High amps low pmps

Scratches123

Member Since 2019
I updated scratches spread sheet. Can anyone explain the low numbers tonight? I did not give her an insulin shot.
 
It could be that the .75 dose is starting to work.

Next time you get a PS you're not sure about shooting, stall, don't feed and post for help. Make sure your subject line lets us know you're stalling. Test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the number comes up without the influence of food.

If you tested at PMPS and it was 113 and you retested 20-30 minutes later and it was 139 (without food), I would have encouraged you to go ahead and shoot tonight if you were able to test as much as necessary tonight and had plenty of supplies.

Shooting those lower Pre-shot numbers is how lantus works best!
 
It looks like the 0.75u depot has finally built and is taking action. It also looks like Scratches is on her way up, I think it could be safe to give her her insulin tonight if you are able to monitor, otherwise, instead of skipping you could consider giving a 'token dose' as described in the 'how to handle a lower than normal preshot number' section in the SLGS sticky:

Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
  • a.) give nothing
  • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
  • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value

It would be a shame to lose progress because of skipping a shot, I vote token dose if youre nervous. But you should do what you're most comfortable with :bighug:
 
Okay. Next time I'll know better. I'll at least give a token dose next time. We're new to low numbers. Thank you!!
You have to do what is best for both you and Scratches, better safe than sorry :) Next time it might be interesting to try the token dose for sure :) Remember if you do that in SLGS that your 14 cycle dose count starts again when you move back up to the regular dose :)
 
You have to do what is best for both you and Scratches, better safe than sorry :) Next time it might be interesting to try the token dose for sure :) Remember if you do that in SLGS that your 14 cycle dose count starts again when you move back up to the regular dose :)
Just in case this happens tonight, or in the near future... she's at .75 units so what would be a safe token dose to give her?
 
Just in case this happens tonight, or in the near future... she's at .75 units so what would be a safe token dose to give her?
I’m not experienced at dosing advice, but if it were Mowgli I would probably give 0.25u as a token dose, and make sure that I was able to monitor :)
 
What I often suggest to those members who are starting to see low numbers is to think about what's the lowest number you would be comfortable shooting (providing you have extra strips, high carb food, and will be available to monitor). You want to work. your way down the dosing scale since the idea is to "shoot low to stay low." But, this is a process.
 
Back
Top