HIGH BG's VS. LOW BG'S

Status
Not open for further replies.

CORKY

Member Since 2023
It might be an elementary question; I am aware of the dosing guidelines. But I was under the understanding that the BG numbers for Corky were good in the yellow range (200-299) I was advised to increase his dose from 0.75U to 1.0U, I find that Corky becomes sluggish when his BG is less than 200, Could someone explain this for me. Even though the Vet that attended him during hospitalization, explained to me that for a diabetic cat the range is between 200-300 with a plateau in between dosing and feeding. Even though I always follow the suggestions given, since I know Vets tend to mislead. Thank you
 
It might be an elementary question; I am aware of the dosing guidelines. But I was under the understanding that the BG numbers for Corky were good in the yellow range (200-299) I was advised to increase his dose from 0.75U to 1.0U, I find that Corky becomes sluggish when his BG is less than 200, Could someone explain this for me. Even though the Vet that attended him during hospitalization, explained to me that for a diabetic cat the range is between 200-300 with a plateau in between dosing and feeding. Even though I always follow the suggestions given, since I know Vets tend to mislead. Thank you
Let me try tagging Suzanne for you since she's familiar with Prozinc
@Suzanne & Darcy
I do see you were told that Corky needed an increase by Sienne and Wendy, even though they are not Prozinc users maybe they can answer your question on why Corky is feeling sluggish on 1 unit
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
Thank you ladies
 
Last edited:
Numbers that are in the 200s are not normal range numbers. They are unquestionably in the diabetic range. Both people and cats can get used to having their numbers in a range that is higher than is desirable. Their bodies acclimate to hyperglycemia. As a result, when the insulin is bringing numbers into a better range, they feel "off." It's a matter of getting Corky used to being in a normal range again.
 
Numbers that are in the 200s are not normal range numbers. They are unquestionably in the diabetic range. Both people and cats can get used to having their numbers in a range that is higher than is desirable. Their bodies acclimate to hyperglycemia. As a result, when the insulin is bringing numbers into a better range, they feel "off." It's a matter of getting Corky used to being in a normal range again.

So the best numbers for Corky to be in are in the Blues (100-199)? but what if his BG gets too low since he's dosing 1.0U?
 
On a human meter, 50 is your “take action” number meaning it's time to intervene with food to bring the BG up whether you need to feed low carb, med carb or high carb food
If there is a big drop on BG numbers you would need to feed and keep testing
Yes you want to start seeing blues and high green numbers
I see Suzanne is on let me try tagging her again, she can explain things better than I can


feeding the curve." What this means is that if you're seeing numbers progressively dropping, intervening first with low carb to see if numbers level off and if not, increase the carb level. The idea is to not overdo the carbs and instead, try to flatten out the numbers so your cat is "surfing" in a normal BG range.

@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Last edited:
So the best numbers for Corky to be in are in the Blues (100-199)? but what if his BG gets too low since he's dosing 1.0U?
It’s definitely true that cats can feel off when their blood glucose starts going lower than what they’re used to. Any cats do experience this as they start moving toward healthier numbers— some will act lethargic and some will even hide. Corky is making progress, but it is looking like he will need an increase in insulin after the 7 days on 1 unit are completed. That is if things continue along the way they are now.

Regarding feeding, it is important for Corky to have small snacks of about 1-2 spoonsful of low carb wet food at +2 and +4 and possibly more frequently if you test and find he is dropping faster than we want him too. Rapid drops in BG will set him up for a bounce into higher numbers, and we don’t want that.
 
Normal blood glucose numbers for a cat can range from about 50 to a max of about 120. Since you are following SLGS right now, the goal is to keep him between 90 and 150 — so higher greens and mid-blue numbers. Yellows are something we definitely don’t want to see — or we want to at least see less of and over time hopefully can get him out of yellows all together.
 
Right now, I see no evidence of Corky dropping into any unsafe number on this dose of 1 unit. If you have any worries about his numbers, please post something in the ProZinc forum so that I will have an email sent to my inbox and will know that you need help. You can post here too, of course.
 
Right now, I see no evidence of Corky dropping into any unsafe number on this dose of 1 unit. If you have any worries about his numbers, please post something in the ProZinc forum so that I will have an email sent to my inbox and will know that you need help. You can post here too, of course.[/QUOT

thank you, Suzanne & Darcy, I will goal for the blue numbers then, and we will go back in 4 days to see how he is doing for any dose changing if needed
 
Perfect. The level of testing that you are doing with your special boy is commendable. Good job. I am impressed.


Thank you for that I needed to hear that I was being a good Mommie, :bighug:and that I was taking care of him good enough to keep him safe, he looks amazing he's gained all his weight back also
 
Thank you for that I needed to hear that I was being a good Mommie, :bighug:and that I was taking care of him good enough to keep him safe, he looks amazing he's gained all his weight back also
That’s great to hear that he looks better and has gained the weight he lost. He will start to feel better as he gets used to more normal numbers, too.
 
That’s great to hear that he looks better and has gained the weight he lost. He will start to feel better as he gets used to more normal numbers, too.

It would've never had happened if I would have not found this Forum, it's because of the diligence and dedication of all the members inputs, that, has been what has made my Corky flourish and with
all the support needed to have a healthy diabetic cat, Corky and I are immensely grateful every day
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top