HOPPING FOR GREENS

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
I want to work out a way for Corky's body to get use to Green BG's without getting crazy high Bg's afterwards, I am nervously enough, but prepared for the change if necessary, his wellbeing is the most important thing for my Corky ;):bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
If you look at Corky’s spreadsheet and see when he went green recently and then see what happened afterwards— he doesn’t go crazy high. The most he’s had is yellows and usually they aren’t any higher than a mid yellow. It’s not bad at all.
 
And the only way to get a cat used to green is for them to spend more time in green.

So, if Corky was to stay in greens? there would be no insulin shots?? especially on AMPS/PMPS? or otherwise? from reading the ProZinc protocols, anything under the 100's we should hold the dose, if this is so, I just want to be certain that I can be comfortable with greens during AMPS/PMPS, and I won't go insane trying to post you guys as an emergency, since I have gone crazy when he even gets close to that time and he's getting low 100's, I don't want to be alone if I have those doubts, and obviously I would leave him alone under any circumstances, since he's insulin kicks in at the +4 hour:nailbiting:
 
Hi Maria. Eventually members learn to shoot greens. That’s why we have the “Balls of Steel” award for when you shoot your first green. Bit seriously, by the time greens are being shot in a ProZinc kitty, the dose is normally very low - like .25 or even lower. It’s a bit different with Lantus or Levemir.
 
Anyway, if Corky doesn’t see any green soon (in another day or so) you may want to increase his dose as his nadirs are creeping up.
 
Anyway, if Corky doesn’t see any green soon (in another day or so) you may want to increase his dose as his nadirs are creeping up.
ok ! I don't know if I have or can get the BALLS OF STEEL, but if that's what has to be done, how low can the green get for Corky since after dose takes effect he can tend to spiral down on +4 / WOW that is BALLS OF STEEL, what would his dose be then 1.25u?
 
ok ! I don't know if I have or can get the BALLS OF STEEL, but if that's what has to be done, how low can the green get for Corky since after dose takes effect he can tend to spiral down on +4 / WOW that is BALLS OF STEEL, what would his dose be then 1.25u?
Why don’t you just try fattening Corky’s dose tomorrow morning. If he doesn’t respond after 6 cycles or so, then you can go to 1.25. Okay?
 
Did you do it? What was his AMPS?
AMPS 217 but the Fat dose did not work, or I did not insert enoughinsulin in the needle, I filled under the 1.0 maybe one more drop, I will do the same again tonight perhaps adding a few more drops, you are right he needs greens, is about time he stays there most of the time, if you have a syringe diagram showing the possible 1.0Fat dose it would be great, I have all the other syringe diagrams for all the syringes I have , I have a DRs appointment and need some grocery items, should be home by 1:30-3:00 PM, he is safe, this way I will be open for the rest of the week and the next if you decide to increase 0.25u:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
You mean you filled it just a little over the 1 unit mark (not under as it says above?). I just want to confirm that you would draw the syringe just slightly past the 1 unit mark.

no under the 1.0 and for +10 he's @ 206, might be my observation, but I do not like he's numbers today AT ALL! What do you recommend? if I add more insulin into the syringe I will get to 1.25u, should I dose 1.25 for PMPS?:(:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I don’t think we are necessarily communicating about the over and under. Perhaps we need to use different words. There’s too much room for error. In drawing the fat 1 unit you would pull the plunger to just PAST (beyond) the 1 unit line. Right? So that it’s just a little more than the 1 unit but not quite as far as 1.25.

I would be a little bit more patient and do the Fat 1 unit again tonight. Even with ProZinc you sometimes need to wait a little bit before seeing the effect of a dose increase.
 
I don’t think we are necessarily communicating about the over and under. Perhaps we need to use different words. There’s too much room for error. In drawing the fat 1 unit you would pull the plunger to just PAST (beyond) the 1 unit line. Right? So that it’s just a little more than the 1 unit but not quite as far as 1.25.

you are right I am not communicating properly, and yes that is the amount of insulin I gave Corky on AMPS, but it made no difference in his BG today, so my question is, should I continue the Fat dose for PMPS? or increase PMPS to 1.25 for 6:00 PM?:confused: I have 1/2 hour to make that decision
 
Continue with the fat dose for tonight, please, Maria.

(Note to anyone following this thread and Corky’s dosing in particular, these recommendations are customized to Corky and Maria and would most likely not be what I would recommend for another ProZinc kitty.)
 
Continue with the fat dose for tonight, please, Maria.

(Note to anyone following this thread and Corky’s dosing in particular, these recommendations are customized to Corky and Maria and would most likely not be what I would recommend for another ProZinc kitty.)

Got it, and thank you for your note, because I did read suggestions and the word kitty.
I really appreciate very much what you noted. I will continue with the Fat dose. Thank you so much Suzanne for watching out for Corky We don't know what we would do without you:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
And it’s definitely not your fault how we are communicating. It occurred to me that it makes sense how you said you drew the insulin to just under the 1 unit mark. You meant the position of the plunger was just under (as in underneath, below) the 1 mark, which makes perfect sense. You’re right, we needed a photo of the syringe! But we are on the same page now so it’s all good!
 
No green yet, but we will see what happens after a couple more cycles and see if he needs the full increase to 1.25. A blue preshot tonight would be nice. Did you hear that Corky?
 
No green yet, but we will see what happens after a couple more cycles and see if he needs the full increase to 1.25. A blue preshot tonight would be nice. Did you hear that Corky?
Yes ndeed, don’t want to jinks it but I think we are getting at least 1 green, we’ll see alway hopeful:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Good Morning, well, this morning I increase Corky's dose to 1.25m hope I did the right thing
 
Don’t be upset. It’s just most likely New Dose Wonkiness. He has had two different increases in a few days. I always had NDW on the second day after an increase, but some cats will get it right away.
 
no, no green but 121BG / 10:15PM disappointed, want me to go AMP 1.25u? that would be 1.0 first line and 2nd small line another.025?
I am not sure I understand this. U-40 syringes usually have half unit marks. So there are marks for each whole unit (1, 2, etc.) and another mark halfway between the 1, 2, etc. So if you want to draw a quarter unit (such as a 1.25 dose) you have to eyeball it as best you can between the 1 mark and the half mark.
 
I am not sure I understand this. U-40 syringes usually have half unit marks. So there are marks for each whole unit (1, 2, etc.) and another mark halfway between the 1, 2, etc. So if you want to draw a quarter unit (such as a 1.25 dose) you have to eyeball it as best you can between the 1 mark and the half mark.
Yes, you are correct after the 1 mark, I go 1/4 down, I have the syringe picture with all the markings, it’s funny on PMPSh had 204 BG . Corky just loves to unsettle me that’s for sure have an awesome weekend, I will not step foot outside it’s sooo hot it’s 99 degrees and 100% humidity, it’s awe full, I love my 70 degrees home:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Okay. Sounds good. I’ll have to get through Friday before the weekend begins. We’re supposed to have lower humidity for a few days this weekend. I hope so.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top