Here are some relavant facts:
Male Cat: Buddy, 16 years old
Diagnosed as diabetic: 2006
Insulin History: Vetsulin until it was discontinued, well controlled
Humulin 5 units, 2x a day for 2-3 years, well controlled
November 11,2012: Had a hypoglecemic episode out of the blue (BG down to 20) and was hospitalized
Since the hypo episode on November 11 of this year, the vets decreased his Humulin to 3 units, twice a day, but he crashed again. So they decided Humulin just isn't a good choice for him any more.
December 4, 2012: Started on Lantus, 1 unit twice a day
December 11, 2012: Increased Lantus to 1.5 Units, twice a day
I've been doing some glucose testing at home and his numbers remain so high. Seems like the get higher instead of lower.
I'm using Alpha Trak II and average reading since I started giving Lantus is 480....even after I increase to 1.5 units twice a day, the BG readings are sometimes in 500's.
This is torture; I;m a nervous wreck.....I hate doing the BG readings because each time it seems that they are higher. I'm having a 3rd Blood Glucose curve done today. My vet said she might also contact an internal medicine specialist at the vet school to see what they recommend.
She did tests for Cushings, ultrasound for tumors and they all came back negative.
He is lethargic, but is still eating pretty well.
It's so strange that he was well regulated for years and all of a sudden this happens.
I feel like his numbers would be the same whether I gave him the insulin or not.
Need encouragement.... :sad:
Susan
Male Cat: Buddy, 16 years old
Diagnosed as diabetic: 2006
Insulin History: Vetsulin until it was discontinued, well controlled
Humulin 5 units, 2x a day for 2-3 years, well controlled
November 11,2012: Had a hypoglecemic episode out of the blue (BG down to 20) and was hospitalized
Since the hypo episode on November 11 of this year, the vets decreased his Humulin to 3 units, twice a day, but he crashed again. So they decided Humulin just isn't a good choice for him any more.
December 4, 2012: Started on Lantus, 1 unit twice a day
December 11, 2012: Increased Lantus to 1.5 Units, twice a day
I've been doing some glucose testing at home and his numbers remain so high. Seems like the get higher instead of lower.
I'm using Alpha Trak II and average reading since I started giving Lantus is 480....even after I increase to 1.5 units twice a day, the BG readings are sometimes in 500's.
This is torture; I;m a nervous wreck.....I hate doing the BG readings because each time it seems that they are higher. I'm having a 3rd Blood Glucose curve done today. My vet said she might also contact an internal medicine specialist at the vet school to see what they recommend.
She did tests for Cushings, ultrasound for tumors and they all came back negative.
He is lethargic, but is still eating pretty well.
It's so strange that he was well regulated for years and all of a sudden this happens.
I feel like his numbers would be the same whether I gave him the insulin or not.
Need encouragement.... :sad:
Susan