How Do I Switch to Lantus?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly & Jersey (GA)

Member Since 2014
Good morning, everyone!

My new vet has agreed that Jersey needs to be switched from Humulin to Lantus. Thank goodness! We will be switching her next week. My question is this: Does Jersey need to go through a Humulin "detox" period before starting Lantus? If so, how many hours or days should she be off of Humulin before starting Lantus? I know I'm jumping the gun a bit; I just want to be as prepared as possible when the Lantus arrives.

Thanks for any advice you have!
Shelly
 
Hi Shelley:

I switched Scooter from humilin to Levemir which is very similar. I first had to decided on TR tight regulation or relaxed. I choose tight and posted here just like you have. I know the amazing folks here will help you as well. Just follow their advice and stick with it even when in doubt. I also read the TR protocol over and over to understand it well. Changing to a depot insulin takes some time. Look at my SS and you will see it took about 30 days to see a big difference and now Scooter is doing so much better.

I feel like his quality of life is so much better as he has longer days of feeling good. So welcome to the TR lantus board and don't give up when the numbers don't change fast.

Linda
 
Welcome Shelly! and Jersey! cat_pet_icon

Glad you're making the switch to Lantus - it lasts longer in a cat's body and is better for them.

I don't think you need a detox period because of the shorter duration, but will check with a couple of others to make sure about that. i think you can give the Humulin for one shot and 12 hrs later give the Lantus for the next shot.

Looks like you've only had a few shots with the Humulin. How much does Jersey weigh? Can you tell us a little about her? You can do it here, but at some point having a profile on her with all her important medical history is important. Some people just attach a google doc, some people use the profile template here. All of that is helpful in figuring out a starting dose on the Lantus.

The best place to start is reading the yellow starred stickies at the top of the Lantus TR forum. That's the top part of the page just above everyone's daily posts. Start with the New to the Group one - it'll answer a lot of questions for you. Make sure you read the post & watch the video on how to take care of your insulin. Lantus is expensive enough that you don't want to inadvertently contaminate it and thereby shorten its life.
 
I agree with Julie. The humulin insulins do not stay in the system the same as the depot insulins like Lantus and Levemir do, so you should be able to shoot humulin one cycle and change over to Lantus the next.
Welcome to LLand :)
 
Thanks for your advice and warm welcome, everyone!

Dyana ~ Thank you for your advice. I figured it would be safe but wanted to get as much advice as I could before making the switch.

Julie ~ Upon your recommendation, I did create a profile for Jersey (although I'll have to go back and add in her weight). To summarize her story, Jersey is 6 years old and was diagnosed in November. The vet put her on Hill's dry w/d. (She had eaten Meow Mix dry her entire life.) When the w/d still hadn't helped by January, the vet wanted to start her on Humulin - 2 units a day. That's when I finally started doing research; I still can't figure out why it took me so long. Ugghh. We switched to Wellness Core canned on January 12th. After giving the food some time to work, I started giving Jersey 1 unit of H a day; 2 units seemed too much to me. The big drops in bg made me back off completely since I previously lost a diabetic kitty to (what I believe was) hypo - at the vet's office no less. I've now started giving Jersey .25 units a day. She went to a new vet yesterday - one I'm much more comfortable with - and we'll be starting Lantus this week. Jersey currently weighs about 11 pounds. She has had no previous medical problems, although she has had dandruff her entire life.

Linda ~ Are you a mind reader? Patience is not one of my virtues, so your words couldn't be more appropriate. Thank you. :-D

Shelly
 
Hi there ~O) :cool:

Glad you found us - Welcome!

I was looking at Jersys spreadsheet, and see that she has not had insulin since 02/07 and this morning her BG was 98

Is that correct???
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!!

Since I don't think anyone has mentioned it, the starred sticky notes at the top of this board contain an overwhelming amount of information to help you understand Lantus, how Lantus works, and will help to familiarize you with this board.

I do have a couple of thoughts about transitioning Jersey to Lantus. As the others have mentioned, no washout period is required.

First, it looks like Jersey has been getting only one shot of Humulin per day. It's not surprising that your seeing less than desirable numbers. It really doesn't matter what insulin you're using, most cats need a twice a day injection given that they have a fast metabolism compared with humans. This is even more the case with Humulin since is is not a long-acting insulin. As a result of the once a day dosing, you see some numbers that are in the normal range, Jersey "bounces" into high numbers and you skip the next shot so the numbers remain elevated, you give the next once-a-day shot and the process repeats. And all of this is on a 0.25u dose of Humulin.

By way of comparison, Lantus is a long-acting insulin. In other words, in cats, it lasts at least 12-hours. Humulin lasts 5 - 8 hours. Humulin onset is quite rapid and it can quickly drive numbers down. Lantus onset is roughly two hours after you shoot and is more gentle in it's action. The nadir -- or lowest point in the cycle -- is at about halfway into the duration of each respective insulin although the nadir can vary. The reason that I bring this up is that given that Humulin is an immediate duration insulin, it's not surprising that you're not getting the results you want with once a day dosing. All of this factors in to how you approach using Lantus based on what you're seeing with Humulin.

I echo Sandy's question above. That's a really good start to the day given that Jersey hasn't had any insulin in 36+ hours. Have you changed Jersey's diet?

Unless these lovely, normal range numbers persist, I would suggest that when you make the switch, you ease Jersey into Lantus and reduce his dose to 0.125u twice a day. In other words, give half of what you are currently giving at each shot time. This also means that the total amount of insulin Jersey is getting will be the same. The dose would look like this:
01unit-1.jpg


If your vet isn't terribly familiar with Lantus, you may want to share this journal article with him. This is the article that was published describing the research supporting the use of the Tight Regulation Protocol for Lantus and Levemir.

The article indicates that Lantus is dosed twice a day and it also will provide the guidelines for when doses are increased and reduced. The slightly modified version that we use is in the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky. The sticky note is also written in plain language making it much easier to read.

Please let us know if you have questions. The people here are very generous with their time and information. We're here to help!
 

Attachments

Thanks for your reply, Sienne & Sandy. I know exactly what you mean about Humulin's short duration and the highs and lows Jersey has experienced. Our schedules have been quite erratic during the last couple of weeks (for a variety of reasons). Due to the sharp drops we've had, I didn't feel comfortable giving her a second dose when no one would be around to monitor her. I definitely know that it has been hard on her to only receive one dose a day. Thanks for the advice about starting dose - I'm in complete agreement with you on it. I did try to do a .125 dose with Humulin; it was tough, and a magnifying glass is on my next shopping list.

I was quite surprised by Jersey's low readings yesterday afternoon and today, especially considering the fact that she has had no insulin since Friday morning. I know she was high Saturday morning, but we wanted to keep her off of insulin until after the new vet checked her out. When we got home that afternoon, her bg had dropped below the no-shot limit. We did get some new canned food in Friday evening, and I've been rotating that with the Wellness Core, which the cats all seemed to be bored with. They've eaten Spot's Pate Chicken and Primal Chicken & Salmon (freeze-dried), along with the Wellness. That's the only change we've made. I am now keeping meticulous hand-written notes about what she ate and when......

Thanks again for your questions, concerns, and advice. My new vet uses Lantus himself, so I am assuming he's quite familiar with it. However, I'll still take the article to him.

Shelly
 
hello there :cool:
ForJersey said:
I was quite surprised by Jersey's low readings yesterday afternoon and today, especially considering the fact that she has had no insulin since Friday morning.
I was surprised to see that as well - thanks for confirming.

what times/amounts do you feed Jersey?

I'm curious to know if her pancreas might be sputtering. . .

Since you currently are using a non-depot type insulin and if you are flexible with your shooting schedule,
if you are able to refrain from shooting please do the following:

*Check Jerseys BG prior to her next meal and then feed her
*Re-check her BG about 3 hours later.

If her pancreas are sputtering, they will produce some insulin in response to the meal which may bring the BG down.
That may be why you are seeing numbers in the normal range in spite of no recent insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top