High to Hypo - decrease regular shot?

teresazu

Member Since 2020
yesterday was 2 weeks since the last hypo event while at 1.5 units. After reducing to 1.25 there wasn't many good numbers. past experience Cleo didn't get any good numbers until I went up to 1.5 units. so today I was considering increasing back to 1.5 units since it's been 15 days on 1.25. then I took an afternoon BG reading and it was 42! this time I remained calm because she seemed fine, so I got another strip, poked the other ear, 42 again! I didn't want to go for the syrup this time if I didn't have to, so I got some gravy food that I thought she'd just lick the gravy off of, but she ate it like she was starving! 2 plates! what in the world? this morning she was 563! there was food out the entire time and I was home, but she was sleeping, she usually goes to her food and eats if she's hungry, or cries to me she wants something else, but once again I'm shocked. so I guess this means not to go to 1.5? stay at 1.25 or reduce to 1 unit.

or any explanations of the logic of this would also be helpful



Chat Conversation End

Type a message...
 
I think Cleo is dropping low at night and then bouncing to the sky. It’s very common for cats to drop at night. You need to get night tests. I suggest a +3 test or a before bed test at a minimum. It doesn’t appear you are following a protocol but that 42 calls for a red to 1.0 unit tonight.
 
Thanks. there are some night readings, which were also high, just not recent ones

what do you mean by following a protocol? SLGS is how I started before I found this group, so that's what I follow but at times I do quite alot of BG checks as well.

Interestingly both hypo instances she hadn't eaten. as long as she has food at regular intervals she's fine. she's a grazer, eats smaller amounts frequently
 
Your ss says as needed. With SLGS you would have increased after doing a 12 hour curve. I missed the ns. I don’t see any +3 or later tests on your ss at night for a long time. I think if you tested you would see the bouncing is from dropping low at night. Then bounces take several cycles to clear usually. Cleo has definitely earned a reduction to 1.0.
 
used to do 8 hour curves, but since I get so many readings daily, thought I had read a technical curve isn't necessary (that's if you don't test for a week like the vets recommend?) anyway, suppose there were tests showing she was dropping at night then would that indicate lower dose also?
 
Yes. Night tests might and I think probably would have shown the that she dropped under 90 and explained the blacks. and shown the bounces. True curves aren’t needed. You have lots of testing.
 
Good idea to start night testing regularly. My girl once went three months dropping low at night, and earning reduction, and then bouncing during the day. With only day time data I would have increased, but the night time tests held the key to what was really happening.

Good luck with this latest reduction.
 
She is always high at night, plus if that were the case, I started at 0.25 if the lower doses were good, she would have done better. she never did well until 1.5

with daytime data you would have increased? the hypo's were during the day! her lowest has always been +7 mark
 
Back
Top