Jan&Tigger
Member Since 2010
Hi everyone, I'm James, I'm new here and I'm posting on behalf of my mum Jan and our cat Tigger. He was diagnosed last Monday after taking him to the vet due to lathargy/excessive appetite, thirst, weeing and weight loss. His BG level was tested to be off the vet's scale at 30+, so we didn't really know what the true figure was. He was started off Tuesday evening on 2u of Caninsulin every 12 hours and was scheduled for another vet visit and blood test Wednesday. The BG level was still off the scale at 30+, so again no true reading. He was then moved up to 3u of Caninsulin every 12 hours and that was started Wednesday evening. After subsequent vet visits and blood tests Friday and today (Monday), his BG levels were shown to still not have dropped below 30+. This evening he was increased to 4u per 12 hours. We've seen a good improvement in his energy levels over the week and he seems to be pretty close to his normal self, although obviously still not 100% and with a lot of weight lost. He is also drinking considerably less and weeing normal amounts. The BG levels are really baffling though...I know it's only been a week, but to have his BG readings still 30+ is pretty worrying. They tested his urine on Wednesday and found ketones but no blood and they say his kidneys are fine so far.
We've also adjusted his diet to include both his regular wet food and a newly introduced diabetic dry food (high protein, low carb) and his appetite is still high.
A little bit about Tigger - He's roughly 12 years old, never been overweight (although we noticed he started to gain a little bit of a hanging belly several months ago), normally very active, with spurts of very energetic playful behaviour. He also normally prefers to graze small amounts of food throughout the day. It would be great to talk with people in similar situations or with people who have advice regarding his insulin/diet/BG and if any changes would be advised, or if it's simply a matter of giving it more time despite his levels.
Thanks a lot
Jan and James
We've also adjusted his diet to include both his regular wet food and a newly introduced diabetic dry food (high protein, low carb) and his appetite is still high.
A little bit about Tigger - He's roughly 12 years old, never been overweight (although we noticed he started to gain a little bit of a hanging belly several months ago), normally very active, with spurts of very energetic playful behaviour. He also normally prefers to graze small amounts of food throughout the day. It would be great to talk with people in similar situations or with people who have advice regarding his insulin/diet/BG and if any changes would be advised, or if it's simply a matter of giving it more time despite his levels.
Thanks a lot
Jan and James