses by too much or the glucose may get too low because the 2 shots' nadirs are too close.

If you shoot late, there is a gap between strips. This allows the glucose to rise, uncontrolled.
 
Hi Sue,

I updated Angles ss. what a night! She is better now.. Good grief! I cant leave her for a few hrs.. OH well. Maybe you can tell something from her ss.

thanks again Diana
 
Hi Sue,

I updated Angles ss. what a night! She is better now.. Good grief! I cant leave her for a few hrs.. OH well. Maybe you can tell something from her ss.

thanks again Diana
 
It's hard to know whether the dose was too high or whether she went low because she vomited and didn't eat (didn't she do that before?). I think your dose this am was fine and we can reevaluate tonight.
 
ok will do. She did eat at the time I gave her the shot about 9:40pm and she got sick around 12:30 or so as she ate a little food then and left the bedroom I was so tired I didnt bother to check where she went. But I think that shortly after that she vomited. I believe she went too low and got sick. she has done that before. Only I didnt know about it until 3:30AM or so.
 
Hi Sue

Just wanted to let you know Angel ate friskies at 5:45pm and bg was 400 at 8:30pm gave her 1.0
Wlll see what happens tomorrow, I need some sleep . Thanks again for the help

Diana
 
I can't remember. Have you had the pancreatitis test done? She seems to have these bouts of vomiting - sounds like a food allergy - to a particular flavor? - or possibly pancreatitis?
 
Hi no I haven't, our vet checked every thing about a month ago,I think 2 things ,I gave her some halo chicken treats for a few days now, and I had stopped giving them to her. Maybe that's it or she is dropping off on,me again, this morning she was 234 and vomited again,last night about 3:30am ,but I didn't check her then as I had only give her 1.0 u last night,and she was at 400 I think, don't have my book with me. Anyway she has been picking at her food this morning, so I only gave her .50u .will see what happens. I am guessing she may go high,but I am hoping her appetite picks up.
 
Hi Thanks,

She really doesn't have any of the symptoms except the vomiting ..?
She hasn't vomited for a while before this episode.

Another thing she went outside on Saturday and ate some grass. I thought she might vomit that night.. maybe it was delayed. or it could be the insulin dose , I am thinking.. She is eating a bit better now.. and I do have the pepsid if the vomiting keeps up.

thanks , Diana
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top