? How does Misty's latest curve look?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bree & Misty

Member Since 2021
Hi everyone.
Curve day again today and Misty's nadir looks great to me. I am concerned about some of her PS numbers and cycles from other days in the week, the prozinc dosing guide says for a cat to be regulated they should be in blues or greens at nadir and at or below 300 at PS. She's pretty frequently above 300 at shot time and doesn't always get into the blues every cycle from what I've seen, unless I'm missing them. Do I just hold the dose and be patient, or change it?
Also, I'm going out of town for a week in September, and am worrying myself sick over what I'll do with Misty. I can't find a sitter or boarder who knows how to test, and it's scary to tell them to inject without testing. Does anyone have any advice? What have you all done when you have to leave town? If anyone here lives in the Salt Lake county UT area I'll pay you to come test and shoot!
Thanks all
 
Contact your local vets and see if they have any vet techs who would be willing to come to your house to test and shoot twice a day. Some vets will also board cats that need medical attention for overnight stays.
 
Contact your local vets and see if they have any vet techs who would be willing to come to your house to test and shoot twice a day. Some vets will also board cats that need medical attention for overnight stays.
Thank you, I'll call around. Would the techs know how to test using the ear? I didn't think they did it that way in the vet's office.
 
I would start a new thread or change this thread subject line to….subject line..’does anyone live in Salt Lake County UT’ and ask the question.

As you are doing SLGS the method says
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
You have had two blue nadirs of 148 and 114 so I would hold the dose a bit longer and maybe do another curve in a few days time.
 
I would start a new thread or change this thread subject line to….subject line..’does anyone live in Salt Lake County UT’ and ask the question.

As you are doing SLGS the method says
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
You have had two blue nadirs of 148 and 114 so I would hold the dose a bit longer and maybe do another curve in a few days time.
Great thanks Bron :) will do another curve Friday
 
Thank you, I'll call around. Would the techs know how to test using the ear? I didn't think they did it that way in the vet's office.
Mine is doing the paw pad. It’s how he knows how to do it and maybe I will change his mind but right now the priority is to test Ruby during the day so I can know how she’s doing and keep her safe. I can also trust him to give insulin, pill, or take her to the vet or hospital if necessary and this takes a lot off my mind in case I am stuck at work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top