hitchcock amps 430 should I do 1 unit????

Status
Not open for further replies.
I gave between .5 and maybe a little more not 1 unit. I guess well see where this takes us and if I should go to 1 unit this pm.
 
I gave between .5 and maybe a little more not 1 unit.
So you're saying that he got a dose some where between a "fat" 0.5 and 0.75, is that right? I agree with Sue - should discuss it here tonight before dosing.

Even though he only got 0.5 dose last night, his AMPS this morning was, in fact, lower than his AMPS the day before. Hitchcock may still be bouncing some, though.

I know it's hard to be patient when you see a high pre-shot number, but keep in mind that he's also still fighting off an infection --- and the antibiotic isn't an instant fix; it takes some time for that to work.
 
This is a much better, less-extreme drop here at mid-cycle today, so I'm pleased to see it. I figure if he's already fighting off an infection (with the help of the Clavamox), it's probably better to take it kind of "slow & easy" on the dosing. (Gee, I still can't help shuddering :nailbiting: when I think of what could have happened if you had not decided against the vet-recommended dose when you gave him his ProZinc at home ... thank goodness you followed your "spidey-sense!")

How many days is Hitchcock supposed to stay on the Clavamox; I'm assuming it'll be until he's finished it, so that's about ... 10 days worth altogether?
 
So it's not good to go from 400 to 80 in 3-4 hours? I was concerned with it still being high but if you say it's better it go down slowly then going to 80 fast I guess that's good. Wondering what I should do tonight? I guess we'll wait and see how high it is. I have to work tomorrow and my husband will be at school so I'm really concerned for that. I will be giving his dose around 6 eastern time tonight. Please try and help when I check his #'s. Thank you so much!!!
 
It's not great. The reason is because if he drops that fast, he probably won't feel well. Sudden sharp drops like that really don't feel good. Also, it can cause a bounce. Gentle drops and rises keep kitty feeling okay and should mean that they don't bounce back up. That should mean that they'd have lower preshots, so the overall curve goes lower, etc. Make sense? Not sure I'm explaning this great today.

So you shot between .5 and 1 today? Hmmm...you might go with something like that again tonight. Why don't we wait and see what kind of preshot you get first.

I'll TRY to be around then. I'll be out of the house then, though, so I may not be able to connect to the internet. @Robin&BB any chance you'll be around then? I haven't the slightest clue what time that is for you!
 
Wondering what I should do tonight? I guess we'll wait and see how high it is. I have to work tomorrow and my husband will be at school so I'm really concerned for that.
One of our annoying little sayings around here is: "Better too high for a day than too low for a moment." So when you can't be home to monitor his numbers, it's always better to err on the side of safety.

Keep in mind that he's only just started on the ProZinc. And it was a very GOOD thing that you cut that first dose at home in half, and it was also a good thing that you went with a reduction to 0.5 after he dropped so fast and hard. But I have some concerns about adjusting the dose upward again this quickly because he's only just begun ProZinc. We don't have enough data quite yet to know for certain whether an increase is a good idea, because there is that likelihood that he's bouncing. I can tell you that I'm not a big fan of sliding scale-type dosing for every cat, because they're all different - and while some do well that way, others do not. And it's a little early yet for us to know which type of cat Hitchcock is. I agree with @Rachel here:
So you shot between .5 and 1 today? Hmmm...you might go with something like that again tonight.

Yes, let's see what his PMPS is tonight, then we'll figure that out.

Please don't let what you're seeing right now in this cycle get you down, Dana. He's actually doing pretty darned well at the moment. Do I think he's bouncing a little at pre-shot time from that steep drop he'd experienced in the earlier cycle? Yes, I do.

And I also know that until his infection has fully cleared, that will affect his numbers, too
. You do NOT want to go too fast with the insulin, even if you don't like seeing pinks and yellows right now. Getting him regulated is a marathon rather than a sprint, so you'll need to take a few deep, slow breaths and let them out slowly when you're feeling really stressed by this (sure helps me:)).
 
Awesome! Thanks ladies! I love your advice and I will be in touch in about 2 hours. I gave him the dose at 6:30 but I want to dose around 6. So I will be letting you know. Thank you so much! He's been such a good boy even though he's upset I made him come inside. I just dont' know where he's urinating??? I have 7 cats and litter boxes in 3 rooms. lol. He peed on my mop yesterday. How do I chk for keytones? Do you put peanut shells in the litter box? I have to get some tomorrow. Is there a time limit on the urine sample after they urinate?
 
Probably because he ate. Eating can raise the levels. Plus, he barely went up...with the 20% variance in meters, it's really the same number. I wouldn't worry.
 
It went up again!!? 360 1+ He did eat some.
Dana, what you're seeing here at +1 is a typical rise in BG after eating, that's all - nothing to be concerned about.

For example: I know that after eating 5/8 can of Fancy Feast turkey with giblets pate, my cat will generally spike 50 to 65 pts. higher within the first hour or two after the AMPS/PMPS meal.
And some cats BG # will rise just by anticipating a meal - this is why, when a cat is not quite high enough BG# at pre-shot time, we'll often advise to stall (wait another 20 minutes or so while withholding the food) and then retest the BG #. Because often that number will rise a bit higher --- just because the cat's getting excited about eating.
 
310 2+ It's strange he seems most content at this number. He's all sprawled out on my sofa which is odd and letting me pet him and purring.
 
209 at 3+. Not bad now I just need the 4+ to go lower.
Oh, I've little doubt that he will; his trend is looking good!:)

Before I forget: I was looking at Hitchcock's SS & noticed that you need to fix your two PMPS doses that now read: 0.05.
Because those should read a half-unit: 0.5

So please correct that; we don't want anybody checking your SS getting confused about what you're dosing. Thanks!;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top