High numbers, what could cause this?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacym20

Active Member
I need help with Bud again. His preshot numbers have been high, which I know can be expected, but the few mid cycle numbers I have caught have been high as well. I should be home Wednesday and Thursday to catch some better mid cycle numbers, but until then, what could cause his numbers to be high? Insulin resistance? Should I increase his dose back to 1.2? So frustrating. :(
 
contraband food
infection - this is the most common, often bladder, may be elsewhere
pancreatitis or other inflammatory disease
See my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for some other assessments you can make before you go into the vet to have him checked out (which I recommend!)
 
I don't know for sure. You got some nice midcycle numbers on the 20th with one unit. Can you get some midcycle numbers when you're home? I am leaning toward going back to one unit.
 
Thanks for the replies! Bud was 382 at PMPS tonight and I dosed at 1.2 units. At +3 just now he was 315. Should I expect more of a drop than that? I will test him again at +5. Wednesday and Thursday I should be home to get plenty of mid cycle numbers. I'll stick to 1 unit for now since I'm not home to test mid cycle.
 
Bud was 385 at +5 last night and 348 at AMPS this morning. Could this be a result of too much insulin? I'm so confused right now. He has no symptoms of any illness and I really don't know how he'd be getting into any other food.
 
It's possible. I would do a curve when you are home and see what a whole cycle looks like. You could experiment with the one unit and see if the numbers look better (maybe 2 cycles?). If you do that, be sure to be testing for ketones.
 
Inflammatory processes, such as pancreatitis, may also elevate numbers, as may special conditions such as insulin autoantibodies, Cushings, and Acromegaly.
Regardless, you monitor and adjust the insulin following the protocol.
 
It's less than 2 months old with well over half left. It has a discard date of 4/17/2015. PMPS last night was 322. +3 was 309 and +5 was 280. AMPS was 391. I will be home more tomorrow to get some more numbers. I always use the scruff for the injection site. Should I try using his sides?
 
It'll be interesting to see some midcycle numbers. Have you read geekgirlany thread? She is dealing with bouncing issues. You might check out the advice to her too. Feeding smaller more frequent meals can help smooth out the cycle if that is what you are dealing with.

As far as where to shoot, some people vary the site and say it helps, some say it doesn't matter. The other spot to try is on his flank where there is loose skin.
 
PMPS was 373. Dosed 1.0 unit in his side and +3 just now was 279. I am planning on getting a +5 tonight.

I have been reading the geekgirlany thread, that and every thread that seems to parallel what is going on with Bud. I feel like I am failing poor Bud. :( yes, I've lost those patient pants...

As far as meals go, he does eat pretty good when I feed him and the other cats every 12 hours, but they never finish the food I put down right away and continue to graze for hours.
 
You are NOT failing him.. Failing him would be if you just shot without testing, fed dry food and weren't learning about this as fast as you can. He is not in dangerous numbers. You are gathering data. Yes, you need some patience pants. :bighug:

I'd try the one unit for another cycle. If he doesn't drop, then we know he needs more insulin, not less. So then you raise the dose by .25 and test some more.
 
Thank you so much for your support and encouragement Sue! I guess I'm just really frustrated (and flabbergasted, befuddled, bewildered, and so on...) because his dose was steadily decreasing over the last few weeks, and now to see numbers that may indicate that he needs an increase, just feels like backtracking.
 
Alas, it isn't 1 smooth, predictable process. There hills and valleys along the way, with comorbid conditions, food batch changes, health shifts, and more to alter responses.
 
Bud's spreadsheet is updated. I am thinking of raising the dose back to 1.2 units. It might take a few cycles to see the full effects of a dosage change, right? I will be able to get some mid cycle numbers again tomorrow and probably again Saturday.
 
Could take a few cycles to see a change. Upping the dose some might be a good idea, I agree. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top