Hi Catrina,
I see in your signature you say you are trying out TR. Is that correct? It looks as if you are following SLGS.
To do TR you need to be getting at least one test in every pm cycle, as well as the 2 preshots and a test in during the am cycle.
At the moment we have no idea what is happening during the 12 hours after the pm dose.
looking at the rainbow of colours, I would think he is bouncing after dropping lower than he is used to. Bouncing can look as if you need more insulin when in fact you may need less. The only way to find out is to get tests over the full 2 cycles consistently.
What I would do is try and get at least one test in every pm cycle so we can see what is happening.
Ale is correct that you have missed a couple of reductions. One on 21 June and the other on 5 July.
Here is an explanation on bouncing
- Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
It can all be confusing in the beginning, but keep asking questions and post frequently so we can help you. Would you like to start posting over on the Lantus page where everyone uses a depot insulin and you will have more eyes on you?
Here are the
posting guidelines for LLB
I can tag
@tiffmaxee and
@Bandit's Mom to keep an eye out for you over there
