Hitchcock's amps#463

Status
Not open for further replies.

dana moore

Active Member
Okay so I woke up this morning checked his sugar it was 463. I decided I was only going to give him one unit again like yesterday because his sugar is higher today than yesterday. He would not eat for me because he's too freaking out about trying to get out of the bathroom or outside because he's an indoor cat and I have them inside. So I had to give him a shot in order to do that I had to give him some hard food which he ate and I give him his antibiotic as well. I had quite the scare last night but thanks to this forum and Sue for helping me we made it although I did not sleep at all last night. I know I need to start a spreadsheet I just don't remember how to do that
 
I think the hard food I gave him lastnight also made his numbers high this morning. I'm gonna have to go buy some more food he may like. He's not to excited about Friskies. They all seem to like Fancy Feast better. Do you use Sheba pate as well? I don't see alot of that recommended.
 
Dana, I know that some folks are feeding Sheba, its not on the food list because the company would not provide the info when asked, but the pate's seem to be low carb... hoping someone that actually uses it will chime in, as I haven't actually tried it, sorry!
 
This is one of the posts from the food list I have linked in my signature... Thanks Chris for the info :D
No, the Sheba foods aren't on the lists because the manufacturer refused to submit the information to Dr. Lisa when she was making up the charts, but the pate's are low carb and fine for our sugarcats

China gets a Sheba snack every once in awhile
 
Take that link and copy it into your signature Dana :) And you'll have to select allow people with the link to view.. its still restricted ;)
 
Last edited:
You need to give us permission to view. Go to the original (which you should save in your Favorites on your computer. In the upper right hand corner, choose Share with Anyone with the Link.
 
Looks good! Good start so far. He has dropped almost 50% at +2 so it may be an active cycle. It is higher than last night's cycle, but keep a watch on him. Although he had a fast, big drop last night, he didn't get into hypo numbers. The high carb might have prevented that. Today, if possible, steer first, if needed, with tiny amounts of regular carb food. Get some gravy for low levels, if needed.
 
He is definitely dropping but in good numbers. It would be nice if we could get him to surf along at this level for a couple hours. How about giving him just a little snack of his regular low carb food?

Is there someone who could run out and get you some gravy Fancy Feast? My thinking is that, if you can use it to steer him if he drops near 50, it is less likely to cause the big bounce that honey and kibble often does.

Remember, no big worries until 50. Just watch and test every hour or so.
 
Let's see how today's cycle shakes out, if he never drops super low, but just has the early drop, one unit might be okay. If he drops into double digits, and you won't be home, then lowering the dose might be wise.

Collect the data first. Then we can make good decisions based on it.

You are doing fine - remember to breathe.
 
119 3+ should I give some hard food now or wait?
Let's see how today's cycle shakes out, if he never drops super low, but just has the early drop, one unit might be okay. If he drops into double digits, and you won't be home, then lowering the dose might be wise.Collect the data first. Then we can make good decisions based on it. You are doing fine - remember to breathe.
(Sorry, I posted on the older thread; hadn't had all my :coffee::coffee::coffee: yet, so didn't see this one at first.:p) I know it's hard not to be nervous, but you're collecting good data here ... so try not to be too nervous. That +3 drop is okay, and you still have plenty of wiggle room; I'd test again in 30-45 min. from that +3 test-time, and post it here.

You don't want to be whipping out the high-carb food the minute you see him start dropping to steer him with UNLESS he's really low (like nearing 50 on the meter) because a little of the low-carb will usually steer him back into a nice "surfing" number. So ... say he's at 65-70 at your next test time. About 0.75 oz of his usual low-carb food should bring him back up a enough within about the next 30 minutes.

Dana, can you tell us what his main meals consist of (brand & formula) and what that dry food you have there is (also brand/formula?)
Thanks!:) I know he didn't want the canned this morning, but how much of it do you normally feed at his pre-shot times?
 
Steering with food is something of a balancing act: You want to bring his number into a nice, safe mid to upper green #s range - and usually the low-carb will do the trick. We try to reserve the high-carb stuff (I call that high-carb &/or Karo "the big guns") for only those times when he's dropping down into those really-low #s; otherwise, the spikes from eating high carbs can start making your data harder to interpret.
 
You're doing great Dana! As Robin and Sue said 50 is the number we worry at. You want to bring numbers down, just not too low.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top