high amps help for Asher

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Very Active Member
As I predicted after our no shoot last night, Asher was sky high this morning: 526.
Do we give him the 2 units this morning that we have been giving him?

SS is current

Open to all suggestions :)

-Donna and Asher
 
Yikes, that's pretty high. I'm not sure what you should do. Are you going to be home to test? Let me go back and look over yesterdays posts and your ss. Hopefully someone else will come along in the meantime and give you their opinion.
 
Yeah I am really bummed it is this high. In hindsight now, does it look like I should have given him a reduced dose?

We’ll be home most of the day today. Have to pick up a job and a few errands to run but can do that anytime I don’t have to be here.

-d.
 
Well, if his pancreas is healing up as yesterdays long period of beautiful numbers may suggest, then he should be able to do well on less insulin. Maybe shave his dose back a hair? 1.75 if you can get a mid-day test in, or 1.5 to be really safe. But be aware that those (especially the 1.5) may be too low and you may need to up his dose just a hair in a day or 2. I'm still hoping Sue comes along with her opinion soon!

About the reduced dose last night- you know what they say about hindsight! Everything you do will be more info for you. That's more important right now. A reduced dose probably would have kept you up all night and you had no info to support doing it. I always say better safe than sorry!
 
Yes I tested at the beginning of the week and he was neg.

I was told once a week was good to test so was going to do it this Sunday again. I can catch him in his box easier on weekends ;)

I guess if I don’t hear more soon I’ll go for a fat 1.75u. I really should get him his shot by 8, and he is sleeping in his bed now which makes it easier...

-d.
 
It's easier for me to test for ketones on the weekends too.
1u may not be enough. You usually shoot 2u's, how about dropping it back to 1.5u's since you'll be home for some of the time to test.
Ultimately it is your decision, so shoot whatever you feel comfortable with. :smile:
 
Tom and I just talked about it again and since we’ll be here with him all day we’re gonna do a 1.75. He’s just so high this morning it scares me to go less.
It’s still under the 2u he was on for 3 days.
Hope I am doing the right thing.

-d.
 
I stick with the dose you were giving him - was that 1 u? Staying on a dose that he's doing well on gives him time to adjust. When you shoot a different dose with each test, it makes it hard for them to settle into a dose. He might be high today, but after a few more cycles of 1 u, he might very well settle right down again into beautiful numbers.
 
I'm sure you are. I thought you were going out and that is why I went with the more cautious number.
Give Asher some scritches from us and keep us posted on his numbers.
 
Thanks everyone. We did indeed go with the 1.75 (I didn’t change my mind at the last minute).

Kristen, he was on 2 units for a few days and yesterday when he was doing so well. We prob jinxed by saying maybe we could reduce the dose ;-)

We’ll test him today and put up the numbers.

Seems to me this cat goes lower after +6. Seems like his number decrease all day, amps is usually the highest number. I am wondering if putting off his evening shot until later would help even this out.

-donna
 
Sorry, I am in Colorado and you guys are too early for me this morning.

Donna, this is one of those difficult decisions and you just have to shoot, hope and test. I think you were right to skip the shot last night. He got a long ride out of the dose and you might have overlapped if you had given more, then had really low numbers in the middle of the night.

I would get test in around +3, +5 and so on. Maybe even a curve so you can see what is happening. If he goes low, we know how to counteract that and it will give you info on what to do for doses. If he stays high, that info will help you too. Data gathering, data gathering......

I will be around today if you need help.
 
Donna, it's such a tedious process sometimes. You're doing great. I know with Sam we can have a great day, then start the next with a high number. There's almost no logic behind it sometimes. It's like they do what they want and just expect us to figure it out! Hopefully you'll get some good numbers today.
 
No worries Sue! I’d never expect you to be up so early!

Don’t think we’re gonna get a full curve in today but we will get some mid day tests in for sure and I will post.
Got some snow to shovel today and a couple errands. (some day I vow to live where it doesn’t snow)

Thanks everyone for your help and concern :)

-d.
 
I think Claudia's 1.75 (and your decision to go with) was good.

I think you're going to see some strangs #s coming up do to the low and the bounce this morning. Sometimes, you'll have a tendency to 'shoot' the high number with a higher dose. Need to try to not do that over the next days. The high numbers are just the overreaction to the bounce, IMHO.

If you can, get as many of the +5 +6 +7 as you can.

What time do you do your PMPS? Perhaps the 'pros' will be in here and will have opinions what to shoot, based on today's #s. The more #s you can get, the better.

I know this looks like a set back but just breathe... :smile: this is kinda good news
 
Hey, Beth, you are getting great at this advice stuff. :RAHCAT

Agree completely. Consider a day to clear the bounce from the low numbers - or maybe a day like yesterday when he will take a while to get low and stay there awhile. Your numbers today will give you alot of information.
 
+6 was just 200...so he really came down a lot. I guess we’ll check once again before his pmps.

Thanks,

Donna
 
+9 is 155. We gave a chicken treat and won’t test again until pmps, somewhere between 7 and 8 pm.

Any thoughts? or do you wanna see what the pmps number is first?

Thanks,

-d.
 
PMPS for Asher is 248, so he’s on his way back up.

What do you guys think? 1.75 or 2? Or am I way off base?

(Actually I could do a 1.8 since I finally got the correct U100 syringes)

-donna
 
He did well at 1.75 today and he started in the 500s. I would stick with that if you can test some or even a 1.5. You could still be seeing the food change. Course, I am conservative so see what others think.
 
I like that conservative voice of reason :) Thanks Sue!

I could be very happy with the 1.75. We can test him before bed too.

I’d like to shoot soon since I have to leave early for work tomorrow and will have to do his AMPS a nudge early.

-d.
 
Great pmps! I think I'd go the more conservative route with 1.5 or 1.6, but I am not a wake-up-to-test kind of girl! Go with your instinct, just remember how much the 1.75 dropped his bg today from 500s to 100s. That was awesome, don't get me wrong! But if he drops the same 70 percent on this pmps of 248 that would put him down in the 70s. Another great number, but possibly one that would keep you from sleeping well.
 
I shot a skinny 1.75 I am sure. Also we’ll be up fairly late so we’ll test before bed and maybe mid cycle, at least check on him mid cycle. He sleeps right aside of me all night.
We are leaving food out too just in case.
I will be up at 5 since I have a job tomorrow. Sunday will be for sleeping ;)

Thanks guys. I appreciate all your kindness and great help :)
I’ll post his amps before I leave tomorrow too.

-d.
 
VERY nice numbers today.

Keep in mind, he's still going to have the effects of the bounce for a few more days. Please post the next # you test (and the u you shot ;-) )

If his AMPS is in the 250ish range, I'd be a bit more conservative with a f1.4.

Now.... below 250.. I'm so not a fan of skipping a dose. And I'm also a scardy cat of shooting low numbers. confused_cat And I don't have good experience to pass on, but I'd think about something like 0.5u - 0.8u if 200-250.... and a token 0.2u 170+. Better to have higher numbers, IMHO, than to shoot too much and go too low, then deal with him bouncing back up again. I'm real conservative.

But, please, get Sue and Claudia's opions and Kristen, Lori, and Gator.
 
Sue.... LOL... tyVM. You've no idea how long it takes me to type all that. I'm not known for my tactful ways (I can be so stupidly blunt) and I write and rewrite and rewrite.... I'm getting better :cool:
 
Just did a +2 1/2 and got 373 BG. I think we are safe to go sleepies now. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Donna and Asher
 
AMPS on Asher this morning Sat Jan 22 are 352.

We are gonna shoot 1.75u because we shot 2u previously when he was around this number, and we want to try to stay at 1.75u for a few days and see what happens.

I have to go to work but my partner Tom will be here with the kitty, so I’ll leave this thread open for him in case there are Q’s...

Thanks,

-donna
 
Oh he has been as involved as me right from the beginning. These cats are our babies and we will do anything for them. Tom is the best. I am very lucky :)
-donna
 
What about tonight's PMPS dose for Asher, ya'll?

Perhaps there should be just a token dose if PMPS is low to help with the bounce. If he goes 24 hours without something, I'm afraid tomorrow's AMPS will be up there again.

Can we please get some opinions on this prior to PMPS?
 
Looks like they got 150 at +7 so it is still going down. It really is best to wait until close to the pmps so you know he is headed up and you have the whole picture of what has happened today.
 
O yea, of course wait for PMPS... I was just trying to think ahead a bit and get some thoughts on it from everyone... sorry.
 
Sorry I didn’t see you guys were posting. I just updated Asher’s SS.

Today AMPS 352, +3 183, +7 150, PMPS 253... so we shot 1.75 again, trying to be consistent for a few days.

I hope that was the correct thing to do. It seemed so similar to yesterday we just did the same thing since that worked out fine.

I hate to pest you guys everyday :) You seemed busy with that 911 earlier today. Glad that seemed to turn out good!

Let me know if you want me to do something different tomorrow. I will start a new thread with his new numbers tomorrow.

Thanks TONS,

-d.
 
We will do a pre-bedtime test just to be sure.

Thanks for checking in on us. It means a lot!

-d.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top