? High GB - Can I give Lantus late???

Shiloh567

Member Since 2020
Gideon's GB at 7AM was 166, so I did not give his Lantus. I just retested at 11AM, GB is now 600! I have been giving 0.75 units. Should I give 0.5 units now. His next nose isn't due until 7PM.
 
If you shoot now you can’t shoot again for 12 hours and will be off schedule. To get back on schedule you would have to shoot 15 minutes early each cycle or 30 minutes every 24 hours. So don’t shoot. Pretend it’s a fur shot. Lesson learned. When you get a lower than 200 number, don’t feed and retest in 20-30 minutes.
 
What you can do is shoot at what would normally be his +10. You can then shoot on time tomorrow morning.

You then have two options to get back on schedule:
—shoot at +13 in the morning which would be one hour earlier than your regular shot time
—shoot at +14 in the morning which would be at his engulfs shot time.

When we need to shoot early and then get back on time, it is much easier to get back to your normal shot time then it is if we shoot late. If we shoot late, Elise provided that info above and you can also read it in Getting Back on Schedule. You might want t bookmark that post so you have it on hand if you ever have to stall. To bookmark a post like that, when you have it open, click on “watch thread” and then select “without getting email notifications”. It will store it in your “watched thread” files that you can find at the upper left of any page.

I believe you work at home and could do tight regulation if you wanted to. Here is a post on doing TR while working.

With both methods, you must get at least one test in the evening. Otherwise you are missing half your data and we don’t know how low Gideon is going. It is not safe to raise a dose if you don’t know how low the dose is taking them and cats tend to go lower at night. You could do a +2 and a before bed test and have some data for us to consider.
 
What you can do is shoot at what would normally be his +10. You can then shoot on time tomorrow morning.

You then have two options to get back on schedule:
—shoot at +13 in the morning which would be one hour earlier than your regular shot time
—shoot at +14 in the morning which would be at his engulfs shot time.

When we need to shoot early and then get back on time, it is much easier to get back to your normal shot time then it is if we shoot late. If we shoot late, Elise provided that info above and you can also read it in Getting Back on Schedule. You might want t bookmark that post so you have it on hand if you ever have to stall. To bookmark a post like that, when you have it open, click on “watch thread” and then select “without getting email notifications”. It will store it in your “watched thread” files that you can find at the upper left of any page.

I believe you work at home and could do tight regulation if you wanted to. Here is a post on doing TR while working.

With both methods, you must get at least one test in the evening. Otherwise you are missing half your data and we don’t know how low Gideon is going. It is not safe to raise a dose if you don’t know how low the dose is taking them and cats tend to go lower at night. You could do a +2 and a before bed test and have some data for us to consider.

Is she testing enough for TR?
 
Is she testing enough for TR?
Since 5/19, she’s testing enough for TR but she must get at least one nighttime test for TR. However, as I mentioned above, she needs to do that whether she does TR or SLGS. No tests at night at all leaves us unable to give solid dosing advice and I will never suggest increases if I can’t see how low the dose is going.

Shiloh....just FYI, here is the SS of a kitty that went from SLGS to TR. Look at the 2019 SS tab; she started TR on 3/2. She has some syringe issues but once she got those sorted out, he’s done great. Again....nighttime tests are as important as daytime. You don’t have to test as much as Debra does but there has to be some data in order to make the correct decisions.

Ultimately, it’s your decision. Gideon is doing fairly well for being on insulin a short time and he’s not one of those kitties that we see stay in high numbers and needing increasing doses. There’s no right or wrong to doing SLGS or TR for him whereas for some kitties in high numbers and creeping along on dose increases, TR would benefit. While I am a TR proponent, I also don’t live your life and it’s important you read about both, ask questions, and make the decision for what fits you and Gideon and we will all support that.
 
Thank you Elise & Marge. I chose to test at +10 (5P/1700). He was 470, he then ate well, and rec'd his Lantus 0.75 units. I work from home during the day, but have an additional job where I leave at 9P/2100 and return at 7A/0700, three times per week. Tonight is an extra night due to the holiday tomorrow. Gotta pay for the kitty bills! Thankful I have the two jobs. It seems like the TR comes down to additional testing. We can do this without going crazy with doing overboard testing. Tonight at 8:30P/2030, we will get another test. The half-unit syringes help a bit, but 0.75 units is SO small. I try my best to line up the plunger right on top of the 1 unit, but below the 1/2 unit lines. So right in the middle of the two lines is 0.75 units. If I have time tonight, I will try to read the info on TR. The issue with TR is if we ever go away again, we would need the lady that comes and stays with the kitties to be comfortable tith ear testing him, especially in the everning. We are looking for a vet tech now, that will come at 7A and 7P for the tests and insulin. It all depends how the country opens. In July we go to my cousin's place for a week in NH, then in August we go to Ogunquit Maine for a week.
 
One question...does anyone have stats for the cats in this group that go into remission? I have been seeing so many kitties in the group that have recently passed away. It is making me think we are fighting a losing battle, though at the moment, Gideon is doing very well. From this group's experience, what is the average lifespan once a kitty is diagnosed with diabetes? I have a kitty with small cell lymphoma, and I was told average lifespan after diagnosis is 1-2 years, but, our kitty is doing very well, and I expect to exceed this estimate by far. So, estimates are just that, estimates.

Another question: What size insulin syringes (and brand) did you both use?

Thank you again.
 
think we are fighting a losing battle
The first goal is to get the cat regulated. The kitty will always be diabetic.. always, but one can hope to go into a "diabetic remission" with being food controlled.

From what I've seen on this forum, very few cats associated with this forum where the CG follows the protocol, are prepared, and sufficiently home test, actually die from having diabetes. I can't think of any since I"ve been a member (Oct. 2019) There is usually some other disease that takes the kitty over the rainbow bridge.

As for the number of cats that go into remission? I'm not sure if there are stats for just this forum, but here is some information that looks at that information. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6053045/
 
It’s been over 3years since Max passed. The syringes I used are no longer made. Change your subject or add a ? Syringes.

Max was diagnosed in 2013 and passed three years later at 19 from CHF and not diabetes. Mist cats are diagnosed with type 2 diabetes as older cats so it may appear that lots die but the reasons are rarely due to diabetes. If due to diabetes it’s eithe from going hypo or ketones from what I’ve observ
 
One question...does anyone have stats for the cats in this group that go into remission? I have been seeing so many kitties in the group that have recently passed away. It is making me think we are fighting a losing battle, though at the moment, Gideon is doing very well. From this group's experience, what is the average lifespan once a kitty is diagnosed with diabetes? I have a kitty with small cell lymphoma, and I was told average lifespan after diagnosis is 1-2 years, but, our kitty is doing very well, and I expect to exceed this estimate by far. So, estimates are just that, estimates.
This group has been around for quite a while. I don't know about percentages, but I think we are getting close to 500 cats going into remission. As for passing away, remember that many of these kitties are older, and get all the usual old cat diseases too. I also don't think there is an "average lifespan". Neko lasted just shy of 5 years, but at the end had kidney disease, heart disease, small cell lymphoma, plus some other issues due to her acromegaly. I've seen cats on insulin for 9 years. As for small cell lymphoma (on my third now, sigh), it depends partly on the chemo protocol. Current one is just past two years. Neko did not pass from SCL, she passed with SCL and diabetes. Ditto the second one, it was another cancer that took him.

I used the BD syringes, 31 gauge. But that's pretty much all that's available in Canada. If you look at the Sticky Note on Syringe Info, there is a list of the commonly used 1/2 unit marked ones in the US.
 
Did you get a PMPS test tonight? It's really a good idea to always get a preshot test. A rule of thumb that works for most cats on Lantus, if you see a big drop between preshot and +2, then it'll be quite an active cycle and you need to either monitor more, or leave plenty of food out for him to eat to keep himself safe.
 
I put all the tests on the spreadsheet. Yes, I test prior to every shot. As was recommended, I gave his Lantus 2 hours early at 5p. He was 470 and then ate, and rec'd his 0.75 units. Before I left for work at 9p he was 219. We will be back on schedule for 7AM test, feed, and Insulin. Thank you all for your help.
 
One way to show what you did on the spreadsheet, is to put the preshot number in the PMPS cell, but write 470 @ +22. That shows it was 22 hours after the previous shot. Then the 219 can go in the +4 cell, since it was four hours after his PM shot.
 
Back
Top