One of the Acro articles that is linked mentions "High Dose" has being greater than 1 unit per pound body weight per day.
So - Norton was 14 pounds and got 8 units BID (16 units per day). His IGF-1 was 331 (insulin-like growth factor).
We started insulin (Humulin N) at 1 unit BID and held the dose for a week at a time. "Start low and go slow"
once per week, we went to the vet for a blood sugar test at nadir (+6 or +7 after injection for Norton on N)
(this was before we found FDMB and started home testing)
The vet would have us increase his dose if his nadir reading was above 200. When we reached 11 units BID, his BG at nadir was below 200 for the first time (125 at +7) (he was still on high carb Science Diet crunchy food at the time).
It took 12 weeks to reach the 11 units BID dose.
This is a graph of Norton's blood sugar at nadir, his dose and his weight while on Humulin N.
http://www.devilkitty.org/graphics/nort ... umulin.jpg
Initially, the data points are every week - later every 2 or 3 weeks.
I did not find FDMB until September 2007. Norton had a severe infection in June 2007, and afterwards, he was walking in circles. He had crashed (hypo'd) at the vet's office under anesthesia when she was cleaning/treating the abscess in his jaw. I was trying to find information about why he would walk in circles etc. He also seemed stiff and his neck seemed to hurt increasingly. We tried different things and ended up at a neurologist in March, who confirmed a brain tumor.
Anyway, when I arrived at FDMB, we were at 9 units BID, and most flipped out at the dose when I first posted. I did a brief rebound test and satisfied myself that he needed the dose that we were giving. I ended up lurking to avoid criticism while learning -- and found the High Dose group, who helped a LOT!!
We determined that he fit the profile of an acrocat - big feet, muscular - gained 4 pounds while diabetic, round head, brain tumor (usually acro tumor is tiny, but it grew and caused him to walk in circles), needed a "high" dose of insulin to get reasonable BGs.
My vet did not think Norton had Acromegaly. I asked and eventually insisted that she send off the blood for the IGF-1 test. She was surprised by the positive result.