High numbers again, feeling defeated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squalliesmom

Member Since 2015
Squalllie's BG has been high again now for a few days. I don't know what's causing it. I had hoped to have those lovely, lower numbers to show his new vet tomorrow. :( I'm afraid he'll raise the dose and Squallie will end up going hypo again. I can't record his numbers for everyone to see because his spreadsheet is funky and I can't fix it. Also, Squallie won't eat this morning, and all my little tricks to entice him are having less and less effect. To add to the stress, all my other cats have decided that they can't find their food dishes, although they're in the same place they always are, and are driving me nuts because they actually DO want their breakfast. For my part, I feel sick and am having a very bad breathing day. :(

I am feeling very defeated this morning. :blackeye: :(
 
Lucy, take a moment and relax and breathe. Slow down a little.

OK. The new vet will see the whole spreadsheet, which shows Squallie's ups and downs. He may even change his insulin to a better, long lasting one like lantus. A few days of highs is not good, but it's not a disaster, either!

As to the highs the last few days. In another post you mentioned that Sqaullie has a bunch of other health conditions. If one of the other problems is having a flare, it can result in high glucose levels. Any infection, pain, discomfort can boost BGs. So be sure to go over everything with the new vet. If this is the case, you may just have to adjust insulin when he isn't feeling well. Maggie had heart disease and kidney failure, and her BG would reflect how she was feeling from those conditions all the time.
 
Lucy, I've been following your posts despite being mostly radio silent on your threads. Please know that you are an awesome cat mom/guardian, and please hang in there!
 
Lucy, take a moment and relax and breathe. Slow down a little.

OK. The new vet will see the whole spreadsheet, which shows Squallie's ups and downs. He may even change his insulin to a better, long lasting one like lantus. A few days of highs is not good, but it's not a disaster, either!

As to the highs the last few days. In another post you mentioned that Sqaullie has a bunch of other health conditions. If one of the other problems is having a flare, it can result in high glucose levels. Any infection, pain, discomfort can boost BGs. So be sure to go over everything with the new vet. If this is the case, you may just have to adjust insulin when he isn't feeling well. Maggie had heart disease and kidney failure, and her BG would reflect how she was feeling from those conditions all the time.
Thank you, I needed to hear a voice of reason this morning!

Squallie was awake and playing like a madcat at 4:00, first time I've seen him play that whole-heartedly since his diagnosis. So, of course, I got up and played with him, and we had a wonderful time. But now I'm feeling the lack of sleep.

I have been letting Squallie nibble at some Young Again Zero Carb kibble, and I think that's what is raising his BG. I know it's not supposed to, but that is the only thing that has changed and the higher BG started suspiciously just after that. And I know something, health-wise, is still bothering him, because he won't purr any more.
 
Lucy, I've been following your posts despite being mostly radio silent on your threads. Please know that you are an awesome cat mom/guardian, and please hang in there!
Thank you for your kind words! My frustration is just getting the best of me this morning, I guess.
 
Lucy, take a moment and relax and breathe. Slow down a little.

OK. The new vet will see the whole spreadsheet, which shows Squallie's ups and downs. He may even change his insulin to a better, long lasting one like lantus. A few days of highs is not good, but it's not a disaster, either!

As to the highs the last few days. In another post you mentioned that Sqaullie has a bunch of other health conditions. If one of the other problems is having a flare, it can result in high glucose levels. Any infection, pain, discomfort can boost BGs. So be sure to go over everything with the new vet. If this is the case, you may just have to adjust insulin when he isn't feeling well. Maggie had heart disease and kidney failure, and her BG would reflect how she was feeling from those conditions all the time.


I totally agree! Maybe the new vet will see all of this wonkieness (is that really a word?) and prescribe a different insulin, like Lantus or ProZinc.

And don't feel at all bad about being frustrated or feel like a failure, we understand completely, WE'VE ALL BEEN THERE!
 
I totally agree! Maybe the new vet will see all of this wonkieness (is that really a word?) and prescribe a different insulin, like Lantus or ProZinc.

And don't feel at all bad about being frustrated or feel like a failure, we understand completely, WE'VE ALL BEEN THERE!
Thank you, I guess I need a pep talk from time to time. :)

If "wonkiness" isn't a real word, I feel it should be, it's so very descriptive, lol. :)
 
Lucy, you're doing a great job. Squallie definitely has something going on and that might be causing his raised BG. I agree with the others: show the vet the whole spreadsheet and he/she will be able to comment. I think once you get to the bottom of why he isn't feeling good and isn't purring, then his BG will go back down. Best of luck and lots and lots of hugs.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Shane
 
Lucy, you're doing a great job. Squallie definitely has something going on and that might be causing his raised BG. I agree with the others: show the vet the whole spreadsheet and he/she will be able to comment. I think once you get to the bottom of why he isn't feeling good and isn't purring, then his BG will go back down. Best of luck and lots and lots of hugs.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Shane
Thank you, Shane. I hope we can get to the root of the problem, this is making me absolutely crazy with worry. Fingers crossed. :)
 
Lucy - Coral was diagnosed a week before Squallie so I totally relate to your feelings. Your focus is on helping him be healthy and you are doing everything beneficial to accomplish that end. Take it slow, breathe, and take in all the positive that these beautiful animals give us. Pick out your color of patience pants! Mine are hot pink. Hugs to you and your kitties.
 
If it makes you feel any better I'm dealing with the same thing. Gotta keep on keeping on as they say.

I know this has been brought up before but maybe Squallie might enjoy something longer lasting like lantus?
 
Lucy - Coral was diagnosed a week before Squallie so I totally relate to your feelings. Your focus is on helping him be healthy and you are doing everything beneficial to accomplish that end. Take it slow, breathe, and take in all the positive that these beautiful animals give us. Pick out your color of patience pants! Mine are hot pink. Hugs to you and your kitties.
Thanks! It's so hard to not get frustrated!
I've always been partial to purple, lol. :)
 
If it makes you feel any better I'm dealing with the same thing. Gotta keep on keeping on as they say.

I know this has been brought up before but maybe Squallie might enjoy something longer lasting like lantus?
I will to the new vet about changing insulins tomorrow when Squallie goes for his first appointment. Today, I feel like I might as well have not even given him any insulin; at +6 his BG was 367, higher than his AMPS was! I can't imagine what it will be at shot time tonight! :eek:
 
img-thing
Ask for purple and you shall get!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top