How did you get your cats OTJ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

static

Member Since 2010
I would love to get Dale OTJ but his numbers just seem to jump up and down. I have tried more pricey foods lately like Merrick and Wellness. It seems maybe Merrick was working best and maybe I need to stick with one food for longer. He has been on Lantus for a little over a year. It just seems to me that if a more expensive food isn't doing it, I don't want to spend that extra money and would rather go back to something less costly if he is going to need the insulin. Any tips?
 
Hi I can't explain to much right now, gotta go eat and get ready for bed.

Please post on the Lantus forum, there are many who can help you there.

Looking at your spreadsheet tells me why you have not gone OTJ. You are "dose hopping" changing the dose to often, and you don't have enough testing to really see what the insulin is doing. Lantus is different than other insulins and you cannot adjust the dose with each shot based on 1 number you need to find a dose by starting low and making tiny increases every 3-6 days. On the Lantus forum you will find a protocol that we follow. 85% of cats who follow this do get OTJ.
 
Hi and welcome to FDMB :mrgreen:

Not sure if you have called into Lantus forum, so will reply here anyway.

I can see what Monique is saying but also want to point out (cos I'm guessing you've been thrown by the sudden jump in numbers).
I wouldn't put it down necessarily to kitty's food.

He went missing for a week-which means he went with out shots for a week? That would also mean that his shed emptied. Lantus builds up a shed over time (like a petrol tank-forgive me if I'm teaching you to suck eggs), which means it can carry on working beyond 12 hours.

Lucky had an excellent shed and on a few occasions (this is not recommended) had no choice in terms of her stress levels but to miss a shot (rather than go in vets for a w/e and be shot with people using welding gloves!! for 3 days).She could still hold her numbers as if she hadn't missed a shot.
Must say, this is extremely rare.

My point is, that your kitty's shed of insulin may have kept him going and the climb up hasn't been too quick.
I would stick with the .75u for at least another 2 days. Try and get the preshot tests and one or two between 4-6 hours (appreciate beans have to work but maybe you don't work week ends so at least would have tomorrow?).Your looking for kitty's nadir (lowest bg number in a 12 hour cycle) this is what you base his dosing needs on, not the pre shot number (this comes into play if kitty throws a low number and you need to delay shot or give a reduced dose-depends on number, bean life, kitty etc)

Then beans in LL (maybe you if your confident? again not being condescending, we get a lot of lurkers here who never post but take info away.Ethos of this board is to never cause harm to any kitty :-D )can help advise ypur next step.
Plus! we're a friendly bunch :mrgreen:
 
I see you have posted in the Lantus forum and have recieved some answers and good information there. I think you have a good chance at getting Dale into remission. It will take a little extra work and some time. I will answer your questions in the Lantus forum to avoid confusion here on the main health board with specifics about a particular insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top