High BG numbers and today's the day!

April & Quincy

Member Since 2019
Good morning (or afternoon or evening depending where you are)!!

Today is the day! We are headed to the vet in a few hours to get in the insulin demonstration and I will then learn what amount the vet recommends I use to inject Quincy. I will come back here later or in the morning to update you on what she said.

I have to work tomorrow so I didn't want to start shooting tomorrow if I won't be home all day to see how he does. Or do people recommend doing so anyways? On Saturday I'll be home to monitor him so I thought that'd be the perfect day to start but if you all think giving him his shot tomorrow morning and then heading off to work is okay, I'll trust you, though it does make me nervous that I won't be able to monitor how he reacts to his first insulin injection.

I've updated the numbers and while I couldn't BG check yesterday, they are high (obviously) so I am excited and hopeful that once we start insulin those numbers will go down!

I look forward to letting you all know later what she says! :) Have a great day!
 
Hi April!

So exciting!! I'm happy for you that you're taking the next steps to care for Quincy! Let's see what the vet says before you decide whether or not to shoot tomorrow morning. As long as it is a reasonable dose I would think that it would be a good idea to give the dose right away tomorrow morning, that is because Basaglar, like Lantus, is a depot style insulin, so you may not even see the results from the insulin until the second or third day, potentially on the weekend which would be ideal since you work Monday to Friday.

HERE is the link to your last post so members can follow your history on the board :). From now on, please link your last post in this forum so everyone can easily look at. The easiest way to do that is to type some text ex: "Last Post" highlight that text, and then choose The "link" button in the toolbar as seen circled below.
View attachment 47904


Post daily if you can / want, only one post a day since it’s a busy forum, make your title in the following general format:

Date, Cat’s Name, AMPS value, additional testing values during the day, PMPS value.

Additional testing values are good to add to the title if you have them because experienced members may be able to notice if Quincy has entered a dangerous situation that needs action, or may be able to provide feedback on dosage amounts. You can edit the title with updates on your latest tests as the day goes by or add a question to the title if you end up with a question by the end of the day. For example you could start with this: 09/19 Quincy AMPS 300

And end up by the end of the day having a title like this: ? 09/19 Quincy AMPS 300 +1 301 +2 270 Starting Lantus, Advice / Tips wanted

You can edit the title by choosing, thread tools at the top right of your post, then "edit title"
upload_2019-9-19_11-4-47.png

If you have a question, you can choose a prefix based on your situation, if you have a question choose the ? prefix for your title, if your cat is in danger, choose 911 for support, GA is for Gone ahead / Guardian Angel, this is meant to use as a notification that your cat has passed... please don't choose this by mistake ;)

upload_2019-9-19_11-5-35.png


Hope some of this helps you getting fully into it around here! Looking forward to hearing what the vet says, and looking forward to seeing Qunicy's progress after beginning treatment!
 

Attachments

  • upload_2019-9-19_11-3-34.png
    upload_2019-9-19_11-3-34.png
    128.2 KB · Views: 106
Oh my, I will certainly do my best! Is it okay if I leave the title of this one the way it is now? I have no numbers for today (as of yet). I will try to remember all of the steps! :) I will update this thread later when I have more info from the vet, eek!!
 
Oh my, I will certainly do my best! Is it okay if I leave the title of this one the way it is now? I have no numbers for today (as of yet). I will try to remember all of the steps! :) I will update this thread later when I have more info from the vet, eek!!
Definitely!

It's just a little information for when (or if) you start posting regularly! and you don't have to do it the same way as I said... it is just good to post tests - especially when you're starting out in case you don't realize Quincy is in a dangerous situation, another more experienced member may notice and flag it for you ;) But please do always link your last post :)
 
I am so excited for Quincy, and eager to see how this fine boy will respond. Just be prepared to be patient and see how this unfolds. Please do check in with that starting dose amount, sometimes vets get perturbed over high BG tests there at the clinic and Rx a higher dose than is wise to start with. Adjustments can always be made in small increments as you go along.

I apologize, I can't remember your first name ( I think you said at one time??) You can put that in the signature so we can address you by name. My goodness, I feel as if we know each other at least a bit after all the posts and replies. :)

It's going to help you a lot to post daily, at least at first, and let people see the ongoing testing results. The members here in L,B&L forum are very supportive and responsive.
 
Definitely!

It's just a little information for when (or if) you start posting regularly! and you don't have to do it the same way as I said... it is just good to post tests - especially when you're starting out in case you don't realize Quincy is in a dangerous situation, another more experienced member may notice and flag it for you ;) But please do always link your last post :)
So very good of you to help like this Amanda. Especially with the screen shots, I could have used those when I first arrived.
 
Definitely!

It's just a little information for when (or if) you start posting regularly! and you don't have to do it the same way as I said... it is just good to post tests - especially when you're starting out in case you don't realize Quincy is in a dangerous situation, another more experienced member may notice and flag it for you ;) But please do always link your last post :)

Thank you!!
 
I am so excited for Quincy, and eager to see how this fine boy will respond. Just be prepared to be patient and see how this unfolds. Please do check in with that starting dose amount, sometimes vets get perturbed over high BG tests there at the clinic and Rx a higher dose than is wise to start with. Adjustments can always be made in small increments as you go along.

I apologize, I can't remember your first name ( I think you said at one time??) You can put that in the signature so we can address you by name. My goodness, I feel as if we know each other at least a bit after all the posts and replies. :)

It's going to help you a lot to post daily, at least at first, and let people see the ongoing testing results. The members here in L,B&L forum are very supportive and responsive.

I will definitely be patient but it will be hard! And I will definitely check in once I get the dose amount!

My first name is April! I will add that to the signature line. I feel as if we know at each other as well and I'm glad you stopped over on this thread to say something! :)

Testing still makes me so nervous and gives me so much anxiety so I'm afraid stabbing him for the insulin shot will also be a problem for me (nerves-wise) but I will post daily for sure!
 
I will definitely be patient but it will be hard! And I will definitely check in once I get the dose amount!

My first name is April! I will add that to the signature line. I feel as if we know at each other as well and I'm glad you stopped over on this thread to say something! :)

Testing still makes me so nervous and gives me so much anxiety so I'm afraid stabbing him for the insulin shot will also be a problem for me (nerves-wise) but I will post daily for sure!
April (:bighug: thank you!). Testing makes most of us nervous at first, practice makes perfect. And..you are still going to screw it up now and then, that's life. Injecting is actually much easier, I always gave Idjit his shot when he was eating, and he never seemed to notice. Tell us what you have probs with and someone is going to offer suggestions and input. I think you are going to be just fine.

I have been reading your posts all along, it's just that the more experienced members had things to tell you that I can't. I have been working the last few minutes to figure out just how to do the screen shots. I have forgotten so many of my previous computer skills, arggghhhh.
 
April :)bighug: thank you!). Testing makes most of us nervous at first, practice makes perfect. And..you are still going to screw it up now and then, that's life. Injecting is actually much easier, I always gave Idjit his shot when he was eating, and he never seemed to notice. Tell us what you have probs with and someone is going to offer suggestions and input. I think you are going to be just fine.

I have been reading your posts all along, it's just that the more experienced members had things to tell you that I can't. I have been working the last few minutes to figure out just how to do the screen shots. I have forgotten so many of my previous computer skills, arggghhhh.

Haha, I forgot that too. I'll do it when he's eating too...still nervous. :(
 
April, I read a shooting tip once from a veteran member. Practice giving shots with a folded washcloth and colored water in a syringe. This gives double practice, drawing the water, raising the syringe to see how much you actually have in the syringe, flicking with the fingernail to make any bubbles go to the top where the needle attaches and then squirting the excess out into the air (like they do on Doctor shows and movies, but probably less flamboyantly LOL ).
Then seeing how the needle goes into the cloth (tented or rolled skin) at an angle to reduce any sensation he might feel.

Are you using a vial or a pen of Basaglar? Have you seen the videos of how to draw the insulin yet?
 
April, I read a shooting tip once from a veteran member. Practice giving shots with a folded washcloth and colored water in a syringe. This gives double practice, drawing the water, raising the syringe to see how much you actually have in the syringe, flicking with the fingernail to make any bubbles go to the top where the needle attaches and then squirting the excess out into the air (like they do on Doctor shows and movies, but probably less flamboyantly LOL ).
Then seeing how the needle goes into the cloth (tented or rolled skin) at an angle to reduce any sensation he might feel.

Are you using a vial or a pen of Basaglar? Have you seen the videos of how to draw the insulin yet?

The Basaglar looks like a pen. So I'm not sure how that works. I have watched a bunch of how to shoot the cat but not how to draw it. However, when I was growing up my dog had diabetes and my dad had to give shots twice a day (like I'll have to :() so I saw him draw the insulin many, many times. And I'll learn from the vet today as well.
 
The Basaglar looks like a pen. So I'm not sure how that works. I have watched a bunch of how to shoot the cat but not how to draw it. However, when I was growing up my dog had diabetes and my dad had to give shots twice a day (like I'll have to :() so I saw him draw the insulin many, many times. And I'll learn from the vet today as well.
ok, very good. There are some videos here also, just FYI. Just different procedures for each.
 
Yes, tomorrow night too! I definitely could then. I'm just not sure how long after the shot is given do I need to stay awake to make sure he's okay?

That depends on how much you give. Depending on the time you shoot, it's always good practice to get a test right before you go to bed. That number would indicate if staying up longer is necessary.

I shoot at 6:30 pm. I normally go to bed 12:30 am or later. Even if I went to bed at 11 pm it's almost at nadir for her. It works for us.
 
That depends on how much you give. Depending on the time you shoot, it's always good practice to get a test right before you go to bed. That number would indicate if staying up longer is necessary.

I shoot at 6:30 pm. I normally go to bed 12:30 am or later. Even if I went to bed at 11 pm it's almost at nadir for her. It works for us.

I'll probably shoot around 7pm and I go to bed around 9pm.
 
Sounds like you've got a good plan in place...we'll all be anxious to hear how it went at the vet today.

7 p.m. tonight means 7 a.m tomorrow - will that give you enough time to get a 2+ before you leave for work?
 
I just got back from the vet. As I thought, she recommended I start at one unit. They were all shocked that I am already doing blood glucose checks! What do you all think about one unit?

If I give a shot at 7 tonight and 7 tomorrow morning, no I will not have time to do a + 2 BG check.
 
Sorry you haven't had a response yet. Great on the one unit twice a day, it's a good starting dose. I can't tell you when to begin, and no one is going to be able to tell you just how Quincy is going to respond. It does take time (few days to a week) to build the depot. And now your vet staff knows that you are more than capable of taking good care of Quincy because you have been educating yourself and testing.
Be sure to always test before shooting, and do your best to get the tests as you can during the cycle. Dosing is based on the lowest BG in the cycle. A before bed test is also a good time to see what's going on.

@Olive & Paula
@Sue and Luci
@Wendy&Neko
 
Sorry you haven't had a response yet. Great on the one unit twice a day, it's a good starting dose. I can't tell you when to begin, and no one is going to be able to tell you just how Quincy is going to respond. It does take time (few days to a week) to build the depot. And now your vet staff knows that you are more than capable of taking good care of Quincy because you have been educating yourself and testing.
Be sure to always test before shooting, and do your best to get the tests as you can during the cycle. Dosing is based on the lowest BG in the cycle. A before bed test is also a good time to see what's going on.

@Olive & Paula
@Sue and Luci
@Wendy&Neko


Thanks so much for your response. It was very helpful! As it's now 740 here, I think I'll wait either for tomorrow night or Saturday morning. Learning and practicing injecting was quite scary but I feel like it will go okay. I never knew one unit was so small! It felt like I wasn't shooting anything out of the syringe!

Vet tech didn't seem thrilled w human BG meter but she got over it quickly since I was testing at all and keeping a SS!
 
Hello and welcome. Now that you are getting settled in, make sure you read the yellow starred sticky notes. The one called dosing methods describes the two dosing methods we use here, the Tight Regulation protocol and the Start Low Go Slow Method. As long as you are feeding only low carb wet, you can choose either one to follow. Pick whichever best suits you. Each dosing method has a different starting dose. For TR it is based on cat weight and for a typical cat may be around 1 unit, but not always, for SLGS it is 0.5 units for a low carb diet, 1.0 if there is dry food in the picture.
.
 
Hello and welcome. Now that you are getting settled in, make sure you read the yellow starred sticky notes. The one called dosing methods describes the two dosing methods we use here, the Tight Regulation protocol and the Start Low Go Slow Method. As long as you are feeding only low carb wet, you can choose either one to follow. Pick whichever best suits you. Each dosing method has a different starting dose. For TR it is based on cat weight and for a typical cat may be around 1 unit, but not always, for SLGS it is 0.5 units for a low carb diet, 1.0 if there is dry food in the picture.
.
Hi! I have spent a lot of time reading it and I'm still confused. I'll read it again today but I guess I'm wondering if I can start at 1 unit but still do SLGS? It seems w TR you have to monitor and check a lot more than my schedule allows for.
 
Hi! I have spent a lot of time reading it and I'm still confused. I'll read it again today but I guess I'm wondering if I can start at 1 unit but still do SLGS? It seems w TR you have to monitor and check a lot more than my schedule allows for.
Morning April!!

I follow SLGS because of my work schedule but many members actually do follow TR and work! You’re right for TR you need to test more because it’s a more aggressive treatment, it follows a 3 day (6 cycle) dose change cycle so you need to have the tests to be confident the changes are safe! Read this article from the TR / SLGS sticky to have a look at some examples of working members that follow TR :)
 
Morning April!!

I follow SLGS because of my work schedule but many members actually do follow TR and work! You’re right for TR you need to test more because it’s a more aggressive treatment, it follows a 3 day (6 cycle) dose change cycle so you need to have the tests to be confident the changes are safe! Read this article from the TR / SLGS sticky to have a look at some examples of working members that follow TR :)

That's part of the reason I didn't choose TR. I might switch to that if I need more aggressive treatment depending on how he's doing on SLGS. I'll check out the article, thanks!
 
I've been reading a LOT on the forums and have seen differing opinion regarding testing and injecting. For example, I don't need to test IMMEDIATELY before injecting. Or as long as Quincy is eating fine I can give the injection without it being right around meal time and having him eat right after.

I ask because of the timing of his feeding and when I'll be giving the injections. For example, when I get home from work today and feed him (430/5pm) can I BG test him then? Feed him...and then give him his insulin injection at 7pm, which is when I will be doing every 12 hours in the future? Or do I NEED to check at 7pm before the insulin injection?

Right now, my plan is what I stated but in the mornings I will check at 7am, feed and inject immediately after. I was then thinking I'd check at 430/5pm when he gets his next meal, feed him, and then inject at 7pm, give a small meal/treats, and then his final meal at 830/9pm.

In the starting phases of this I will definitely check randomly throughout the day (on weekends) and prior to his evening meal at 830/9 but I'm wondering if I have to also do it right before the injection of 1U.

From what I read this seems okay since right now his numbers are hovering at upper 300's and 400's. When his numbers drop, I think I'll need to check more closely to injection time. What do you think?
 
kind of depends on when Quincy gets the food spike from the meal -- you want to have the insulin start to work about the same time as the BG rises due to food, rather than letting him sit at higher BG numbers for a longer time before the insulin kicks in

Catcat seems to get a food spike quite soon, luckily for him his Lantus also starts working within that first hour -- so it's a balance between food and how much the Lantus depot melts into his blood stream to balance the BG

so -- I'm skeptical about you testing and feeding a full meal at 4:30/5 -- then not injecting until 7 -- it's not far off what I do, but that "meal" in our case is just a tablespoon or so, basically a snack, since he tends to have a dip in his BG about then, then retest prior to the evening injection since it is then more than 2 hours since the snack .. and delay the meal until around injection time

does that make sense?
 
kind of depends on when Quincy gets the food spike from the meal -- you want to have the insulin start to work about the same time as the BG rises due to food, rather than letting him sit at higher BG numbers for a longer time before the insulin kicks in

Catcat seems to get a food spike quite soon, luckily for him his Lantus also starts working within that first hour -- so it's a balance between food and how much the Lantus depot melts into his blood stream to balance the BG

so -- I'm skeptical about you testing and feeding a full meal at 4:30/5 -- then not injecting until 7 -- it's not far off what I do, but that "meal" in our case is just a tablespoon or so, basically a snack, since he tends to have a dip in his BG about then, then retest prior to the evening injection since it is then more than 2 hours since the snack .. and delay the meal until around injection time

does that make sense?

Kinda?? haha um, so test prior to his evening injection and maybe give a snack then instead of a full meal? How do I know when he gets a spike? So basically the bottom line is he needs a meal when he gets his injection, even if it's just a snack.
 
I'm sorry - I know it seems like I need things spelled out for me. I feel like I kinda of do. I know I'll tailor it to Quincy as time passes but for this first few days/week I feel like I need a timeline for me to follow. Sorry!! :banghead::banghead::arghh:
 
That's part of the reason I didn't choose TR. I might switch to that if I need more aggressive treatment depending on how he's doing on SLGS. I'll check out the article, thanks!
You can always start out with SLGS and then as you get more familiar with how Quincy reacts to Basaglar you could change methods if you want.

I've been reading a LOT on the forums and have seen differing opinion regarding testing and injecting. For example, I don't need to test IMMEDIATELY before injecting. Or as long as Quincy is eating fine I can give the injection without it being right around meal time and having him eat right after.

I ask because of the timing of his feeding and when I'll be giving the injections. For example, when I get home from work today and feed him (430/5pm) can I BG test him then? Feed him...and then give him his insulin injection at 7pm, which is when I will be doing every 12 hours in the future? Or do I NEED to check at 7pm before the insulin injection?

You HAVE to check before you inject, that is because a lot can happen in 2 hours when it comes to Basaglar duration. It is possible that by 430/5 that Quincy may not have reached his lowest BG number, it's important to know if it is safe to shoot.

Do you think you could leave more food than normal during the day so that he isn't starving by the time you get home? many members here use timed automatic feeders to feed throughout the day. Quincy shouldn't eat anything 2 hours before his injection because it could give the false impression that his BG is naturally high when it could actually be high because of the food he had eaten within the 2 hrs before the shot... this risks the potential for Quincy to drop dangerously low for when the insulin starts working (onset)

Right now, my plan is what I stated but in the mornings I will check at 7am, feed and inject immediately after. I was then thinking I'd check at 430/5pm when he gets his next meal, feed him, and then inject at 7pm, give a small meal/treats, and then his final meal at 830/9pm.

For the evening routine I think it would be better to feed a very small snack at 4:30, remove it by 5, and then at 6:45 take a BG place a full meal for the night and shoot by 7. Some more experienced members may even think that isn't a great idea

In the starting phases of this I will definitely check randomly throughout the day (on weekends) and prior to his evening meal at 830/9 but I'm wondering if I have to also do it right before the injection of 1U.

From what I read this seems okay since right now his numbers are hovering at upper 300's and 400's. When his numbers drop, I think I'll need to check more closely to injection time. What do you think?

You can post when ever and however often you like! sometimes it will be really clear from the protocol if it is safe to shoot or not, if it is unclear for you then I recommend posting for advice, if it is clear and you feel comfortable to shoot without advice then I dont think you need to! It will be nice to get to know you and Quincy though :)
 
I'm sorry - I know it seems like I need things spelled out for me. I feel like I kinda of do. I know I'll tailor it to Quincy as time passes but for this first few days/week I feel like I need a timeline for me to follow. Sorry!! :banghead::banghead::arghh:
NEVER apologize! Trust me!! we have all been the needy one at one point here!! I asked and re-asked and RE ASKED the same questions over and over until i fully understood it... it feels like youre being annoying but honestly, no one cares, we will help and support you because we have all been beginners at one point :bighug:
 
so much depends on:
what numbers come up when you test him
what the trend is with his BG -- is it going up, going down, or steady?

someone recently summed it up very nicely -- with these depot insulins, you aren't dosing him on what is BG is NOW, you are dosing him on what it's going to be in about two hours

and basing the dose on how low his BG has been going, over the last few days -- you learn his cycle, rather than reacting immediately, as you would if you were using an in-and-out insulin (Vetsulin, Novolin, to a certain extent ProZinc)

so you balance the increase in his BG from food as it digests, with the reduction in his BG as the insulin becomes available over that period

as we keep saying -- ECID -- every cat is different, and none of them read "the manual" -- so often they don't respond as you'd think they would

the steadier (and lower, though not too low) you can assist his BG, the more chance you can get him at least to regulation if not remission
 
You can always start out with SLGS and then as you get more familiar with how Quincy reacts to Basaglar you could change methods if you want.



You HAVE to check before you inject, that is because a lot can happen in 2 hours when it comes to Basaglar duration. It is possible that by 430/5 that Quincy may not have reached his lowest BG number, it's important to know if it is safe to shoot.

Do you think you could leave more food than normal during the day so that he isn't starving by the time you get home? many members here use timed automatic feeders to feed throughout the day. Quincy shouldn't eat anything 2 hours before his injection because it could give the false impression that his BG is naturally high when it could actually be high because of the food he had eaten within the 2 hrs before the shot... this risks the potential for Quincy to drop dangerously low for when the insulin starts working (onset)



For the evening routine I think it would be better to feed a very small snack at 4:30, remove it by 5, and then at 6:45 take a BG place a full meal for the night and shoot by 7. Some more experienced members may even think that isn't a great idea



You can post when ever and however often you like! sometimes it will be really clear from the protocol if it is safe to shoot or not, if it is unclear for you then I recommend posting for advice, if it is clear and you feel comfortable to shoot without advice then I dont think you need to! It will be nice to get to know you and Quincy though :)

I wish I knew how to quote certain parts like you all seem to know how to do! Okay 1st-

I do leave food during the day because they (I have two cats) never finish their breakfast. So when I leave for work, there is always food in their bowls still.

I can push my testing/injecting to 730 to make sure it's past the 2 hours before the shot mark. I could feed a snack at 430 and then feed the full meal at 730 after I test at 7?
 
and yes, even after several months of study and experience, it's still confusing, I still feel I am groping around in the dark sometimes, I need to go back and reread the sticky notes and see how others are doing, I need to ask the questions too :bookworm::bookworm: :nailbiting::rolleyes::confused:o_O (read those descriptions)

:bighug::bighug::bighug: -- you'll need the proverbial patience pants, we'll all be here for you
 
to quote just certain parts -- hit the Reply option (bottom right of the posting) then use your backspace or whatever, to remove what you aren't replying to -- be sure to leave the Quote and brackets on the beginning and end of what you reply to ..

(you'll learn as you go along)
 
I'm sorry (I know I shouldn't apologize) but I'm feeling so overwhelmed right now. Testing and shooting schedule is difficult. I can simply tell you how it is now and ask about testing and shooting.

7:15am - Breakfast
4:30pm - "Lunch"
8:30pm - Dinner

I am gone from 745 to 430. So basically when should I test and feed in this schedule? I'm thinking this:

7:10am - Test
7:15am - Breakfast/Injection
4:30pm - Snack
7:15pm - Test
7:30pm - Injection/Dinner

Basically I need to test before injection and I need to feed with each injection.

None of this seems right!!! Ugh, I'm sorry!
 
so much depends on:
what numbers come up when you test him
what the trend is with his BG -- is it going up, going down, or steady?

someone recently summed it up very nicely -- with these depot insulins, you aren't dosing him on what is BG is NOW, you are dosing him on what it's going to be in about two hours

Ahhhhhhh. That's a great thing to know and remember. So two hours after the injection or two hours after a meal??
 
to quote just certain parts -- hit the Reply option (bottom right of the posting) then use your backspace or whatever, to remove what you aren't replying to -- be sure to leave the Quote and brackets on the beginning and end of what you reply to ..

(you'll learn as you go along)

Thank you!
 
to your schedule, I'd add a test at/just before afternoon snack time -- often that will clue you in to what is happening that time of day, since every cat seems to have a different schedule, and often not the same schedule day after day -- just look at the bottom half of Catcat's spreadsheet to see how true that is -- I still don't know when he REALLY hits nadir, still guessing
 
I wish I knew how to quote certain parts like you all seem to know how to do! Okay 1st-

Usually I do these things the hard way but: First you hit 'reply' The first part of the reply text identifies that you are quoting a member and the last part of the post ends the quote
upload_2019-9-20_11-8-41.png

-Like Candy said above you delete whatever text you don't want to reply to at all.
-To respond to different sections separately, you just copy the member identifying quote text (highlighted first in the image above) and paste it in front of the text you want to reply to, then copy the quote text that I have highlighted at the bottom of the image above and paste it at the end of the text you want to reply to separately. Then write your reply below!

I have made an image of what this post looked like before posting:
upload_2019-9-20_11-33-33.png


I do leave food during the day because they (I have two cats) never finish their breakfast. So when I leave for work, there is always food in their bowls still.
I can push my testing/injecting to 730 to make sure it's past the 2 hours before the shot mark. I could feed a snack at 430 and then feed the full meal at 730 after I test at 7?


Is there any reason why your cats absolutely have to eat at 5? I would be more likely to move my shot to 6pm or 6:30pm and compromise for both parties :P if you chose 6/6 for example it would look like this:

5:55am - Test
6:00am - Breakfast/Injection
5:55pm - Test
6:00pm - Dinner/Injection
8:00pm - +2 Test


Or with a timed feeder:

5:55am - Test
6:00am - Breakfast/Injection

12:00pm - Time released snack
5:55pm - Test
6:00pm - Dinner/Injection
8:00pm - +2 Test

12:00am - Time released snack
 
Is there any reason why your cats absolutely have to eat at 5? I would be more likely to move my shot to 6pm or 6:30pm and compromise for both parties :p if you chose 6/6 for example it would look like this:

5:55am - Test
6:00am - Breakfast/Injection
5:55pm - Test
6:00pm - Dinner/Injection
8:00pm - +2 Test


Or with a timed feeder:

5:55am - Test
6:00am - Breakfast/Injection

12:00pm - Time released snack
5:55pm - Test
6:00pm - Dinner/Injection
8:00pm - +2 Test

12:00am - Time released snack

They only eat at that time (5) because that's when I get home and I've been gone all day. I don't wake up until 7am each morning thus why I feed them at 715. I know I have an hour window so I know I could still shoot at 715 in the morning and shoot at 615 at night.

I'm tempted to stick with the small snack at 430/5 or feed but pick up the food after a little bit of time and then re-feed after injection at 7. I don't know!! I'm so frustrated! :(:(:banghead:

I've never heard of time released equipment for soft food.
 
First: Awesome job with the quote!!

Second: In the end it is always your choice how you feed your cats! If your cats really need a snack when you get home I agree with you that a small snack from 430 to 5 is best! If I were in the same situation I would choose that option :)

a video of an example of a timed feeder :)
 
Thanks! Oh yes, they are absolutely starving (in their minds, haha) when I get home. But I think a small snack would be okay. Interesting about that cat feeder! Definitely something for me to keep in mind!
 
absolutely starving (in their minds, haha)

Insulin helps the body to use sugar for energy, lack of insulin also means that the body’s organs will not receive enough energy. This will make your cat feel hungry all the time, and though it will eat a lot more food, it will not gain weight.

If the diabetic condition is not treated early, your cat's blood sugar level will go higher and higher. Because of the excessively elevated glucose level, even more urine will be made and the cat will become dehydrated due to the loss of fluid.
Symptoms
Diabetes
Drinking a lot of water (polydipsia)
  • Urinating a lot (polyuria)
  • Eating a lot but not gaining weight
  • Always seeming hungry
  • Weight loss
Until his Blood Glucose is regulated he should eat as much as he wants and always have Fresh water in a Glass or stainless bowl available (no Plastic)

Vets often prescribe "special" food. Quincy does not need Purina DM You can feed a variety of canned food as long as it's low carb. You'll find that the Advisors that have been here for several years Really do know more than most Vets about Diabetes in cats.
I've been her about 19 months & do not give dose advice I leave that for the "Experts" here. If you follow their advice Quincy will do just fine. :)

Have you checked the food Chart? You want to feed low carb food & low Phosphorus is also a good idea. (NO dry food)

"Dry food is not good for cats, whether they are diabetic or not. Cats are obligate carnivores, and dry food contains too much plant matter. Even at 14% carbs, that DM food is too high for a diabetic cat."

Please read this sticky note on the Main Forum page.
Info Dry Food - PLEASE consider more than just carbohydrate content

I've seen some cats go into remission when ALL dry food was eliminated!

Best of Luck to you & Quincy!
 
Good Idea to put the date & Quincy's name on your post . We start a new post each day. i.e. 9/20 Quincy
Some may think "Curlygirl" is your cat's name :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top