? Hold Tinka's dose or increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TanyaG

Member Since 2016
Hi all, 3 and a half weeks since diagnosis for Tinka and being on lantus, TR method. We inceased her dose 6 days ago to o.75u x 2 daily then after holding for 3 days (6 cycles) posted for advise and increased her dose to 1u x 2 daily. We have held her on the 1u x 2 daily for 3 days (6 cycles). Her am nadir's are above 200 but below 300 for 3 cycles and her pm nadirs/or +'s (possilbe she could be dropping lower later at night) are under 200 but above 100 for 3 cycles. Do I continue to hold the dose or increase tomorrow morning? Please see my updated SS. Thanks!

Here is my condo from 3 days ago, thanks:)
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dose-increase-pls-advise.170909/
 
I think I'd hold this dose for another cycle or two

When they start to see blue, we usually like to hold them 8-10 cycles and this dose got Tinka down to 113 (6.3) .....and that was a pretty big drop from PMPS so it could have set off a bounce

INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
I think I'd hold this dose for another cycle or two

When they start to see blue, we usually like to hold them 8-10 cycles and this dose got Tinka down to 113 (6.3) .....and that was a pretty big drop from PMPS so it could have set off a bounce

INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Thanks so much Chris for the info and advise, that sounds good. I will hold Tinka's dose for another 2-4 cycles then (total 8-10 cycles) and post again with her values before increasing. Thanks again!
 
Nive to see some blues.:cool:
With those lower blues in the picture I think it might be a good idea to hold the dose for at least 8 cycles and reassess again then.

That's quite a drop tonight, if you're able to it might be interesting to get another test in later on tonight.
 
Nive to see some blues.:cool:
With those lower blues in the picture I think it might be a good idea to hold the dose for at least 8 cycles and reassess again then.

That's quite a drop tonight, if you're able to it might be interesting to get another test in later on tonight.
Thanks Gill, yes def nice to see some blues indeed! I will try get a +5.5 or +6 in tonight for some more data to see how she's doing:) Will also repost tmrw eve after the 8 cycles with her values to reassess. Thanks for your help :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top