? High reading and dose increase

Colleen --

Have you had a chance to review the dosing methods sticky and decide whether you're following the Tight Regulation (TR) or Start Low Go Slow (SLGS)? With TR, you would be increasing every 3 days/6 cycles and you have the option of increasing by 0.5u if nadirs are generally over 300. With SLGS, you hold the dose for a week and increase by 0.25u.

It's always a good preventative measure to test for ketones if numbers are running high. The greatest risk for a cat developing ketones is if there's an infection/inflammation of some sort present and your kitty isn't interested in food. The other factor that increases the risk is if your cat is prone to developing ketones. This happens if your cat has had a recent bout of DKA.

What variety of FF are you feeding your cat? I'm presuming you're feeding your cat the Classic -- pate style that's low carb. Is your other cat eating the same food?
 
Hi Sienna and Gabby, I am trying the SLGS method as he is my Son's cat they are just living with us for a while and I'm not familiar with him yet, getting there. I feed Ruddy fancy feast classic pate but he had the chunky chicken (was on the list as ok) which may have bought his bg up? I held 1 unit for around 11 days then went to 1.5 this will be the 6th day more than 6 consecutive doses. He did have 1 very unusual reading of 10.9 ps then 10 + 2hrs and I got a little excited but that was short lived. I just don't like the red numbers it's been over 3wks am I being to apprehensive? Pantera is going well you can see his SS and he is on pro plan urinary. O.5ml x 2 day lantus. I don't know how to attach Ruddy's SS with Panteras sorry.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top