How Do We Back Up Hannah's Shoot Time?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blamethecats and Hannah

Member Since 2014
Could someone please tell us how to back up Hannah's shoot time. We had been on a pretty good schedule of shooting at 8:30 AM and 8:30 PM. Then last evening, her PMPS was 216 on the AlphaTrak2, so delayed her shoot by 2 hours. By 10:15 PM, her BG was (YIKES!) 599. Can't explain that, but perhaps it had something to do with her eating well at 8:15 PM or maybe even that her ears were very warm when I woke her to test at 10:15 PM. Now I would like to get us back to our regular shoot times of 8:30, AM and PM. How do I go about doing that, assuming of course, that there are no more delays due to low pre-shots? We will be shooting this AM at 10:30, assuming her AMPS number is acceptable, as know I should space 12 hours apart -- at least at my (very low) level of expertise.
 
With ProZinc, you can shoot earlier by at least 30 minutes, as long as the number is definitely rising. So you could that this morning, evening and tomorrow morning .

Next time you get a number near 200, wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. She probably will have risen enough to shoot. If you are consistently getting numbers you don't feel comfortable shooting, I'd reduce the dose a smidge.
 
Yes, that will work. Just be sure the number is rising, not falling. Sometimes it is safe to shoot an hour early, but as you are new to this and he is getting a little lower numbers, this could be a good plan.
 
And how about a curve this weekend - test every 2-3 hours - so you can get a real picture of when the insulin starts to work, the lowest point and when she starts back up?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top