? High pmps

fafa's mum

Member Since 2019
We have been trying whatever we can. Recently we got really high pmps but amps not that bad(as usual) .

I don’t get it why pmps is high. Any input in appreciated.
 
One possibility is that Fa is going lower than she is used to at night, nadiring later, resulting in a lower AMPS. Then bouncing during the day leading to a higher PMPS. It’s been a while since you have done a curve. It might be interesting to get some data from the last half of the cycle. Can you do a curve soon? It is almost time for once so you can evaluate the dose, and probably increase.

Here is the link to your last post here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/does-5u-seem-better-than-5-25.219946/
 
Max was notorious around the FDMB was dropping at night. I either ended up with a pj party or awoke to a low green number I hadn’t expected !
 
Faye --

How old is your insulin?

Also, I think some of the issue may be how long. you're holding you're doses. If you review the SLGS info, you review your dose every 7 days and do a curve. I don't think you Faye is seeing enough numbers in the blues to warrant holding a dose for the length of time it looks like you are holding it. The SLGS guidelines indicate:
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
One possibility is that Fa is going lower than she is used to at night, nadiring later, resulting in a lower AMPS. Then bouncing during the day leading to a higher PMPS. It’s been a while since you have done a curve. It might be interesting to get some data from the last half of the cycle. Can you do a curve soon? It is almost time for once so you can evaluate the dose, and probably increase.

Here is the link to your last post here http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/does-5u-seem-better-than-5-25.219946/
I am sorry I did not get back earlier. Was a bit busy these two days and forgot to come back to reply.

I actually checked her in the evening and she always had +5 higher than +4.5, so I think +4.5 was her nadir.

I will try to do a full curve as soon as I can.
 
Max was notorious around the FDMB was dropping at night. I either ended up with a pj party or awoke to a low green number I hadn’t expected !
Sorry I did not get back earlier.

We found Fa seems to be going back up at +5 (compared to +4.5). Any chance that the drop might happen after it goes up?
 
Faye --

How old is your insulin?

Also, I think some of the issue may be how long. you're holding you're doses. If you review the SLGS info, you review your dose every 7 days and do a curve. I don't think you Faye is seeing enough numbers in the blues to warrant holding a dose for the length of time it looks like you are holding it. The SLGS guidelines indicate:
Thank you.

Our insulin is the small 3ml one so it normally lasts a month.

We tried to do TR but realised Fa did not respond very well sometimes until after 3 days, so we changed to SLGS.

Yes it is true I think I should increase. I kind of worry since it's already 5.75u and that makes me hesitant. I know I should not wait.
 
Don’t worry about the size of her dose. The important numbers are the blood sugar numbers, which frankly aren't great at this dose.

We found Fa seems to be going back up at +5 (compared to +4.5). Any chance that the drop might happen after it goes up?
I also see examples where she was still going down at +8 (9/07). Nadirs can be variable, and later in the cycle if a bounce is breaking.
 
Sorry I did not get back earlier.

We found Fa seems to be going back up at +5 (compared to +4.5). Any chance that the drop might happen after it goes up?
When I had the amps biggest surprises it was because I thought Max had either reached nadir or seemed to be coasting. It was often after +5. He surprised me a lot, lol. IBD if his many nicknames around here was Mr. Unpredictable.
 
Don’t worry about the size of her dose. The important numbers are the blood sugar numbers, which frankly aren't great at this dose.


I also see examples where she was still going down at +8 (9/07). Nadirs can be variable, and later in the cycle if a bounce is breaking.
I will be able to test more tomorrow. Very frustrated pmps been really high after 5.75u
 
When I had the amps biggest surprises it was because I thought Max had either reached nadir or seemed to be coasting. It was often after +5. He surprised me a lot, lol. IBD if his many nicknames around here was Mr. Unpredictable.
Last night +6 was higher than +5. If that’s the case, any chance to go back up ?
 
Back
Top