Hospitalized and Needing Prayers

Status
Not open for further replies.
Totally agree, being in a comfortable environment could be really good for Chester. I'll defer to folks like Cassandra with post-DKA experience to recommend a specific list of things you should have ready at home if you want, like ketone test strips, probably Cerenia (for nausea), maybe an appetite stimulant, Hill's A/D canned food with a feeding syringe (it is high calorie and smooth so easy to water down and syringe feed), subq fluids, etc. Let us know if you need that.

It's been a while since this journey started for you, and I don't remember if you actually ever got started testing Chester's BG at home, do you have all of that? If you need shopping lists for the regular store too, let us know.

And many of us have experienced syringe feeding, BG testing of course, giving subcutaneous fluids, and almost anything else you'll need in your "toolbox" for helping Chester at home, so just ask and I am sure someone will chime in.

Hugs from me and Whispy!

Best,
Sandi.
:bighug: :bighug:
 
Yes, I am very open to ideas and suggestions as we make sure he doesn’t have a relapse or complications. I’m still very nervous about that.

Cerenia for nausea, ondansetron (Zofran, human med) also good to have, ketone test strips, lots of clean towels are helpful, a long spoon to help you catch pee or a small clean Tupperware or whatever works for you, cotton balls, a good stock of test strips, supplies for subcutaneous fluids someone else would need to expand on**, mirtazapine for appetite just in case, hand sanitizer!, enough syringes, a really varied collection of types of carbs percentages is super nice.... -a high carb with gravy in case of low blood sugar, a little bit of mid-carb to make life easy but you can always mix high and low to math out mid-carb so not as important, a magical super tempting treat for loss of appetite times, lots of low carb wet food in stock especially if your cat has an increased appetite at any point in their diabetes, if they have weakness using the box then a covered box, or making your own safe set up, or smaller area to nurse them in rather than run of the whole house until they have more strength..... Alice haas had a bathroom “hospital” which is also helpful because the sink is easily accessible. You may be staying up more for more testing and feeding so make a comfy spot to take naps in and get them as often as you can, simply as a matter of pure basic functional need as caregiver.
Ways of organizing supplies, also helpful. Little baskets, drawers, cubbies. Making some things easily accessible, like having spoon/cup and ketone strips stored near litter box. Increased urine output may mean a bucket with a lid lined with a bag, like a diaper pail basically, could make your life easier. Alice went through a LOT of litter for awhile.

I was really scared to bring her back home after the hospital and everything and take it all back over on my own again, but I did it, we did it, and she kept showing me she could fight and improve and I just needed to give her a little support.

I went through more dishes so I had to keep up with dishes faster.... also went through towels and blankets more. I started doing towels in layers and putting a towel under her food bowl because when I mush the pate with water she tends to make a sloppy mess of it.
Lysol wipes make some cleanup easier. Convenience as much as you can afford it will help you a lot of you are not getting much sleep. Plan your meals ahead or get easy stuff if needed.

These are just some random different things from what I went through. They may not all apply but maybe something in there will help, and I know others will add.

It’s really confusing and scary at first but you’re the parent and you’re going to be able to handle this!!!
Insulin, food, lots of fluids, and eradication of any infection, that’s basically what you do, with lots of home testing when you’re able. :)
 
Hope Chester got to come home. I too am dealing with high BG and ketones. Waiting for our vet to call. Been feeding him pate with lots of water with it and whenever he wants to eat, he eats. He first had high ketones two weeks ago and now once again. I am hoping he doesn't have pancreatitis. Was given an antibiotic, SQ fluids and change in insulin from Vetsulin to Prozinc two weeks ago. He was diagnosed with diabetes May 17 2019 and we are still searching for the correct dose. I am ready to cry with the stress of all of this as I am sure you were. Gotta try to stay strong. It's hard. :(
 
Hope Chester got to come home. I too am dealing with high BG and ketones. Waiting for our vet to call. Been feeding him pate with lots of water with it and whenever he wants to eat, he eats. He first had high ketones two weeks ago and now once again. I am hoping he doesn't have pancreatitis. Was given an antibiotic, SQ fluids and change in insulin from Vetsulin to Prozinc two weeks ago. He was diagnosed with diabetes May 17 2019 and we are still searching for the correct dose. I am ready to cry with the stress of all of this as I am sure you were. Gotta try to stay strong. It's hard. :(
You must be so tired, too!!!
Hang in there, you will see the light at the end!
Vetsulin often does not regulate well enough. I used NPH with Alice and she did not improve until I switched to Lantus. Hopefully the Prozinc will do the trick for you.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

So many of us have been where each of you are now and come out okay on the other side. But it is stressful and exhausting at times.
 
I'll recycle some recent threads that are good. This is one of Cassandra and Alice's threads, so even though she responded above (thanks!) it covers some things not addressed here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/home-care-after-dka.212964/

And this one is fairly recent and a good read too:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/any-experience-with-aftercare-for-dka.211903/

Is Chester back at the vet tonight, or home with you? And we can keep calling you Chester's Dad, but let us know if you want to share your first name or nickname.

Best,
Sandi..
 
@Sandi & Whisper great searching! I forgot how full that old thread was! Both are great and @Kris & Teasel had a good bulletin point list I remember helped me organize my brain much better! Now I am bookmarking them for later to re-read. :)

I am going into my ninth year caring for a diabetic cat (Whispy is our second one), but I learn things (or RELEARN them, thanks to my old brain forgetting them) all the time by reading and rereading posts even if I wasn't participating in them.

So glad your Alice is doing well!
 
His BG was in the 290s most of the day yesterday. Last night after dinner and his shot it started creeping up, until hour six it was 371. This morning pre-shot was 461! Very worried.
 
Last edited:
His BG was in the 290s most of the day yesterday. Last night after dinner and his shot it started creeping up, until hour six it was 371. This morning pre-shot was 461! Very worried.
Take a deep breath! Regulation takes time.

Alice was diagnosed diabetic about 9 months ago, I tried to treat her with something shorter acting like you did too, they just didn’t work right for us! A longer-acting insulin will start regulating him as long as you can keep fluids and food and insulin in him. :)
My cat is like a brand new cat, now. But I remember all the panic every time I saw red and black readings. (400+). Turns out she made it through those moments okay. Feed low carb food and just keep getting food and water and insulin to him.
:bighug:
 
Can we get you to set up a spreadsheet for Chester? It would be much easier for us to help you if we can see "the big picture" of what Chester's BG is doing.
HERE are the instructions for setting up the spreadsheet and THIS document explains how to use the spreadsheet. If you need assistance setting this up, just holler.
Is Chester eating of his own accord? Is he eating normal amount or less than normal? Is he getting lots of fluid? Have you checked his ketones again since his return home?
 
You must be so tired, too!!!
Hang in there, you will see the light at the end!
Vetsulin often does not regulate well enough. I used NPH with Alice and she did not improve until I switched to Lantus. Hopefully the Prozinc will do the trick for you.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

So many of us have been where each of you are now and come out okay on the other side. But it is stressful and exhausting at times.
Talked to our vet and he doesn't believe the ketone meter which I had just received. Actually he didn't know there was a blood meter to test for ketones. The meter said High which meant according to the booklet over 600! I did a urine pee test Saturday night (he's an inside outside cat) and he was normal. The next am he had high sugar but started coming down. Next morning I used the ketone meter I had just received and he tested high. I freaked out and called our vet. Mango is eating well and not acting differently.
His BG was in the 290s most of the day yesterday. Last night after dinner and his shot it started creeping up, until hour six it was 371. This morning pre-shot was 461! Very worried.
Mango and I had a bad day yesterday and our vet assured me that we will have those wild days now and them and it's expected. I have to take a deep breath and since Mango isn't showing any signs of distress I shouldn't either! Hard to do.
 
@Marianne M Just noticed the ketone test result today and I certainly don't want to increase your concern but any reading over 2.4 on the ketone meter is cause for concern with kitties. I'm not sure how high ketones have to get on the meter for symptoms to show up but I would keep checking frequently and get Mango to the vet immediately if his appetite dwindles even a tiny bit. I would suggest you post in Health with a ? about ketone meter readings and symptoms presenting to get more information. Ketones can turn into DKA very quickly so this isn't anything you want to be slow to deal with.
 
@Marianne M Just noticed the ketone test result today and I certainly don't want to increase your concern but any reading over 2.4 on the ketone meter is cause for concern with kitties. I'm not sure how high ketones have to get on the meter for symptoms to show up but I would keep checking frequently and get Mango to the vet immediately if his appetite dwindles even a tiny bit. I would suggest you post in Health with a ? about ketone meter readings and symptoms presenting to get more information. Ketones can turn into DKA very quickly so this isn't anything you want to be slow to deal with.
Thanks Linda I spoke with our vet yesterday (i freaked out with the reading I got) after using our new blood ketone meter and he was didn't believe the meter reading. Told him last Saturday night I got a pee sample and tested with a ketone stick and it was negative then two days later a high reading with the blood ketone meter. He felt since it is a human meter, it hasn't been tested for use with a cat so he would disregard the results. He feels that Mango is just fine since he is eating fine and not acting ill. I did start feeding him more often with watered down pate. Vet told he to go back to 2.75 Units of Prozinc for seven days and do a curve for him to see. He is more concerned about his blood sugar getting to low! He also said that since Mango having high BG reading it doesn't go alone with high ketones levels? Ever hear that before? The more I get into this the more confused I seem to get!:confused:
 
Chester’s bloodwork is okay, but he becoming more anemic. The vet discovered an enlarged kidney, and she thinks it might be cancer.
 
@Chester’s Dad Glad to hear bloodwork is Ok. Are you referring to ketones/BG? While an enlarged kidney could be cancer, there are other explanations too that are not so ominous. Did the vet recommend an ultrasound? How is Chester doing today? How are you doing?

ETA Sorry for the hijack of your thread.
 
@Marianne M I really think we should take your situation over to Health in a separate conversation so we can keep the details of each kitty separate and not confuse anyone. Can you please start another thread on Health and I will respond there. Thank you. :)
 
Praying for Chester and you. He is in the best place he can be right now getting the treatment he needs. Cats are very tough animals and you’d be surprised what they can overcome. I will be praying and asking God to put his healing hands on Chester. Please keep us updated. <3
 
Chester’s bloodwork is okay, but he becoming more anemic. The vet discovered an enlarged kidney, and she thinks it might be cancer.
Am just reading on here first time, and just want to let you know that my husband Patrick and I join in prayers for your precious Chester and you, and your family. It's so very, very hard to go through this (as we know too well), and your love for Chester shows clearly in all al your posts. May God bless you all
 
Thank you all for the kind concern. Chester is recuperating at home now. He’s eating with a great appetite and getting some much-deserved love and rest. He’s on a potassium supplement and an oral antibiotic. We are still going to have to see if his anemia has eased up.

His BG has finally come down to the high 200s pre-shot just tonight, so we lowered his post-DKA dosage of ProZinc tonight from 3 units to 1.5 (it was 1.0 before the DKA episode).

As for the enlarged kidney, the obvious explanation of cancer is very frightening, but it would require taking him to a specialist just to confirm. And I’m not sure I want to put him through that right now, considering how bleak the treatment options would be. If it’s something less sinister like a complication of the UTI, then hopefully the four antibiotics he’s been on will fight it.
 
Last edited:
This is SO good to hear. Was getting a little concerned about you and Chester. I think you are making a good decision about the kidney for now. Let Chester recuperate and see how things go.:)
 
Yay!!! Good news! Agreed, no need to stress about the kidney right now.

If you end up having specific questions about anything going on with Chester, starting a new thread would probably be in order at this point. Questions about infections, kidneys, anemia, etc would go in the Health forum, while any questions about dosing would go in Lantus (and having a spreadsheet avail with your testing results would be necessary at that time for us to give informed opinions). Remember that we are all ultra-involved kitty parents so questions aren't limited to only diabetes related, or even feline related for that matter :p

Such a great way to end the day, thx for the update! :bighug:
 
Thank you all for the kind concern. Chester is recuperating at home now. He’s eating with a great appetite and getting some much-deserved love and rest. He’s on a potassium supplement and an oral antibiotic. We are still going to have to see if his anemia has eased up.

His BG has finally come down to the high 200s pre-shot just tonight, so we lowered his post-DKA dosage of ProZinc tonight from 3 units to 1.5 (it was 1.0 before the DKA episode).

As for the enlarged kidney, the obvious explanation of cancer is very frightening, but it would require taking him to a specialist just to confirm. And I’m not sure I want to put him through that right now, considering how bleak the treatment options would be. If it’s something less sinister like a complication of the UTI, then hopefully the four antibiotics he’s been on will fight it.
Praying all stays peaceful. I'm sure he's in bliss just being home surrounded by that love ~~
 
I am so glad Chester is home and eating well and getting lots of love!!
Sending many vines that the kidney issue resolves.
Are you testing for ketones?
 
Hurray Chester is home. :cat::) Me and Mango wish you both continued better days ahead. We will be thinking of you both.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top