Honey pmps 188,+6 322, +9 371

Status
Not open for further replies.

Denise & Honey

Member Since 2012
eek - I took bg and thought it was 288 !
I know I shouldn't shoot under 200.
Shot and test was about 20 mins early.

She has had little to eat since early afternoon as she's been out sunbathing.
I gave her .5 FF at amps + 9 as she was so hungry.

When I realised my mistake, I gave her 1 tsp Friskies with gravy in her 1 can FF.

Not sure how quickly the insulin gets into her system - it seemed slow this morning but then her amps was high.
Should I test in 1 hour or 2 - assume if its holding steady/slow decrease its ok but if dropping quickly give her more carbs?
or should I give her more carbs now?

Previous Condo
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, gave 1 u !!

Denise

First, take a deep breath. You shot a safe number and you didn't shoot too much insulin. No, you don't quite have the data we like to see to have you shoot your first blue number but it's ok.

Please get a +1 and post it. You can take the 911 off. I'll be watching for you.

How long since you shot and fed?
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, gave 1 u !!

thanks for stepping in! This is so scarey!

+1 127

pmps at 8:45
shot 9pm ish - she ate 1 FF with 1tsp friskies with gravy
+1 - she ate a couple of tsp friskies pate with .5 tsp friskies with gravy

She's acting like a kitten at the moment, running around with a ball, chasing the other cats - I haven't seen her like this in years!
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, gave 1 u !!, +1 127

I'm glad she's feeling well.

Normally, we would expect to see a higher number at +1 due to a food spike.

We may be at this a while tonight. What we want to do is try and slow her down. She was clearing a bounce and the number you shot was likely dropping. She will also likely onset here quickly. So I'd like you to retest her 30 mins from when she ate at +1 ok? Just post and I will be here.

We will need to be careful about feeding too much...she will get full. Next time you test, if she's dropped more, give her a couple tsp of gravy.

See you shortly.
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, gave 1 u !!, +1 127, +1.5 92

just gave her the gravy - I need to open more cans to get more.
I also have some kibble - Purina Cat Chow
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, gave 1 u !!, +1 127, +1.5 92

Ok...still coming down fast.

No kibble for her. It doesn't work fast enough and then it hangs around a long time.

How bout one tsp of the HC with gravy and retest in 30 mins ok?

See you in 30. Is she doing ok? She is probably is for alot of two tonight.
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, gave 1 u !!, +1 127, +1.5 92

She is at a very safe number but she is coming down and it's soooo early in the cycle. :-D

Standing by for +2.
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, gave 1 u !!, +1 127, +1.5 92, +2 75

gave 1tsp gravy about 15 mins before bg.
Took longer as she wouldn't come out from under the bed.

She's now locked in the bathroom!
She still seems fine - no symptoms
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, gave 1 u !!, +1 127, +1.5 92, +2 75

She won't have any symptoms at this number and typically, you rarely see symptoms in cats on lantus even in the 30s. Of course, we don't want her there.

Can you please feed her a good size tsp of the HC with some gravy and test at +2.5? She should onset soon and might drop more so let's try and get ahead of it.

See you soon. And you doing ok? Breathing? Having a piece of chocolate? :-D :-D
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, gave 1 u !!, +1 127, +1.5 92, +2 75

getting annoyed at my other cats that keep trying to eat her treat or her gravy while I'm testing :-x
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, gave 1 u !!, +1 127, +1.5 92, +2 75, +2.

Good good!

Onset is when the shot you just gave kicks in. Here's what a typical lantus curve looks like:

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

Ok...lets give her just a tsp of LC food and test at +3. It's important to stay on top of the numbers because HC gravy wears off after about 1-2 hours and numbers can fall. We want to try and boost her up since you've never shot low before, ok? I don't want you to be up fighting low numbers all night when we don't know much about how she reacts.

It's good to be recording what food you are giving her when and noticing how she is reacting in terms of her BG. It will help you a lot down the road to know how carb sensitive she is.

Recap:
PMPS: 188 1 tsp Friskies gravy with 1 can FF
+1: 127 2 tsp Friskies pâté, 1 tsp gravy
+1.5: 92 1 tsp Friskies gravy
+2: 75 1 tsp HC with gravy
+2.5: 87
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, gave 1 u !!, +1 127, +1.5 92, +2 75, +2.

thanks - I'll try - she's not as keen on eating now !

Would cooked chicken be ok?
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, gave 1 u !!, +1 127, +1.5 92, +2 75, +2.

Cooked chicken doesn't have any carbs. I wanted her to just have a tiny bit of LC food to help keep her BG bumped up before she onsets. However, if she's full, we don't want to push it. You might need to feed more as the cycle progresses.
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, +1 127, +1.5 92, +2 75, +2.5 87, +3 99

she wouldn't touch the FF or friskies.
I tested and her treat is Fancy Feast Appertizers - she gets about a spoonfull.
Hoping they have some carbs.

I've let her out of the bathroom as she was so miserable in there!

And every test I've taken tonight I've used 2 test strips! stress or tiedness??
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, +1 127, +1.5 92, +2 75, +2.5 87, +3 99

How about giving her an hour to test again and if she will eat her treat, that's fine.

See you at +4.
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, +1 127, +1.5 92, +2 75, +2.5 87, +3 99

You're welcome. I'll stay with you until she is up enough to not worry or until our member, Jane, comes on. She's in S Africa so it's daytime there. See you soon...if you can set an alarm and get up and test, that's how most of us manage.
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, +1 127, +1.5 92, +2 75, +2.5 87, +3 99

Good morning, Ladies :mrgreen:

Sorry I'm late, I was cooking a lunch for DH (Darling Husband) as he will be out all day.

Hi Denise, welcome to LL, Jane here :smile:

I tend to take over condos that need some attention or support when I come on, because I'm in Cape Town where it's now a quarter to ten in the morning, and that way Marje, for example, finally gets to have some sleep :lol: (Sorry I came on so late today, Marje!)

You're doing great! Oh, and onset is when the shot of insulin begins its action of bringing down the blood sugar - I only quick-scanned your condo so far and didn't see if you got the answer to that question.

Jane
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, +1 127, +1.5 92, +2 75, +2.5 87, +3 99

Denise

I'm signing off now that Jane is on. You are in good hands with her. We do this frequently and I've given her a quick brief of what we've done. I hope your girl comes up so you can get some rest. I'll check in tomorrow.

Janie...thank you. Check out my post in this condo that has the typcial lantus cycle. Right above that quote is info on onset...but you gave a much better definition. :-D :-D :-D hugs!!

Ni Ni ladies!
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, +1 127, +1.5 92, +2 75, +2.5 87, +3 99

Marje and Gracie said:
Janie...thank you. Check out my post in this condo that has the typcial lantus cycle. Right above that quote is info on onset...but you gave a much better definition. :-D :-D :-D hugs!! Ni Ni ladies!

:lol: Time for a second cup of coffee :mrgreen:

Ni-Ni Queen Marje :-D
Janie Jane
 
Re: Honey pmps 188, +1 127, +1.5 92, +2 75, +2.5 87, +3 99

Denise, any BG update yet? The (+4) Marje mentioned, I mean :smile:

Also, when you get a chance, it will be great if you can update your SS too, alright?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: Honeypmps 188,+1 127,+1.5 92, +2 75,+2.5 87,+3 99,+4 170

hi Jane

thanks for stepping in - Marje was fantastic!!

Just did bg - under bed hiding again so it takes a little longer as I can't reach her.
 
Re: Honeypmps 188,+1 127,+1.5 92, +2 75,+2.5 87,+3 99,+4 170

Denise & Honey said:
Hi Jane, thanks for stepping in - Marje was fantastic!! Just did BG - under bed hiding again so it takes a little longer as I can't reach her.

Yes, Marje *is* fantastic :mrgreen:

That's a very nice BG there at (+4). Here is the RECAP:

PMPS: 188 --- 1 tsp Friskies gravy with 1 can FF
+1: 127 --- 2 tsp Friskies pâté, 1 tsp gravy
+1.5: 92 --- 1 tsp Friskies gravy
+2: 75 --- 1 tsp HC with gravy
+2.5: 87
+3: 99 --- 1 tsp FF Appetizers
+4: 170


Honey went for quite a rapid dive early in the cycle, and she went down into the (healthy healthy lovely lovely) greens.

A very common response to that is what we call a "bounce" - that means, the cat's liver "recognizes" the fast/low drop into an as yet unfamiliar range of BG. It releases counterregulatory hormones and stored sugar (glucagon), to bump up the BG and get the cat out of what the liver "sees" as danger (even though the 70s are where we will *want* Honey to spend a lot of time, when she's ready :smile:)

This - a bounce - is what you are seeing now, with that +4 BG (which is also most likely still boosted a bit more by the all the carbs in the food Honey got).

As for the PLAN:
--- I would re-test in, say 1.5 hours. I would also leave some food out - LC should be alright. Set your alarm, and re-test, and post the number. I will watch for you and we can go from there.

Does that sound good?
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: Honeypmps 188, +1 127, +1.5 92, +2 75, +2.5 87,+3 99,+4

thanks Jane - I'll set the alarm.
I'm soooo tired! I was up at 6am this morning and its now 1:40am - looking forward to sleep!!
 
Re: Honeypmps 188, +1 127, +1.5 92, +2 75, +2.5 87,+3 99,+4

Oh, I hear you on being tired - this sugardance can be very very gruelling!

You are doing a FANTASTIC job with the testing, really well done, Denise! What a lucky kitty Honey is to have such a dedicated mummy!

See you at (+5.5) then. I hope the bit of rest will already help a bit :smile:

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: Honey pmps 188,+5.5 322

I had to edit the subject line as I couldn't fit anymore on!

So, she's up to 322.
Now I'm worried that her bg will go too high!
 
Re: Honey pmps 188,+5.5 322

Denise, great job on getting the test!

Editing the subject line is fine, that's standard procedure to make the latest BG readings show up in it :smile:

Remember what I wrote about a BOUNCE? A few posts up.

This is what's going on. It's a normal reaction to a cat having dropped fast, or low, or simply faster/lower than its system is used to yet. It also tells you the cat's liver is working, which is a good thing. Honey will learn not to bounce hopefully, at some point :smile: Just ignore the bounce-related numbers, meaning, try not to get too upset about them. They will pass, ok?

You are safe to get some more sleep now.

I would try for a (+8), just to have the data.

I would also get a (+11) or (+11.5), just in case, and to know where the next PS (preshot_ is "coming from", ok?

You are doing a great job!

Do you have any questions?
Jane
 
Re: Honey pmps 188,+5.5 322

Thanks for all of your help!
I can get a +8 as 'that's time to get up for work' time :cry:

Do I post that as a new post/day or just add to this one?
 
Re: Honey pmps 188,+6 322

actually, last bg is closer to +6 so changing subject line.

Its got pushed back due to testing in 30 mins from last test and that it takes me a while sometimes to get her for the test.
 
Re: Honey pmps 188,+6 322

I would still post the (+8) in *this* condo.

The new one, I would open with the new AMPS.

Will you be able to get home to get a (+11) or (+11.5), or can your DH (Darling Husband) help out with the testing?

Jane
 
sorry! my 5 yr old son came in with a nose bleed some point in what was left of the night and after dealing with that, I overslept!

She just had a couple of bits of FF LC as well.
 
Morning Denise and Jane

Great job last night! Jane is awesome and you did really well, Denise. I'm sure you are exhausted. Welcome to feline disbetes :-D

One thing I want to review is the way I had you handle last nights cycle. Normally, I would not have had you feed HC and gravy at those beautiful numbers....e would have been doing LC.

The reasons I did are:
1. we have so very little data yet on how Honey responds to carbs,
2. you shot a dropping number, we don't know how fast she was dropping, and we don't know if Honey is one, like my Gracie on lantus, that continues to drop or if she gets food spikes...in other words, we don't know enough about her patterns and cycles yet,
3. we don't know yet the full effect of switching from dry to canned. Some of these kitties just come zooming down so we wanted to be sure WE were in control of her cycle.

So next time, and there will be a next time, if you get a number lower than you have shot before and especially if it is around 150, don't feed or shoot, post, and we will walk you through it. We have some other options besides shooting right off the bat and we will work with you to pick the best one.

Of course, trial by fire is always a good learning lesson. :-D

I hope work is not too crazy today! Have a great day, Denise, and of course you too dear Jane!
 
thanks Marje - it was sooo exiting but I'd rather not repeat any time soon!

I started a new post for today's amps
Latest Condo

I couldn't get a +11 or +11.5 due to work committments.
I work from home but have a lot of conference calls.

Honey is doing great - playful, purring and sitting next to me (bedroom is now out of bounds as I've had enough dragging her out from under the bed !)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top