High blood sugars for over a week/new dx

My cat was diagnosed 7/9 with a BG of 540 and ketones in his urine. Also has a UTI. We did 1 week of Amoxicillin that didn't do anything and is now on Entrofloxacin (1 day left of a 7 day course). His second UA a week ago didn't show ketones.

Vet started him on 2U twice a day of Vetsulin. His blood sugars are almost all super high (400-500 range). He is eating Fancy Feast Pate 2 cans per day. He won't eat more (previously was on dry Purina Indoor). He is peeing all over my house also. I called the vet about his high blood sugars last week and unresolved UTI and she thought the chart looked good for the 13th through 16th and wouldn't change anything except I could increase to 2.5U if I wanted.

Tonight his blood sugar read HI on the meter. I gave him insulin and food and checked again 15 minutes later and it read 589. What do I need to do?

Thanks for any advice. He is barely moving around (walking slowly on his hocks) and has lost 2 pounds in the past 6 months.
 
Last edited:
Melissa, I see that you didn't get a response to your post yet today. I am not sure that any of the regular Vetsulin users that frequent this forum were online today, or saw your post. I suggest you copy you message here and start a new thread in the Main Health forum, HERE and paste the message. More members scan that Main Health forum and yo,u are likely to get some responses.
 
I’m certainly by no means an expert, but my two cents until the experts get here:

I would be hesitant to increase his dose based on the blues you saw early on with the 2.0 units. If it were me, I think I would probably go down to 1.75 and see if more of those blues come back
 
Melissa , I am by no means an expert myself, I would agree with @Sarah&Soph , going down to 1.75 units for a couple of cycles to see if his BG starts to come down. After testing him and then feeding him, we usually wait 20-30 minutes to give the insulin. Then you can test him again @+2 or @+3 , I usually test my cat up until +6 and sometimes get a +8. I have the syringes that have half unit markings, U-40 3/10 cc 0.3 ml
29g, 12.7mm length 1/2"
I have been taught to go slow with increasing dosages, example 0.25 u then 0.5 u
You can add some water to the Fancy feast Pate also.
I don't know much about UTI, but you stated that it's unresolved and your get said nothing about it?
My vet also was telling me to keep upping my cats Insulin which I found out he didn't need it, and have learned that giving him a lower dose based on his pre shot was working and his numbers have been very good. You have to start off increasing it slowly if needed. When you told her he is peeing all over the house what did she say?
As I said I am no expert by any means. As for him walking on his hocks, once you can get his BG under control and lower BG's it should get better, most of us give our cats what is called Zobaline , you can get it in Amazon , you just sprinkle it on the food.
I used to use it but it's so expensive, someone here told me about a less expensive one, the only difference is the Zobaline has 200 mcg of folic acid in it, so I just buy that at the supermarket, 400 mcg and cut them in half.I will post a pic of it. I give it once a day and I do see an improvement in my cats legs. Hopefully someone with more experience than I have will answer
 
Last edited:
Melissa here is the supplement from Vita cost
tamins & SupplementsLetter VitaminsVitamin BVitamin B12


Vitacost Vitamin B-12 Methylcobalamin -- 5000 mcg - 60 Capsules

  • SKU #: 844197016143
  • Shipping Weight: 0.08 lb
  • Servings: 60
★★★★★★★★★★4.7 out of 5 stars. Read reviews.
4.7
17.57 for 60 capsules and 23.92 for 100 capsules. If you go on the site before 7-27-19 I see it's buy one (100 qty) it's buy one get 50% off on the second one and free shipping.
This is the only type of Vit B-12 that should be given

The Zobaline is now up to 38.90 for 60 capsules and 4.99 for shipping, ridiculous
 
Last edited:
In addition to everyone else... Remember is a Marathon. If your cat had been losing weight than she's probably been diabetic for months. And if could take a while for those preshots to come down.
 
Back
Top