High amps @ 435- WHAT?

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Member Since 2011
So surprised to see the morning amps so high @ 435. He has been so low and now the high number. What is going on? I remember Dr. Lisa saying if you have a morning amps is high then there are two reasons: Rebound or lack of duration. I'm sure he didn't drop that low last night. I took tests all the way up to +5 and looked fine. In fact he really was in the mid 200's @ +5. But it is possible he went low, who knows. SO, now what? Do i go down on the dose or stay @ the same dose? Oh, so confusing.

lori
 
Did you take a second test just to be sure, Lori? Regardless, it's just one number.

I would stick with the 1.8 at least another cycle. He has been okay on that dose. If he runs high today, then you up again.
 
No, didn't retest but can tell it is high by the way he is acting so i'm sure it is right. He is so hungry that i had to feed him. Why would he be jumping so high now when the lower dose was keeping his amps lower? Why would i want to stay @ 1.8 or go even higher then? It seems to me he has too high of a dose? I don't understand when 1u moved him and now the 1.8u doesn't. Very confusing.

lori
 
I definitely could be wrong, Lori, and he could need to go down instead of up. You did get better numbers on the lower doses but no greens or yellows. So it isn't clear.

I know it is frustrating because there are no rules and every cat acts differently. Let's see what today brings. Can you get some numbers?
 
Yes, i can get some numbers today. Will try to get +3, +5, +6, +7 and see what i get. THat is if he is not so hungry today. SOmetimes i have to feed him and it messes up the schedule of testing. But will try to regulate the food as much as possible.

I was looking on the patterns in the past and seemed like i just had to keep going up and up on the insulin and then-hypo. It will be interesting today to see where he goes. Just when you think you start to understand it all and makes sense on the road to recovery, then WHAM, another obstacle. Frustrating.

Thanks for thinking with me. I feel like i have to understand how to do surgery on someone without the skills, knowledge or training. Scary.

Lori
 
Lori I looked at your ss before I came here and said like you probably "WHA?????"
So....I agree with Sue, It is one number.
However I am not loving the trend.
It can mean both. Strange I know. Too much. Too little.
And it is a fallacy that the kitty has to actually drop fast or low to have a liver glucose dump.
Just the too much insulin in the blood can do it.
My Tom did this,,,for some time before I got convinced to lower his dose and 'huh' he actually went down.
I am not suggesting that just yet. Stick with the 1.8
Let's take this one baby step at a time so as to avoid unnecessary (note 'unnecessary as mistake do happen anyway) mishaps.
Lori
always watching.

The Christmas Miracle kitty should not be mine dear Lori. FIV+ kitties do not belong outside and I live an innie/outtie life.
Still waiting......And hoping....
 
I was thinking how sometimes they are going up as an indicator that less insulin is needed, they are fighting off the amount already given. So....we raise the dose cuz of the higher number. Then they are forced down a bit only to rise again.

If you hang around on LL you see this oh too often. It is so hard to watch tight regulation for me.

And I'm not saying this is your situation....yet.

Still just too early to tell.

The one unit green (or was it blue) midcycle number you got...
And the eventual hypo....these are both very noteworthy.
They both show a POSSIBILITY of a preference for a much smaller dose.

Lori
 
Lori,

I will have to agree with you. I think its a sign that it's too much insulin. I felt that his morning when i saw his 400'samps. But i hate to shoot lower on that number.

I just took his +5reading and it is 284. THis should be his low. I dread waiting for +12 to come. He will probably be in the 400's again. It just seems like when i use less insulin his amps is lower. I know he doesn't go in the blue or green's, but at least he is in the 200's and not higher. This is the same trend i took last time and i had to just keep going up and up on the insulin. It just doesn't seem to work with him that way. I still don't understand though why if it's too much insulin that the numbers will be higher and not lower like in hypo.

I will test some more today and see where he is at. BUt i'm sure it will be high.

lori

p.s.
Sorry about your kitty, but i knew you would make the right choice for kitty and you.
 
Got his pmps and @324. He stayed in upper 200's all day. He slept all day. Don't know whey the 400's this morning. I'm thinking 1.6u tonight and see what his amps will be. WIll shoot @ 10pm EST.

Lori
 
Just took a look at you pmps.
Here is the choice.
Stick with 1.8 for a while...
Raise dose to 2.
Drop dose to 1.5

The drop would show alot of info. Could be bad. But repairable. Could be good and thus very inportant.
The raise could be good. Better numbers, followed by high numbers again and we will face going back to 1.5 again.

Hmmmmm.
If you want to try to drop dose I'd stand by you on that....and while the dangers are a possiblity it would be quickly recognized if you only go higher and make the picture clearer.
So...what say you?
Lori
 
Why would it be dangerous to drop to 1.6u tonight? Just because it might make his numbers higher? Just seems like a pattern that his numbers level out high and then have to go higher and works for a dose or two and then have to go higher. Just thought i would see if less was better. I don't want to raise dose overnight anyway. Hmmmm-
 
Well when I say dangerous....what I mean is letting him possibly stay high. Which is not considered really dangerous other than the possibility of DKA which seems rare but it does happen.
Dose lowering will be pretty informative tho'.
Lori
 
ok here is my 2 cents then I have to go to bed
I say stick with the 1.8...
I will study the SS better and longer tomorrow
but it kinda looks like most newbies for the 1st few months
hae a good cycle and the next cycle is flat as the body adjusts to seeing blues...
repeat...
 
Thanks guys! I went ahead and dosed him already, sorry. I did the 1.6u(fat) for two reasons: First, i want to see what his amps will be on the lower dose. Second, I want to sleep good tonight. I will wake up +5 and feed him. I may test him then too. If not, i wait and see what his amps will be. If high, i will definelty go to the 1.8u and hold another cycle or two.

Lori
 
I'm following this thread with interest, as my cat has recently started having very high AMPS / PMPS in the high 400's.
 
His amps is @ 341. So don't know how low he did last night. Didn't test in middle of night, too tired. Hmmm- what to do for today. I guess i will try for the 1.8u again and see how he does. Or maybe just do the 1.6u and test throughout day and see what happens.

lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top