Honey 4/4 AMPS 289, +3 = 427, +6= 476, Bounce?

NyCatMom

Member Since 2020
Hello,

I am not looking for dosing advice but would like to know if what I am seeing is a bounce. Honey has small cell lymphoma (prednisolone/Leukeran treatment recently started) and chronic pancreatitis (latest spec fpl ~15). She had a recent flare up (diarrhea/vomiting) but as her symptoms improved so did her BG levels. I was getting hopeful that we were finally having a breakthrough but today threw me for a loop.

She is being treated by an internist @ Cornell who has asked me not to tinker with her dosing until we get her chemo protocol at the correct levels. He loves the spreadsheet from this forum and will respond to emails based on what he sees. Her last fructosamine test was in the "good" zone ~375 and with the exception of her BG levels, her blood work in March looked great.

Does this look like a bounce from the lower reading this am? Do you typically continue giving the same dose as you work through the bounce?

Thank you all and Happy Easter to those who celebrate
 
Yes, it does look like a bounce from lows she went to in the PM cycle. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear.

We don't give different doses during bounces. Lantus dosing is not based on bounces but on how low the dose takes the cat. We avoid increasing the dose in a cycle when the bounce is breaking since there tends to be additional downward momentum in those cycles.

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/good-fructosamine-levels-bad-daily-readings.244465/
 
Yes, it does look like a bounce from lows she went to in the PM cycle. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear.

We don't give different doses during bounces. Lantus dosing is not based on bounces but on how low the dose takes the cat. We avoid increasing the dose in a cycle when the bounce is breaking since there tends to be additional downward momentum in those cycles.

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/good-fructosamine-levels-bad-daily-readings.244465/


Thank you!!
 
Sorry to hear about the diagnosis. One thing that comes to mind is that you appear to hold the dose for too long - perhaps this has come up before? On SLGS you will want to increase every 7 days or 14 cycles if you don't see better numbers although I understand that the internist may have concerns about not increasing while trying to level out other meds. I'd be tempted to increase anyway...

Also there are almost no night time tests - sometimes our kitties do their best work in the night time hours - nocturnal creatures often favor evening hours for best things...perhaps grab a test just before going to bed - just to see if there's anything going on there? And possibly to develop the habit.

I do hope things will improve for your girl.:bighug:

Happy Easter!
 
Sorry to hear about the diagnosis. One thing that comes to mind is that you appear to hold the dose for too long - perhaps this has come up before? On SLGS you will want to increase every 7 days or 14 cycles if you don't see better numbers although I understand that the internist may have concerns about not increasing while trying to level out other meds. I'd be tempted to increase anyway...

Also there are almost no night time tests - sometimes our kitties do their best work in the night time hours - nocturnal creatures often favor evening hours for best things...perhaps grab a test just before going to bed - just to see if there's anything going on there? And possibly to develop the habit.

I do hope things will improve for your girl.:bighug:

Happy Easter!


The explanation the internist gave me for holding the dose was the fact she's on high steroids now and he plans on tapering her to the lowest possible dose so moving both drugs at the same time complicates things. I get it but it's frustrating. She's still bouncing around the 400's today so I'm going to have to be patient. :cat:
 
How about adding lantus, your meter, and what you are feeding to your signature?


I'll do that this weekend. I usually update her sheet after visits to her internist and we saw him this week. We're changing up her chemo meds as he believes were getting insulin resistant from the lymphoma. She had a kidney infection in March and while she was on two different antibiotics we stopped the Leukeran. Just waiting for full blood panel to come back before we add the Leukeran back in. She's lost some weight and her BG is not well controlled so he finally agreed to let me increase her Lantus. She has a lot going on so its a juggling act.
 
Originally Leukeran and prednisolone but while she was on month long antibiotics she became so nauseous she couldn’t keep the Leukeran down.

My garage looks like a pet supply warehouse filled with all kinds of foods and my dining room is a medicine depot. Lol

As upbeat as the doctors have tried to be, I’m coming to the conclusion she’s a hospice case. She also has a galloping heart and signs of asthma. My focus lately is on her comfort and less on a cure. She still enjoys eating and spending time on our fenced in patio watching the birds with our other cats, so it’s not time for her to leave just yet.

In the meantime, our primary care vet is learning a lot from Cornell so hopefully other patients will benefit from their collaboration.
 
I’m so sorry. You are doing a great job caring for her. I had a cancer kitty whose kidneys were destroyed by a bad infection the oncologist missed. I had to treat her with only prednisolone and support meds. My kitchen was like yours. I felt like a chemist or pharmacist putting together her weekly meds and supplements. She never became diabetic so the prednisolone worked for about 9 months. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I’m so sorry. You are doing a great job caring for her. I had a cancer kitty whose kidneys were destroyed by a bad infection the oncologist missed. I had to treat her with only prednisolone and support meds. My kitchen was like yours. I felt like a chemist or pharmacist putting together her weekly meds and supplements. She never became diabetic so the prednisolone worked for about 9 months. :bighug::bighug::bighug:


I’m so sorry you lost your girl. :( It’s so tough especially when you’ve been nursing them through a long term illness. They say grief is the price we pay for love and I am sure she was very well loved.


I have a 99 yr old mother who lives with me and I’ve learned to question everything. Without a healthcare advocate you’re in real danger. February 2020 Honey started acting “off”. I took her to the clinic but got another vet who said I was over feeding her which was why she had constant diarrhea. We live a few miles from the initial COVID outbreak zone in NY so only emergency care was being provided. Diarrhea wasn’t an emergency, so her diagnosis was delayed for months. I’ve learned to trust my gut and knew the first vet was wrong. I’ve found reading about other people’s experience on this forum very useful. It reinforces my intuition when things aren’t adding up or conversely when I’m overreacting.
 
Back
Top