? How earlier can a dose be given?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sherrib

Member Since 2015
ive been sick , so I didn't get a BG on skittles until 1:45 PM, he was at 314! ( he made it 6 days without insulin )

Question- how early can he get PZI? If needed he gets it every 12 hours . At 2:00 PM ( it's now 9:25 PM) I am really sure I gave him a fur shot , I knew right away that I had given it to him that way but there's always that chance, and I had only try to give him a 1/2 unit
His levels did not drop like he has been doing for at least 2 weeks now.

Is it safe to assume that he did not get anything earlier and go ahead and give him some now? I just tested him and he is at 308

AMPS- 314 ( 1/2 unit fur shot, I think ) 2:00 PM
293 @ 6:45 PM
308 @ 9:03 PM
 
Congratulations on the 6 days without insulin!

We always say that fur shots happen, and to not give another shot (right away) because you really don't know how much actually got in the first time.

I'm sorry, I am not experienced in using Prozinc. I have heard it is more flexible with the shot schedule, so maybe you can shoot a little earlier than normal. I would wait for people who know Prozinc to answer that question. I don't think you should shoot at just 7 hours after the last shot though.

If you don't get an answer right away or when you need it, you can bump up your own post or change your Subject Line to add the word Help or something.
 
I remember before he went into remission that I have 2 hours of leeway on PZ I. But before I shoot , I want to double check.
He has now been off the meds for his tooth infection for a couple days and his numbers are back. But even on the meds, he seemed to like to skip a few cycles and then 1/2'unit worked for another few cycles.
He has A dental scheduled for the end of the month but unless I can get answers back regarding help financially but he's not gonna be able to get it done. And he desperately needs it because I can already tell that it's really messing up his BG levels
 
Since he is newly back on insulin, I would play it safe and wait till +11. And be sure he is definitely rising. I'd take it slow until you get some more data and see what is really going on.
 
Since he is newly back on insulin, I would play it safe and wait till +11. And be sure he is definitely rising. I'd take it slow until you get some more data and see what is really going on.
I will, did u happen to look at his SS? He's been back on insulin for a couple weeks . But he has only gotten it 3 maybe 4 times
 
Yes, my thinking is that you have so little data with the skipped shots and low numbers. Something seems to have changed, but until you have more info, I'd be careful.
 
Yes, my thinking is that you have so little data with the skipped shots and low numbers. Something seems to have changed, but until you have more info, I'd be careful.
The low numbers r throwing me off to. It's like his pancreas is working but then gets a little bit tired maybe from the infection and then needs a little bit of help. But today he has been running nothing but high numbers especially compared to the numbers that he has been running and especially compared to his numbers last year at this time .
And I gave him Tuna Friskers all day yesterday?? But he has been getting Friskies for the past year except for the last week and a half to 2 was when his numbers went high and he had the infection because I had read somewhere here that Friskies might have changed their carb count so I went and got fancy feast but eating fancy feast with cats isnt working very well
 
around 2:00 PM I went to give him a 1/2 unit and freaking sure I did a fur spot.it is now 11:00 PM
 
He is begging for food, but don't want to feed him so I can get an accurate test. Even though a few days ago 30 minutes after I fed him his BG dropped
 
I really don't think his BG is going to drop to a non-shootable number in an hour, do you? Especially the way his numbers have been running today
 
Hey Sherri! congrats on that time with no insulin! I see you have a dental scheduled too...I do think that would be super helpful. I'm hopeful it will bring Skittles back down into OTJ numbers. :)
 
Hey Sherri! congrats on that time with no insulin! I see you have a dental scheduled too...I do think that would be super helpful. I'm hopeful it will bring Skittles back down into OTJ numbers. :)
I do have a dental scheduled but unless I get some answers from whether or not I'm going to get some kind of financial help that I'm going to have to cancel that appointment, I made the appointment pacifically for February since it's National dental month for pets and they do a 20% discount.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top