Houston TX Diabetes Vets

Status
Not open for further replies.
If you want to swap to glargine we can help you with dosing. No problems there. If you have been using Prozinc for 3 years and have had no success with it, I would recommend you swap to glargine.
I would also recommend you follow one of our dosing methods no matter which insulin you use. Vets tend to be a lot more hit and miss with dosing, increase in much larger amounts and don’t test often enough to keep the kitty safe. Just watching for clinical signs of a hypo risks the cat dropping very low before one is aware.
 
If you are swapping vets to change insulins, you don’t need to talk about how you are going to proceed with the dosing. Or you can just nod your head if he talks about loose dosing and then follow our dosing method. It is up to you. Or you can say you want to follow a set dosing method. Andie is your cat and you pay the vet for advice. It is up to you if you want to follow that advice. The vet can’t make you.
If you swap to Lantus/glargine, we have 2 dosing methods that are easy to follow.
Once you have a spreadsheet and we can see some data we can help you with dosing and how to proceed with late nadirs. At the moment we have no data to see and we can’t offer dosing advice.
The AMPS and the PMPS are 12 hours apart. If Andie is having late nadirs at +2 in the following cycle, that is how it is recorded. Once we can see some data we will be able to help you more.
 
Sorry guys I'm not getting my tags. I do not personally use memorial cat hospital but I have heard nothing but great things!

My vet is good but I always had same trouble with dosing methods. She decided to leave me alone when she discovered his numbers were very well regulated. Like most I just nod and then used dosing methods here
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top