He is too low (IN the normal range) to give any shots. I don't know how to insure his remission that may or may not last. ... Blues turn to green 3+ after feeding. Normal.
*Meanwhile I have Oscar - my aging 18+ year "feline aids" kitty going south rapidly..... His passing is expected soon and he has outlived the rest of the original pride by many years. Down to 6 lbs now. It will be a relief to us both in the end I'm sad to say.
First, I want to say I'm sorry to hear about Oscar...When our babies are sick, it is always a relief in a way, because it means they are out of pain. Hugs and love.
That being said, maybe you have too much going on to continue juggling Darwin...No one judges on this board that I've seen...He is doing well, congratulations!
However, I believe maybe you have the same misunderstanding I did until recently about SLGS: that's its a "protocol" to be followed to obtain hopefully regulation or remission. I've learned it's not a protocol, rather a set of guidelines. The original no shoot number is 90, but as the cats numbers lower, the caregiver can gradually lower the no shoot number, as now there is more data on the cat, to continue lowering numbers until they are all (or mostly all) in a normal range. From the otj sticky:
"
OTJ TRIALS:
Prior to starting an OTJ trial, one wants to see kitty mostly in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL), but under 100 overall... with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range.
Remission is achieved when kitty can go 14 days without insulin while maintaining normal blood glucose values
under 100 overall. Most will stay in the 50 - 80mg/dL range. Although, some will
occasionally experience BG numbers up to 120 mg/dL."
Darwin has some beautiful green pmps, but overall his numbers are still mostly above normal (and even most of his "normal" numbers can be shot eventually, for example the TR shoots down to 50.)
We *can* and *do* shoot normal numbers. Shooting normal numbers actually helps support the pancreas as it heals...It doesn't have to do *all* the work all at once.
*Shooting a lower number doesn't mean he'll constantly drop or steeply drop, it just helps bring the curve flatter, which is what we want...A shallow curve with green bookends (the preshots).* The curve really does flatten.
Again, this will most likely help Darwin achieve a remission he'll hold. Some cats do hold a remission with similar numbers to Darwin; many do not.
Of course, it's your choice whether to try him now, or whether you opt to lower his shooting numbers to work him down some more to all or mostly normal numbers If you choose not to, that's fine! I just wanted you to understand (if you didn't already) that the SLGS guidelines are just that, guidelines, meant to be altered when we have the data and confidence to do so.
Best of luck with whatever you decide! With love, Nikki
ETA Simba! Replace all the Darwin's with Simbas lol. Sorry about that... I think of most everyone in terms of their avatar, but mixed this one up
