Thanks for the update! Dental issues can definitely raise their glucose. I hope he is able to have that taken care of next week.
If you get past this and the pre-shot numbers remain high, you may want to consider changing to Levemir. You have certainly given Prozinc a good long chance. With Mia, I got to the point where she went into good numbers each cycle, but she still had pre-shot numbers that were too high. If I raised the dose any at all, she would end up going too low during the cycle, so there was just no way to ever knock down the pre-shots. She was getting over 250 (renal threshold w/AlphaTrak) every day, and I hated that. There was also too much difference between the AM and PM pre-shots (always highest in AM), and nothing I tried 'fixed' that. She was getting a 2.5 dose of Prozinc when we switched. We started with a 1.5 dose of Levemir, and have been able to gradually reduce that. She now gets a drop - yes, literally, a drop. I feel like she may actually have a chance at remission. Even if that does not happen, she is super well regulated. I couldn't have imagined this months ago. If you look at her spreadsheet at the first of the year, it's 'skittles'. If you scroll to now, it's ALL blue and green, and her AM and PM pre-shots are pretty similar. I know it has to be better on her system for things to stay so level/consistent. Anyway, just wanted to share that with you.
Let us know how things go next week!