How do I know if my cat is going into remission?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Muffin

Member Since 2021
Hi. My cat muffin is very newly diagnosed. Have been using the SLGS approach. Yesterday was supposed to be "curve" day, but turned into a day of perpetual stalling, with AMPS 68, with BGL not going above 142 throughout the day. When it came to the PMPS time, I couldn't find Muffin anywhere. I think she'd well and truly had enough of all the pricking and must have found a really good hiding place, so I missed the PMPS reading. This morning (now having had no insulin since the evening before last), her AMPS was 124, so no insulin again.

I'm giving her a rest from all the pricking today, feeling like the risk of her going high seems small. I will take a PMPS reading tonight.

If the PMPS reading tonight is above 8.5 should I go ahead with a shot? And if yes, what dose do you recommend - a drop dose perhaps?

Thanks, Sarah & Muffin
 
If the PMPS reading tonight is above 8.5 should I go ahead with a shot? And if yes, what dose do you recommend - a drop dose perhaps?

We actually want to keep them on insulin as long as it's safely possible so the pancreas rests for as long as possible. We want a strong remission, not necessarily a fast one!

You have a lot of empty AMPS and PMPS cells so it will be important to always test before you feed/shoot to make sure he's high enough for insulin at all.

You might want to try a dose of 0.1. We want him to spend as much time in normal numbers as possible so that's 2.8-6.7.

If you're able to test and have plenty of supplies, I'd shoot the 0.1 if he's above 6.7 BUT it will be important for you to get at least 1 mid-cycle test on the AM cycle (around +5 to +7) and at least a "before bed" test on the PM cycle...every night!
upload_2021-5-9_23-12-15.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-5-9_23-12-15.png
    upload_2021-5-9_23-12-15.png
    78.8 KB · Views: 370
We actually want to keep them on insulin as long as it's safely possible so the pancreas rests for as long as possible. We want a strong remission, not necessarily a fast one!

You have a lot of empty AMPS and PMPS cells so it will be important to always test before you feed/shoot to make sure he's high enough for insulin at all.

You might want to try a dose of 0.1. We want him to spend as much time in normal numbers as possible so that's 2.8-6.7.

If you're able to test and have plenty of supplies, I'd shoot the 0.1 if he's above 6.7 BUT it will be important for you to get at least 1 mid-cycle test on the AM cycle (around +5 to +7) and at least a "before bed" test on the PM cycle...every night!
View attachment 60860

Thank you. That's very helpful. I will try to make sure I get all the BG readings from now as per your advice. I take it, I should not shoot if he's below 6.7?
 
We actually want to keep them on insulin as long as it's safely possible so the pancreas rests for as long as possible. We want a strong remission, not necessarily a fast one!

You have a lot of empty AMPS and PMPS cells so it will be important to always test before you feed/shoot to make sure he's high enough for insulin at all.

You might want to try a dose of 0.1. We want him to spend as much time in normal numbers as possible so that's 2.8-6.7.

If you're able to test and have plenty of supplies, I'd shoot the 0.1 if he's above 6.7 BUT it will be important for you to get at least 1 mid-cycle test on the AM cycle (around +5 to +7) and at least a "before bed" test on the PM cycle...every night!
View attachment 60860
Thank you @Chris & China (GA)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top