? high, flat Lantus curve, dosing question

tackeee

Member Since 2019
Hello!

I've posted in a few different places on this forum with some helpful responses. I'm worried about Little One's high BG. He seems to be affected a lot by good; his BG shoots up at AMPS/PMPS if he gets any TINY snack during the day. I have been swamped with work in the past few days, and haven't been able to do as many tests as I'd like, but hopefully I can do another full curve sometime this week.

In the beginning, it was suggested to me that his insulin was increased and may be too high, but looking at the data, I think it still may be too low. He's at 3 units twice a day currently, and I know folks recommend moving up .25 to .5 units at a time, so I'll order some syringes and talk to my vet as I currently have the pen. But - he's been a week now at 3 units, and I think he needs to go up. Unsure!
 
I can't be certain but it's possible his dose is too high and those spikes are from steep drops to low numbers that might only last a short time before he bounces back up. If he's eating low carb wet food I don't think it would cause such dramatic spikes. Was his dose raised in whole unit increments? That can certainly result in you bypassing a good dose.
 
He was started on 1 unit for a week, then 2 for 2.5 weeks, then 3 for just at a week now. I’ve never seen his BG below mid 300s, so I’m highly doubting it’s a bounce because my testing never catches it. Plus I’m sure his stomatitis is exacerbating his high BG? Unsure. I’ve just started home testing at 3 units.

Originally his BG was around 500. He was given 1 unit, then after a week his blood test dropped to 400 and the vet prescribed 2 units. Then it stayed around 400 and was upped to 3 units. That’s where we are and when the home testing started.
 
Honestly, I would keep going up (reasonably and responsibly) on units until your home testing tells you you're at a good spot. I know some people here think a cat should respond to very small amounts of insulin, but that's not always the case. We went relatively low and slow (1 unit to 4 units over three months) and Max only got worse and worse. Finally with 5 units I'm finally seeing some good results.
 
Thanks for that! He keeps losing weight and his overall numbers haven’t changed much. His numbers are high enough that 4 units seems totally reasonable. And with home testing, I could catch a bounce!
 
You could even try 3.5 for a few days if you're able to get some good home tests in, if going straight up to 4 makes you nervous.
 
Hello and welcome here. First step is to read all the yellow starred sticky notes at the top of this forum, if you have not already. There is a lot of info to absorb, but keep asking questions, we love to help here. One of the first things you will have to do is decide if you want to follow one of our dosing methods here, the Tight Regulation Protocol or the Start Low Go Slow method. These dosing methodologies have helped get 100’s of kitties into good numbers and can help out too. As long as you are feeding 100% low carb wet food or raw, you can choose either method. If there is any dry in the picture, then for safety you need to choose SLGS.

Tossing in my opinion on dosing, as someone who has been around a few years and probably seen hundreds of kitty’s spreadsheets, I would NOT go up a full unit at this point. You have enough data to go up to 3.5 units now.
 
3.5 has shown some good results so far! It's only like two days in, but I'm hoping! He seems to have quite sharp reactions to his food. I wonder if I will eventually go up to 4 units.
 
Love seeing that blue poke in there! That's great progress. I'd hold the dose a couple cycles yet. Those blues and yellows mean your next increase would be by 0.25 units.

Don't worry about how large the dose is. Every cat is different on how much insulin they need. What is important is the blood sugar numbers.
 
Hi Elizabeth! I see you're from SE Michigan - what part? We're from South Lyon - but currently in Naples, FL. Looks like you guys had a big snow yesterday...and now the cccccold...brrr... Stay warm! Welcome to the L&L Forum. We'll be looking forward to your posts. Hope Little One will be on the mend soon :)
 
Thanks for the hello! And yes we got our first real snow of the season. :/

His numbers are off to me, but I hope we find a stable spot for him soon!!
 
Back
Top