? high and flat all day, falling before pm dose

Status
Not open for further replies.
Here's the reply I had posted to you after you responded to my questions on the main Health forum:
Oh, I know how that feels ... is hard sometimes not to feel freaked out when your kitty has a bigger drop than you're accustomed to seeing.
Yes, I think you're probably safe to feed, then shoot, then check in a couple of hours to see how his drop's going. Sometimes, when I've been extra-concerned at night, I just set an alarm to check at +4. (William would have to drop, like, 163 points to be at start of hypo zone.) If you were to get down around the 80s or 90s, you'd just steer him with some extra food. That's what I've had to do with Bat from time to time. (See my SS.) Then in 15 minutes when I recheck her, her BG has risen to a place where I'm not worried about a crash.
 
Glad Robin was around to help! You did the right thing posting on Health too. I've cross posted before in hopes of any eyes seeing it. :)

Don't worry about being conservative the other day. You have to do what feels right...and it's all a learning process!
 
Good job both of you! Glad Robin is a night owl.

I don't think we know your name, Williams's Mom. Will you share it?

You are getting a pretty consistent pattern of Lower pmps and higher amps. You could alter the shooting schedule to 11/13 and see if it evens things out. With ProZinc, it doesn't matter if you switch around by an hour. So you'd shoot at night at +13 hopefully after he has started to rise again. And then for amps, shoot at +11 before he rises so high.

Other people have done this and it has worked for some who do it awhile and then things even out and they go back to 12/12. He's a cat so who knows if he'll cooperate, but you could try it on a cycle when you'll be able to monitor?

The other choice would be to lower the dose a smidge. The theory is that he'd flatten out. But I don't see any really lower numbers that he is bouncing from, so I think I'd try 11/13.
 
Regarding a 11/13 schedule: That is what Merlin does....he is high in am and low in pm. So check out my spreadsheet. I shoot typically 30-60 minutes earlier in the morning so he goes 12 1/2 to 13 hours before he gets his pm shot. I like the idea of being more consistent for the amps and pmps. I just think it makes him feel better when he doesn't have those big swings in the am.

A good example of Merlin's huge am swings is between March 4 and May 3. I was gone for two months backpacking and my husband was taking care of him. This is why I like Prozinc because you do have the flexibility to be early or late at times.
 
Hi All!

My name is Vanessa. I put it in my signature yesterday, but it's kind of cluttered, so I'm going to stream line it.

I'm shooting early today because he was at 400 at +10. Set my alarm to get a +5 and he as at 210, I think.

I don't know if a consistent shooting schedule feels better for him, but for the time being, I think it would be a good idea to try to that schedule. Before it worked better to shoot at +10 or +11 for his pm dose (didn't note that in SS) so I'll just be chasing his numbers around for a bit, I suppose, until it evens out...it will, right?!

I hope this means we're on the edge of progress? He's not got typical cycles, but I'm seeing lower numbers.
 
I really didn't have access to his spreadsheet for those two months (March 4 - May 3) because I mostly was in very remote, wilderness areas (backpacking). I would reach a town about every 5-6 days and didn't have time to find a computer. I would call my husband and he would relay to me that Merlin is doing fine so I had no idea of his numbers, pattern, etc. When I got home after May 3, I noticed the pattern. His pm numbers were awesome (the best that I have ever seen) however his am numbers sucked! I started adjusting his shots right away. Today, I have landed on giving his shots at 7:15am in the morning and 8pm at night. So far, that time seems to be working the best for Merlin; but who knows what it will be next week.

Prior to me leaving for those two months, I would do a mixture of 11/13 and 12/12 but his numbers were very different then than they are now. His numbers were much higher prior to March than what they are today. He seemed to have improved since first of June (especially since I had to change his food).

I would suggest keeping track of the times you shoot - maybe in your comment area so you have that data. In other words, try for a week adding 30 minutes to the day (12 1/2 hours). If the am is still a little higher, then try adding 45 minutes to the day, if am is still a little high then go with the 11/13 schedule. It is all just data.
 
Good morning Vanessa. Did you get a higher number this am? I saw in your comment that you left the insulin out all day. It should not be a problem since it is only one day. I have done that a couple of times and it still was effective. I have even dropped it before and it was still fine. Mine insulin last about six months and the color and effectiveness has always been good.

Also, since you had to stall last night, you might want to consider putting in your PMPS cell both of your tests instead of the 244 in the +1. Then you can put in your comment that you had to stall and the time you shot. That way, you can easily tell that you stalled. I had to do that on 6/29 and I also stack the numbers when I have to test multiple times in one hour (see 7/3). That way I don't get confused. Just a suggestion....
 
Thanks for checking in, Cindi. He had another weird high day that actually never went very low and I got a pm+4 that wasn't amazing either. 390 this morning. It's getting discouraging but we'll keep working on it. He's a super stress case right now and I know that's effecting his numbers. I don't think it's the insulin. ive dropped a bottle too! Replaced it thinking that it wasn't working. Turns out it was William that wasn't working.

I tried a few ways of noting things on my SS. I agree with you. That's how it looks best to me, too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top