Sarah & Jackie
Member Since 2015
I remember reading somewhere back when Jackie was first diagnosed that some cats run normally in the 300 range. Soooo, how do you determine if that is the case for your cat?
My vets haven't been as involved as would be ideal. And my schedule this time of year is absolute madness as far as being able to be consistent....so I have been doing the best I can to make adjustments because of that. Additionally, Jackie seems to hit his lowest #s at the end of his cycles, which further complicates things.@BJM and @Sarah & Jackie , my concern from looking at Jackie's SS is that the Lantus dose isn't consistent, either in time or amount. Sarah, I haven't looked back at your other posts, but does your vet have you doing a sliding scale on the dose?
Jackie seems to want to run on the high end, and doesn't display typical symptoms when doing so. That got me thinking that maybe he is just one of those cats that run higher at "normal". This has all been so frustrating, as he doesn't seem to fit the "norm" for most cats. He IS a very high strung guy......And I usually can't be home often enough for long enough that I feel comfortable pushing my luck.That may be where they start, but baring some other medical condition, that wouldn't be a good place to leave the glucose.
What makes you ask?
Jackie seems to want to run on the high end, and doesn't display typical symptoms when doing so. That got me thinking that maybe he is just one of those cats that run higher at "normal". This has all been so frustrating, as he doesn't seem to fit the "norm" for most cats.That may be where they start, but baring some other medical condition, that wouldn't be a good place to leave the glucose.
What makes you ask?
Understood. I hope I didn't offend. Was just curious about the fluctuations.My vets haven't been as involved as would be ideal. And my schedule this time of year is absolute madness as far as being able to be consistent....so I have been doing the best I can to make adjustments because of that. Additionally, Jackie seems to hit his lowest #s at the end of his cycles, which further complicates things.
No offense takenUnderstood. I hope I didn't offend. Was just curious about the fluctuations.

That hasn't happened very often at all. Usually, he is running high. So, when I DO need to skip a shot, when it is time for the next one, what do I do, since I usually can't be there to monitor him?If you absolutely have to skip a shot, then I would focus on trying to hold the dose steady as long as he doesn't dip below 90.
That has really only happened the one time he stopped eating and ended up overnight at the vet and I'm still not sure how those 2 things relate to each other.but he's had high ketones
I have done that as well and haven't come away with any clear direction. My biggest dilemma is when he is in his lowest #'s when he is more than +12 and I'm unsure what to do. We are closing in on 6 monthes since diagnosis(which I'm sure, now. came later than it should have). I'm really feeling pressure to get to some regulation, with the clock ticking, ticking, ticking.....If you'd like to post in the Lantus/Levemir forum, there are a lot of very experienced members there that could help you with dosing.
I asked the vet he was with for the hospital stay about that, and he pretty much shied away from that. I was under the impression that I don't need a scrip for it. Is that true? If I were to try that, I would definitely need a lot of guidance to feel comfortable.In that case, what may work is adding in a tiny amount of a short acting insulin (Regular, ie R insulin) to help bring him down on the prednisolone days.
That hasn't happened very often at all. Usually, he is running high. So, when I DO need to skip a shot, when it is time for the next one, what do I do, since I usually can't be there to monitor him?
That has really only happened the one time he stopped eating and ended up overnight at the vet and I'm still not sure how those 2 things relate to each other.
I have done that as well and haven't come away with any clear direction. My biggest dilemma is when he is in his lowest #'s when he is more than +12 and I'm unsure what to do. We are closing in on 6 monthes since diagnosis(which I'm sure, now. came later than it should have). I'm really feeling pressure to get to some regulation, with the clock ticking, ticking, ticking.....
You're nowhere near using R - I said AFTER you've been consistent and stable in dose and IF there is an obvious discrepancy in the days he is and is not on the pred.
Please read what folks write very, very carefully.
BJM said:The Prednisolone doesn't help the glucose levels either.
As you work up the dose 0.25 units at a time, you may get to a point where the day off prednisolone is lower than the days on. In that case, what may work is adding in a tiny amount of a short acting insulin (Regular, ie R insulin) to help bring him down on the prednisolone days.
but depot insulins are handled a little differently. Typically the preshot number is the highest point of the cycle. What you want to know with a depot insulin is how low the cat will go when the insulin is at its peak strength. That's the safest thing for the cat.
t some point, we might find he is a late nadir guy but I wouldn't say that right now.
Not sure where you are getting the 406 and 368. His latest numbers are :178 @ 6:51pm-PMPS SHOULD have been about 7:15pm. Then 131@ 8--meter variance may be at play; he's came down a little more than meter variance, but not much. 406 and 368 are definitely within meter variance...so he's flat.