High pmps

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jill & Jade

Member Since 2018
My girl just tested 365 for her pmps. This seems super high! She’s acting fine, was playing and such just before I tested her. Should I be concerned? Cause I kind of am. With the exception of her vet stay for her first treatment, this is the highest she’s tested.
 
I wouldn't worry too much. Could be any number of mundane things. Any tests you can get between +4 and +9 would be helpful in seeing how low she is going. Just in case it was a bounce or something.
Thanks for that, I will try to get a reading as soon as we get up! Appreciate the response, immensely.
 
It's important to get some tests in on that PM cycle too....most cats go lower at night so it really is important.

Also, without tests on the PM cycle, you're missing half the data....and it could be the most important half!!

You don't have to stay up all night or anything....just getting a quick "before bed" test will let you know if you need to plan on setting an alarm to get more tests later.

A lot of us will also drink a lot of water in the evening so we "have" to get up in the middle of the night.....and well...as long as we're up, we might as well grab a quick test!!….LOL
 
It's important to get some tests in on that PM cycle too....most cats go lower at night so it really is important.

Also, without tests on the PM cycle, you're missing half the data....and it could be the most important half!!

You don't have to stay up all night or anything....just getting a quick "before bed" test will let you know if you need to plan on setting an alarm to get more tests later.

A lot of us will also drink a lot of water in the evening so we "have" to get up in the middle of the night.....and well...as long as we're up, we might as well grab a quick test!!….LOL
I run a restaurant in the evenings, so my hours are a bit wonky. I do get up to pee a lot in the middle of the night tho, so maybe I can test her then? I leave for work around 1;30pm and get back around 10-11pm which is why I don't have any in between numbers on her spreadsheet. :(
 
It's important to get some tests in on that PM cycle too....most cats go lower at night so it really is important.

Also, without tests on the PM cycle, you're missing half the data....and it could be the most important half!!

You don't have to stay up all night or anything....just getting a quick "before bed" test will let you know if you need to plan on setting an alarm to get more tests later.

A lot of us will also drink a lot of water in the evening so we "have" to get up in the middle of the night.....and well...as long as we're up, we might as well grab a quick test!!….LOL
p.s. China is beautiful.
 
You sure you’ve been getting the shots in? Didn’t get a fur shots? Happens to the best of us

Do you have dogs? Maybe been nibbling out their bowl?

Those are the most common things that attribute to a sporadic jump in my tests
 
If it makes you feel better my cat had a 523 last night. I would have been happier with the 365. Lol. Don't let one high reading worry you unless it continues.
 
You sure you’ve been getting the shots in? Didn’t get a fur shots? Happens to the best of us

Do you have dogs? Maybe been nibbling out their bowl?

Those are the most common things that attribute to a sporadic jump in my tests
None of the above. Just tested again ( +6.5 hours) and she’s at 295. Better, but still....
 
Could have been a bounce with this mornings PS number being lower than mid cycle. Really hard to tell. Since she has had blue PS regularly in the past there's a chance numbers could be dropping low during nadir. If you are worried about safety and unable to test mid cycle for a couple days due to work you can always back off to .75u for a few days and see what that does to her numbers. As time goes by you will be able to collect more data and get a better idea of what's going on.
 
:nailbiting::blackeye:
Could have been a bounce with this mornings PS number being lower than mid cycle. Really hard to tell. Since she has had blue PS regularly in the past there's a chance numbers could be dropping low during nadir. If you are worried about safety and unable to test mid cycle for a couple days due to work you can always back off to .75u for a few days and see what that does to her numbers. As time goes by you will be able to collect more data and get a better idea of what's going on.
Appreciate the feedback! This morning amps was 269. I have a call into the Vet. And wouldn’t lowering her dose cause an increase in BG numbers? I thought insulin was to lower the BG??? I’m so confused ‍
 
:nailbiting::blackeye:
Appreciate the feedback! This morning amps was 269. I have a call into the Vet. And wouldn’t lowering her dose cause an increase in BG numbers? I thought insulin was to lower the BG??? I’m so confused ‍
Too much insulin can lower the bg too much and then the cat releases emergency sugar into the blood to compensate. That causes the bg to spike to keep kitty safe from hypo. Kitty's lowest number should be between +4-+6 on Lantus. Most of the Protocols use this number(nadir) to adjust dosing. Once you get a couple of those readings, you can use the PS numbers to guess what the insulin dose is going to do.
 
Too much insulin can lower the bg too much and then the cat releases emergency sugar into the blood to compensate. That causes the bg to spike to keep kitty safe from hypo. Kitty's lowest number should be between +4-+6 on Lantus. Most of the Protocols use this number(nadir) to adjust dosing. Once you get a couple of those readings, you can use the PS numbers to guess what the insulin dose is going to do.
Ok.. so do you think her spikes are from too much or too little? I hate to “guess” when it comes to insulin. I know that over time, I’ll be more confident in that department, but we’re only about 3 weeks into this diagnosis and treatment. I hate this. :(
 
Too much insulin can lower the bg too much and then the cat releases emergency sugar into the blood to compensate. That causes the bg to spike to keep kitty safe from hypo. Kitty's lowest number should be between +4-+6 on Lantus. Most of the Protocols use this number(nadir) to adjust dosing. Once you get a couple of those readings, you can use the PS numbers to guess what the insulin dose is going to do.
My biggest fear is Hypo.
 
I can't say. I can just encourage you to keep testing and not get discouraged. You're doing a great job with the testing and getting the spreadsheet setup. FD is all about patience, and your still very early in the learning phase. It gets easier. And it does get less stressful. It's important to read all the stickies in the Lantus forum and understand how this insulin works. That's how you can do the best for Jade and for yourself. :bighug:
 
I can't say. I can just encourage you to keep testing and not get discouraged. You're doing a great job with the testing and getting the spreadsheet setup. FD is all about patience, and your still very early in the learning phase. It gets easier. And it does get less stressful. It's important to read all the stickies in the Lantus forum and understand how this insulin works. That's how you can do the best for Jade and for yourself. :bighug:
Thank you!!!! :bighug:
 
I can't say. I can just encourage you to keep testing and not get discouraged. You're doing a great job with the testing and getting the spreadsheet setup. FD is all about patience, and your still very early in the learning phase. It gets easier. And it does get less stressful. It's important to read all the stickies in the Lantus forum and understand how this insulin works. That's how you can do the best for Jade and for yourself. :bighug:
Me again!! Just took a test before I leave for work and she’s at 140! That’s good... right??
 
Yes, that's a better number

Sure would like to see another test in a few hours, but know it's impossible...that's quite a drop for +3

I'd just hold the dose and do the best you can to get some additional tests when you can!
Should I be concerned that she’s gonna drop too low?? And by hold the dose, does that mean one unit at 11 pm?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top