Highs and Lows

Status
Not open for further replies.

lmcfrld

Member Since 2012
The last two days my Misha has had very high AMPS readings (600-ish) and very low PMPS readings (140, 104). Is this at all normal? Should I be doing anything differently? His regular dose is 1u 2x/day of ProZinc. I did not give insulin last night nor tonight (thank God for home testing!). He eats 1/2 can friskies pate morning and evening.

Thanks (so glad you all are here!)
Lora
 
The goal is to find a dose that you can give twice daily. When you give a dose that is too high, it lasts longer than the 12 hours so you skip the pm dose. Then the am number is high again because he has been 24 hours without insulin.

If he were mine, I would reduce the dose to .5 units. If you are using U40 needles, you can eyeball it. Or you may want to get some U100 needles and use the conversion chart. Then you can shoot doses under .5, which, luckily, it looks like you might be doing.

So, in the am, even if he is high, I would give .5 units and see whether that gives you a shootable pm number. Remember, if you get a number close to 200, wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. If the number is going up and over 200, you can shoot then.

It's complicated at first, but you are doing the most important thing to keep him safe - testing!
 
I agree completely with Sue's advice. We both used Prozinc/PZI and have found with many cats here that the high AM, low PM preshots you're seeing can be "fixed" by reducing the dose to an amount that will let you give two shots per day. That will keep insulin working 24 hours a day instead of fewer hours like you're seeing.

Carl
 
Misha's AMPS was 243, so I gave half a dose. His number have just been all over the place since we started insulin. Looking forward to regulation.
 
I think that if you can find a dose that allows for 2 shots a day, you'll see the numbers stop being all over the place, and we're hoping this dose will do that for you. If you can test around the middle of the cycle today, like between +4 and +6, you should be able to see how low the BG goes from this dose.

Fingers crossed,
Carl

edit - oh, and 243 after no insulin for 24 hours is a really nice number!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top