Michaela (George's Mom)
Member Since 2021
Good morning,
first time poster, so bare with me
. And thanks for any help you can provide; I have no idea if what we're experiencing is perfectly normal for a freshly diagnosed diabetic cat or if there's something else going on with our purrminator.
Our kitty George (15 year old male) was recently diagnosed with diabetes. We started him on ProZinc twice daily and switched him to Purina DM (combination of wet and dry). The initial dose was 3 units (twice daily), which led to several hypoglycemic events (very scary!).
Our vet then reduced him to just 0.5 units twice daily and that seemed to work pretty well for a couple weeks with morning/evening glucose values of around 300 mg/dl and nadirs of around 100 mg/dl.
Unfortunately, over the course of a few more weeks George's morning/evening spot checks crept up to 400 - 500 mg/dl. Our vet suspects that his pancreas was still "sputtering" a little initially, which made the low dose seem to work, but that since then it has given out completely - therefore the increase in glucose and the need for a higher insulin dose.
Since then, we've continued to increase his insulin dose by 0.5 units, waited about a week, and took a glucose curve. I also did spot checks at around the time I expected his nadir to be.
Initially he seems to react quite well to the increased dose (the morning/evening spot checks and his nadirs often come down somewhat, but typically never below 450 mg/dl for the spot checks and 300 mg/dl for the nadir). But over the course of the week or so he "regulates" himself back to his old high values of by now 500+ mg/dl in the mornings/evenings and nadirs of around 350 mg/dl.
We're currently up to 3.5 units twice daily. At 3 units we briefly broke through the 300 mg/dl nadir and reached mid 200s a few days in a row, but currently at 3.5 he remains stubbornly above 300 mg/dl.
Has anyone else experienced something like this? Is this part of the normal adjustment period? Is his insulin dose still too low? Or could there be something else going on? I am pretty certain that I'm handling and administering the insulin correctly (I have a science background and am used to working with syringes). I also always sniff his fur and never smelled insulin, and by now I know how it should feel when I'm injecting it subcutaneously.
Thanks for any thoughts and advise you may have!
Michaela
first time poster, so bare with me
Our kitty George (15 year old male) was recently diagnosed with diabetes. We started him on ProZinc twice daily and switched him to Purina DM (combination of wet and dry). The initial dose was 3 units (twice daily), which led to several hypoglycemic events (very scary!).
Our vet then reduced him to just 0.5 units twice daily and that seemed to work pretty well for a couple weeks with morning/evening glucose values of around 300 mg/dl and nadirs of around 100 mg/dl.
Unfortunately, over the course of a few more weeks George's morning/evening spot checks crept up to 400 - 500 mg/dl. Our vet suspects that his pancreas was still "sputtering" a little initially, which made the low dose seem to work, but that since then it has given out completely - therefore the increase in glucose and the need for a higher insulin dose.
Since then, we've continued to increase his insulin dose by 0.5 units, waited about a week, and took a glucose curve. I also did spot checks at around the time I expected his nadir to be.
Initially he seems to react quite well to the increased dose (the morning/evening spot checks and his nadirs often come down somewhat, but typically never below 450 mg/dl for the spot checks and 300 mg/dl for the nadir). But over the course of the week or so he "regulates" himself back to his old high values of by now 500+ mg/dl in the mornings/evenings and nadirs of around 350 mg/dl.
We're currently up to 3.5 units twice daily. At 3 units we briefly broke through the 300 mg/dl nadir and reached mid 200s a few days in a row, but currently at 3.5 he remains stubbornly above 300 mg/dl.
Has anyone else experienced something like this? Is this part of the normal adjustment period? Is his insulin dose still too low? Or could there be something else going on? I am pretty certain that I'm handling and administering the insulin correctly (I have a science background and am used to working with syringes). I also always sniff his fur and never smelled insulin, and by now I know how it should feel when I'm injecting it subcutaneously.
Thanks for any thoughts and advise you may have!
Michaela
